We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Dickson
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were very happy with our stay - the room was large, clean and quiet. The Tradies next door was handy for dinner and breaky, also heaps of restaurants and take aways (McD and KFC) and supermarket in walking distance. The hotel is 5-10 inutes from all tourist attractions. We were impressed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Steph27r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 354 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is the loudest hotel in that there are constant maid carts going up and down the halls and maintenance to fix the leaking roof in atrium. The maintenance people slam things and talk loudly so that you can hear inside your room. At night you can hear people above or below you in their bathrooms and doors slamming. Just when you are about asleep you get awoken by loud noise. In addition, the water pressure changes to almost nothing in the shower and the temperature changes when someone in nearby room uses their shower. Honestly, I cannot wait to leave Canberra because of this!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I've stayed here numerous times on work trips. Excellent location, very close to restaurants, bars, shops etc. Clean rooms, comfy beds, good service. My prefered hotel when in Canberra for work.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hangingjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Room was very good, two huge beds, very large room with modern bathroom and large shower. Parking was underground but anyone could walk in and out. Press the button for the lift and hey your in the hotel. It said you had to enter your key card to go higher than reception but it didn't work. The hotel has a large pub and club attached called the "Tradies pub",which is also a gaming pub. It gets busy and has a lot of people milling about later in the night. As a family we prefer a more quiet location. If you like a beer and gamble then you will like this hotel. Staff were friendly and breakfast was fine. Canberra has quite a bit to see and you must go to the war memorial as it is museum with super exhibits inside. We were only here for an overnight stop but will return to look around more, but we will stay somewhere quieter.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

after confirming our 'questicon package' (2 qn beds,cooked breeky and family pass to questicon) TWICE. the last time was 2 days before trip. we arrived at quality hotel at about 11.30pm, (having advised hotel of late arrival prior to trip) we were told we had 1qn bed and they had put a rollaway bed into the room for us!
i explained i had already confirmed our questicon room 2 days prior and was assured that we would have 2qn beds.
there was only one man on reception and he didnt know what to do.i suggested he get his superviser after being told there were no more beds available. he rang his superviser and we were offered
option 1.....take the room and we MIGHT get a discount
option 2.....take a king/spa suite and call it even!
it was nearly midnight, the family was tired, so we took the king room and 2adults and 1child shared the bed. we only stayed the night so didnt use the spa.
the breakfast was fantastic and we recieved the family pass. but i did ask in the morning what had happened to our booking.i was told my contact apparently HAD put in 2 queen beds as advertised in the package deal, and they cant understand how they had a mix-up.
well no!.........neither can i!!

Room Tip: always get contact names from the hotel as they can be helpful when making a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boohi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We primarily went to canberra to go through the war memorial. Its 10 mins from the hotel. Having tradies attached to the hotel was also very convenient for us. We would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodybelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I stay here regularly for work and find the Tradies, as it's known, to be by far the best located, most modern and value for money hotel in Canberra. Great restaurants & a supermarket open until midnight nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#19 of 58 in Canberra
1,178 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#27 of 58 in Canberra
3,314 reviews
4.9 mi away
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Dickson

Address: Cnr Cape & Badham Streets, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $105 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Dickson 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Hotel Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing