We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Dickson
Ranked #23 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We primarily went to canberra to go through the war memorial. Its 10 mins from the hotel. Having tradies attached to the hotel was also very convenient for us. We would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodybelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 366 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

I stay here regularly for work and find the Tradies, as it's known, to be by far the best located, most modern and value for money hotel in Canberra. Great restaurants & a supermarket open until midnight nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Just your average hotel with good rooms and good staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My partner and I had booked 5 nights in the spa room . This hotel was great. Quick and early check in, free undercover secured parking, and the room we had was huge. We had a balcony which was a nice little bonus. The bed was comfortable and had fantastic night sleeps. The bathroom was clean. Had a microwave, which came in handy. The Tv is LCD and has heaps of channels including 2 free movie ones, which played the lastest blockbusters. The hotel is adjoined to the Tradies Gamers club, and this venue was warm and welcoming.

We wanted to extend our stay for another night which was no problem at all. Beds were made, clean towels, robes and a few other extras made this hotel a very comfortbale and inviting place.

Location wasnt far from the Canberra Cbd, and glad we stayed here as we were close to a couple of streets of main shops, restaurants and the woolworths supermarket, which seems to be very popular, as it was always packed when we visited.

Staff very friendly as well.

Would recommend this place to anyone who wants a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannevictoria2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We were very satisfied with our reasonably large and comfortable room. We were impressed that there was a toaster and microwave in the room. The reception staff were pleasant. There’s plenty of free parking, which is good because you need a car to get to the main sights, as public transport in Canberra seems designed for the locals and doesn’t seem visitor-friendly. Quality Inn is attached to the Tradies Club, so you have access to the bistro and other facilities, but in addition as other reviews have mentioned, there are many restaurants in the immediate vicinity as well as a large Woolworths (open until midnight)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

After much research on finding the ideal accommodation for a family of 2 adults and 2 children aged 6 and 9yrs during the peak holiday period of January, I found this little treasure. Although the costing was a bit out of our range, I was willing to pay extra after reading reviews on cheaper accommodation.
We stayed for 4 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment with a king size bed and the kid's on a sofa bed. The room was very clean and serviced daily. We had a microwave, toaster, mini fridge & tea and coffee making facilities. Our room also had a balcony and air con in the room as well as in the lounge area.
The staff at the reception area were always very polite and helpful. Although, as first timers to canberra it would've been nice to have an introductory info session about what was around the area and where the facilities were such as the gym, supermarket or local pool. Not to worry though as the location of the hotel is directly centred within the Dickson shopping precinct so we just went exploring.
One of the many highlights of this hotel is that it is connected to the Tradies club which has pokies, a cafe and restaurant. We did not take up the breakfast offer as the local supermarket was nearby and we had cereal for breakfast each morning and made a packed lunch for when we went sight seeing.
Another highlight was the gym they offered was the local gym just around the corner, so you had access to a fully equipped gym with better quality equipment . There is no swimming pool, but you can visit the local pool which is about a 3 min walk away and costs $17 for a family pass.
So many restaurants to choose from as well, if you walk down to Woolley street - you will find many asian restaurants as well as pizza and pasta ones. We really enjoyed the chinese restaurant called Jimmy's restaurant - the food was delicious!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babezaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

I read some reviews here before booking a room with Quality Hotel Dickson. The reviews were spot-on! The location is excellent and we were spoiled with the choices of restaurants there. The room ( we were staying in Room 205 with a corner spa) was clean, spacious and dark. Both my partner and I really enjoyed our stay. Besides,we were very pleased with the friendly staff. I forgot to print our return tickets and went to the reception and asked if we could book a computer and pay for our own printing. A helpful staff offered to print the tickets for us without any extra charge.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel_in_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 59 in Canberra
1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
4.9 mi away
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
#12 of 59 in Canberra
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
6.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Woden
Quality Hotel Woden
#37 of 59 in Canberra
234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#24 of 59 in Canberra
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Dickson

Address: Cnr Cape & Badham Streets, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $107 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Dickson 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing