We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Mercure Braddon, ACT "The Olims Hotel"”
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Canberra
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Excellent location for visits to Canberra, close to the City Center, easy walk into City and surrounds. Rooms ok, Hotel undergoing redevelopment during stay so can only get better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,439 - 1,445 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDigney
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13sue1313
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveler
Wollongong
2
Reviewed April 13, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophy200
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Built at the time Australia's new Parliament opened in Canberra in 1927, the former Olims hotel poses a maintenance challenge inside and out. Now in the Accor Mercure group, it is undergoing continuing refurbishment and modernization. Located a 10 to 15 minute drive from the airport and within walking distance of the war memorial, its location is convenient for visiting the Capital. Ample free parking is available on-site.

Contrary to other reviewers, we found the reception staff very friendly and accommodating, offering patiently maps and advice on sights to see. Absent an elevator to the second floor, we chose a ground level room, # 409. It was rather generously spacious with a small patio facing the nicely landscaped inner courtyard. The room had recently been refurbished, and its appointments included royal blue carpeting, a comfortable split king size bed, period furniture incl. desk, small corner table, safe, stocked mini bar/fridge, large flat screen TV, and broadband connection for a fee. The super modern, sparkling bathroom with a wall to wall vanity sink counter top providing ample space for one's belongings was spotless as was the room itself. At night it was very quiet, making for a good night of sleep.
The club style restaurant with pokies gambling served not exactly gourmet but reasonably priced food.

In summary, the Mercure offers competitively priced comfortable and clean accommodations in an otherwise expensive city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Sydney, Australia
1
Reviewed April 12, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#27 of 58 in Canberra
3,314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.2 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
1.3 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#19 of 58 in Canberra
1,178 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#21 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $85 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mercure Canberra, a part of Canberra's history Originally known as the Hotel Ainslie, Mercure Canberra was built to provide accommodation for public servants relocating to Canberra to support the transfer of the Commonwealth Parliament. It is one of eight remaining government built hotels or hostels from Canberra's first stage of development in the 1920s and is listed in the Register of the National Estate. Mercure Canberra is historically significant for its important role in the development of North Canberra and the forging of its community identity. While maintaining many original features, the hotel embraces the need for 21st century comforts to ensure you feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. Our 129 guest rooms are well appointed and have been decorated in keeping with the heritage style of the building. Our Standard rooms are located in the Heritage wing, with the layout and style of room not changing from the hotels' original days. For those looking for a more modern layout, you may wish to select one of our Superior or Deluxe Loft rooms in the newer part of the building. Our guests have the option to dine at our onsite Courtyard Restaurant serving modern Australian cuisine in the evening and a choice of Continental or Buffet breakfast in the morning. Those looking for a more casual dining experience can enjoy Bistro style meals from our Olims Bar & Bistro, a favourite spot for hotel guests and locals to mingle, serving Craft Beers & Cider from our very own Lovedale Brewery Our location is ideal. 600m from the Australian War Memorial commemorating those who serve our country, both past and present. Most of Canberra's National Attractions are within 10 minutes' drive from the hotel and the CBD is and easy 10 minute walk away and offers a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants, as well as shops and a Dendy Movie Cinema. Our team at Mercure Canberra look forward to making you feel welcome when you plan your next stay in beautiful Canberra, Australia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing