We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$124
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$156
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brassey Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$153
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pavilion on Northbourne(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$131
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ovolo Nishi(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$231
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Forrest Hotel And Apartments(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$98
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$181
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,519)
Filter reviews
1,519 results
Traveler rating
400
688
309
79
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
688
309
79
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglebe parkpark viewredsalt restaurantred saltdesk areatwo double bedsnational convention centrecar parkroom serviceoutdoor poolbuffet breakfastcentral locationbit datedan upgradelong weekendper daywar memorial
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
883 - 888 of 1,519 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Canberra on a couple of different occasions. Again we found the staff to be friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was similar to the last time we stayed with a good view of the park. We found the room to be very quiet and generally well maintained although there were a couple of small items which needed attention. There must have been problems with the pay movie system, as we couldn't get to watch a complete movie from start to end which was disappointing. We phoned the desk but they were unable to fix it. We were not charged for it - but still is was a hassle. The bathroom could have been a little cleaner as there was some black mould on the tiles. On the first night we discovered that the room service people had forgotten to leave face cloths for us. Overall the bed provided a comfortable sleep. Valet parking was helpful although the car was not ready - as we had planned - with the staff member the night before so my wife was delayed for her meeting as they had to go and get the car. Red Salt breakfasts were included and they put on a good buffet. Maybe a few more serving staff would help with the preparation of the freshly made omelettes so there is less waiting time, as with the coffees - particularly when the restaurant gets so busy. I did also stop in for a late lunch at 2pm - but the restaurant was closed - I had read in the hotel description in the room that it was open to 2:30pm. Perhaps it hadn't been updated or something. Also - there is not spa on the premises which was also listed in the room description book. We had hoped to use one. And the concierge informed me that the Canberra Day Spa was very busy and hard to get into on the weekend. So we missed out on that. The hotel is conveniently located to Canberra Centre for shopping and a selection of restaurants are also within walking distance. The pool at the hotel could use a bit of work and provide better and a greater number of lounge chairs. Also - it might be nice if a hotel staff person discouraged the children from running about the pool and jumping. We passed on the pool also. The gym itself has a diverse array of equipment. We also had a few drinks in the bar next to the lobby. It was not busy and service was quick. I noticed there was no special check - in for Priority club members at the desk. As a Gold elite rewards member I think I expected a bit more, even just a newspaper on Sunday morning which I didn't receive. I know as an Ambassador member with IHG more is normally offered including automatic upgrades. I am not sure what else might have been available. Mind you, the rate for the weekend was very reasonable.

Room Tip: We again enjoyed a room overlooking the park: quiet and pleasant with birdlife.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tevorolevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your review after you recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and have certainly noted the areas where our service did not meet the high standards we aim to provide. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Deluxe Park View Rooms again. We are also currently refreshing our room product with new wardrobes, state-of-the-art televisions, in-room entertainment system and upgraded wireless internet. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon to experience these new amenities. Kind Regards, the General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel always seems to charge through the roof and get away with it.
There is nothing special about this hotel apart from the location in the city.

Rooms are rather old and need renovations done, but the beds are comfortable, I guess that's a bonus!
Breakfast is well overpriced and it takes forever to get a coffee in the mornings at breakfast time.
Service is alright, but they could do better.

Overall, i'd only stay here if this was your only option.
It's ashame there isn't an Intercontinental in the area, as im sure they would blitz Crowne on service and quality.
Checkout Realm Hotel, this place is nice!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzTravels80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback regarding our service and room product. We are currently undergoing a refresh project of our guest rooms which includes new furnishings, state-of-the-art televisions, in-room entertainment and an upgrade to our wireless internet service. Availability can be limited during midweek nights, particularly during Parliament Sitting weeks, however please visit our website for the best rates available when you are next looking to visit Canberra. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Michael Fontein - Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent a single night recently in the Crowne Plaza and found the hotel very good. The room was reasonably large, very clean and well maintained, the bathroom, somewhat dated but well maintained. The air conditioning was somewhat weak and we had to help it by oppening a window. Breakfast was good too and service was fast and friendly.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank julo972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff provided you with efficient and friendly service. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, the General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is in a great location and there are usually pretty cheap deals to stay there. The staff are friendly and helpful, but the facilities are getting a bit old. THe gym and pool are fairly ordinary. But for a convenient place to stay in Canberra, it is very convenient.

Room Tip: There is a lovely park behind the hotel so the rooms on that side of the hotel have a very nice outlook.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are currently refreshing areas of the hotel, including a new state-of-the-art wireless internet service, flat-screen televisions and entertainment system in the guest rooms as well as an upgrade of the fitness center. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel to experience these new amenities in the future. Kind Regards, Michael Fontein - Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Excellent location for a city fix, close to shopping centre, next to Casino. Rooms modern and clean, restaurant meals great and reasonable. Will be making this hotel our base when we come to Canberra.

Room Tip: Rooms on the park side are quieter
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtoski60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's facilities and took advantage of our convenient central location to access the shops at the Canberra Centre. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Michael Fontein - Director of Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews