We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    814
    347
    95
    42
See reviews for
273
790
172
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As we're Advanatge Plus members we always try and stay at Accor hotels. They're excellent value for money, especially with food. We were a little hesitant with this hotel as we were told it was quite old. However, it's location close to the War Memorial swayed us. Although older style with rooms a little difficult to find at first, we soon acclimatised. We loved the warm comfy feel to the place. Our room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom new. We couldn't fault it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we felt like we were visiting friends. The restaurant meals were very very nice and the staff great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DA155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our stay was made enjoyable by the attitude of the staff in all departments of the hotel.I would like to make particular mention of the cook in the Courtyard restaurant at breakfast,I enjoy trying my hand at cooking and it was a pleasure sharing his food and tips.
A disappointment however was the restaurant not being open on Sunday or Monday nights,whilst the bistro was adequate and the staff efficient My wife and I enjoy the quietness of hotel dining rooms.
The hotel obviously knows its best trading times,but perhaps an indication when booking would have made it possible to make alternate eating arrangements.
All up however we thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and history of the hotel and have already recommended it to friends and family and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was one of Canberra's early accomodation buildings. Being a former boarding house the rooms were small and have had to be made smaller to fit in bathrooms. The beds are comfortable, the staff pleasant and helpful and it is a pleasant 20 minute walk to the city centre but........ it is a bit of a rabbit warren with most of the parking a long way from reception and if you are tall or large try and get a room with a bigger bathroom or you will end up with bruises on your elbows. Still it is good to see an historic buliding being preserved and used and i would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here during a conference and everyone in our party had difficulties with noise in the rooms--either traffic from the busy road outside, loud music and partying in (I think) the rooms upstairs, an alarm constantly going off in the courtyard, etc. Otherwise the room I had was comfortable and clean and seemed newly renovated. The staff was a mixed bag--some were very friendly and helpful while others not so much. The location is good, a short walk to the city center. Internet prices were exorbitant, as usual in hotels in Canberra (and much of Australia).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightowlcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

we found the Mercure to be well located to Canberra, only mints from the city.
The only thing that we were not happy with was the room was not to the normal cleanliness we are used to from accor. overall we would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gsbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#8 of 57 in Canberra
1,647 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#19 of 57 in Canberra
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Property: Mercure Canberra
Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#20 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing