We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Dickson
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

we stayed for a night at this place in sep 2012, we were 4 adults includint my inlaws, the place was clean and well maintained.good hot water , comfy beds.tea coffee making facilitites, toaster and even a microwave.
clean bathrooms and very close to the restaurants and shops.
only draw back was they asked us to pay extra 50$ which wasnt mentioned in our booking, they said this would be refundable on check out.
however the recpetion staff were friendly and good and tried to help , but they said the company had changed the poilicy and forgot to mention .
there was 24hrs staff so there was no issue during check out.
also it would be good to provide a water cooler or filter in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oli2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Dickson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 346 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent two nights there and are so pleased with our time there. It was very close to lots of restaurants which were so popular. We tried Dickson dumpling house and an Italian restaurant in the end of Wooley st (can't remember its name) and they were great. The room was clean, quiet and specious and spa was fantastic. Cleaners and receptionists were so helpful with massive smile. I strongly recommend it for Canberra trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in a spa suite for one night in the middle of winter. The room was spacious and the King bed enormous. There was a large balcony off the room, and despite the cold, the air conditioner was more than capable of warming the room.

The best thing was the large corner spa. It was just what was needed after a 3 hour drive.

The hotel is connected to a large leagues club, and has it's own cafe area (complete with a whole tram carriage). The free undercover parking was a great bonus too.

In terms of the area, if Canberra has a Chinatown, this is it. That means many brilliant restaurant options right on the doorstep.

Having stayed in several Canberra Hotels in this price range, this one ranks near the top. The location, rooms and on site services add up to a great play to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asia_short_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Another great stay at this hotel, 3rd time for us. Rooms are clean and modern and very spacious. Staff are helpful and friendly and everything you could need is walking disctance in Dickson. Tons of restaurants and fast food, plus Woolworths and small conveniences like Chemists. This time we had 2 queen beds for 2 adults and a child. Parking is free which is great and lifts take you to your level if you are in the main building or a small flight of stairs in the attached bldg (have had both).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We s(me and 3 kids) stopped here on our drive from Melbourne to Sydney. The room was good and large with 2 queen beds. Microwave and cutlery supplied. Clean. The neighbourhood has a large supermarket and plenty of dine-in or take-away food options. The staff were nice and helpful. Free parking. Not noisy. Definitely somewhere I would recommend.

Room Tip: if you want a quiet room I would suggest away from street frontage and the RSL club next door.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlecAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Overall not a bad place to stay. The layout is a little different but once you've found your room its easy enough to navigate.
We just stayed one night and got what we expected to the cheap rate. Not fancy but room was large and comfortable enough, a little noisy at times.
Bit of a shock the mini was empty but thats ok, just different.
Great location to get to dickson resturants and into the city for some shopping.
Would stay here again to avoid breaking the bank :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cutecath136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend in July. The girls on reception where friendly and helpful. The room was a generous size with all the essentials. Our room was over reception and first thought it was not going to be quite however I was wrong, we didn't hear a thing all night.
Great value and central location to all Canberra's major attractions.
We will be back again I'm sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCharlie_823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,624 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#19 of 58 in Canberra
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,342 reviews
4.9 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
657 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Dickson

Address: Cnr Cape & Badham Streets, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $113 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Dickson 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing