We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good clean motel accommodation, convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Dickson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Hotel Dickson
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good clean motel accommodation, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked 2 rooms with 2 queen beds in each. Both rooms were very clean and spacious. The mattresses in our room were not particularly comfortable, not very well padded, but with comfy pillows we had a good nights sleep (partly attributable to sheer exhaustion after a long drive and incredibly busy day!) My daughter said their room next to ours had very good mattresses so it may be luck of the draw.

Huge bathroom with a strangely tiny shower, great water pressure and very nice fluffy towels.

Tradies Club next door offers a good meal at a very reasonable price...hard to resist the legendary "Parma and Pint! for $23. And legendary it was...a massive piece of chicken! Lucky we were all hungry.

The service at the motel (and the club) was acceptable without being friendly or particularly helpful. We needed to check out before dawn and it was no problem, reception is staffed 24/7.

We stayed on a Sunday night and could here some noise from the club in our downstairs reception facing rooms, I think for a Friday or Saturday night it would be best to ask for a room facing away from the club if you are sensitive to noise.

Would we stay again, certainly. Its not somewhere I would want to spend a week but for an overnight stay it ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3littlepigsgotroppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    180
    36
    5
    6
See reviews for
98
85
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as it was the hotel closest to the Canberra show which we were attending. Our room had a spa and was really clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful. With a toddler it was good to be able to walk to the club for dinner. I also liked having the menu for the club restaurant in the room so you could see whether you wanted to eat there. There were also some other options close by including a vietnamese restaurant which was buzzing. I could not fault this hotel for its proximity to the show, cleanliness and comfort!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank happyforeverafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have used this venue several times over the last few years and the standard of service is consistent.
My recent stay was with a family group utilising two rooms over three nights late January ‘13, this stay we were in the area behind the main block which was ideal allowing for easy of loading & unloading our gear from vehicle to room & back again.
Rooms were clean, serviced daily & well maintained as always. Bedding was comfortable with plenty bedding although being so warm air conditioning was used more than bedding and this kept us cool.
This venue has it all, comfortable accommodation attached to the “Tradies” Club which has a café which is open for breakfast from 06:00 and serves snack food & coffee etc. throughout the day till late. There is also the restaurant which has a good variety of meals catering for most types of food such as gluten free & vegetarian, food is good service is quick. Membership to the Tradies is complementary while staying in the motel. Should you want to expand your food choices there is an abundance of other eateries within a few minutes’ walk. Bar staff were friendly and provide excellent service.
The hotel is next to the Dixon shopping area which includes several banks, Woolworth' s & other speciality shops making the motel ideal for holiday or business purposes.
The staffs are mostly friendly and helpful although from past experience & through to the most recent the night staff needs to be more familiar with some of the basic front desk functions including check out.
Enjoyed our stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJourneyMan812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 12/02/13 for one night only on business
The staff were by helpful and informative at the deal especially Daniel.
I stayed in a spa room which was very very clean and well decorated. The bathroom was clean and was larger than normal with the spa bath. The room had a balcony which overlooked the carpark and other rooms. It was very quiet at night and had a good nights sleep .the bed was big with lots of different pillows.the air con worked well and looked new
The room had a fridge and microwave as well as tea and coffee making facilities.
There was ample parking - free
The trades club is adjoined to the hotel and entry was complementary -- the restaurant was there but I opted for room service which was ok
The location was near to shops in Dickson
I would definitely stay here again on business or with family --- good value for money and very clean and pleasant staff
I would probably eat out if with family as there are lots of restaurants in the locality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ganda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times and have always found it to be very clean and in a convenient location. This visit we opted to dine at the club attached to the hotel, but there are many other eateries within close walking distance.
We had a ground floor unit this time which meant we could park close to our room and didn't have to access the underground car park and use the lift.
Will continue to stay here when we visit Canberra.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Modern clean rooms, well appointed with facilities and Foxtel. Really like the new bundled breakfasts in Bluey's Cafe attached the hotel.
Ideally located, close to the Dickson restaurants and hotels.
I would certainly come again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is clean, ideally located, has easy parking, is quiet and is great value. The rooms are large and well fitted out. We were worried that there may be noise from the attached club but it wasn't a problem. Excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VLJPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#20 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Dickson

Property: Quality Hotel Dickson
Address: Cnr Cape & Badham Streets, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Dickson 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quality Hotel Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing