We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Wagga Wagga
2 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

A great place to stay, friendly staff and great facilities.


Well worth the money. Very convenient to shops and the lake for recreational activities .. Would stay there again the twin room with two double beds was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Glyn M, thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Canberra soon. Kind Regards, Michael Fontein - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    627
    281
    70
    38
See reviews for
289
399
81
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Plusses: Location is fantastic - exactly where you wanna be in Canberra with a nice walk right into the city mall. Rooms were okay - not big but very clean and beds were nice. Staff were relaxed and friendly.

Not-so-good: Car Park a bit of a warren and tight in places. Bathroom use of unit next to us made the water pipes make all weird groaning noises (not a huge deal). Also, charging of 1.5% surcharge for credit card use - expect this in Aldi but not upmarket hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear casandlisa, thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you found our central location close to the Canberra Centre convenient during your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards - Michael Fontein - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Travelled for business and stayed for 2 nights. The room was comfortable and clean but the furniture looks like it has not been updated since the 80's. The bathroom is extremely dated and uncomfortable to use - something you would expect from a cheap motel. The toilet has a plastic seat and the shower/bath is very small and has no mixer. The bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonicP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear SonicP, thank you for your feedback on our guest rooms after your recent stay with us. We are planning a refresh of our guest rooms later in the year and do hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Canberra. Kind Regards, Michael Fontein - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

A convenient hotel for business in the commercial area of Canberra. Handy to casino if you're into that.
Pretty good value for money as long as you're not trying to stay in a Parliamentary sitting week or some festival, which is pretty much the same for all Canberra hotels!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamGrebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear CamGrebe, thank you for providing a review on our property after your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our central location in Civic to be convenient. Canberra does become quite busy during Parliament Sitting weeks so it can be more cost effective if you are able to schedule your travel outside of these weeks. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Michael Fontein - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I can not say enough about the excellent service provided by the staff at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra. They were very attentive and could not do enough to help. Thank you. The location is sensational for getting around town. The rooms need a make over especially the bathrooms with an old fashioned shower of the bath still. I would stay there again but I do hope they have a make over soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Kath S, thank you for your review of our property. It is always great to receive such positive feedback about the service our staff provide and we are glad that you found our central location in Civic convenient. We are also planning to refresh our guest rooms later this year and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Michael Fontein - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Lets face it - most people who visit Canberra are there on (usually Government) business for a day or two. Its not a prime tourist destination! If you are one of these people, then the Crowne Plaza is fine. Good central location close to lots of Government offices and with the Canberra Centre mall across the road. The hotel itself is reasonably efficient but, as other reviewers have commented, it is not a 5-star property. The rooms (particularly bathrooms) are showing their age and as a result you will find a number of minor maintenance issues (in my case, torn shower curtain, chips, leaking taps), disinterested check-in staff, high costs for 'basics' like bottled water in the room, parking etc - which don't matter for most business travellers since you just add these to your expense claim, right?
But, we (including a 10yo) recently stayed at the hotel for 3 days, not on business but visiting family. The hotel is not so great under these circumstances. The exorbitant prices of the 'basics' then become an issue when its coming out of your own pocket! $8 for a bottle of water & $4 for two biscuits are just examples. TV another - no children's channels (eg ABC3) for some unknown reason and just 1 or 2 old 'G" rated children's movies. Also, no apparent way of blocking the many 'Adult' movies. (There was a label near the TV saying that the TV programs were being 'updated' although the same label was there when I last stayed on business last year!!).
Children's room service menu is OK and reasonably priced ($15) although the fish in the 'fish and chips' was soggy, foul-smelling and inedible - we ended up going out for a meal. The good business location of the hotel also doesn't count when you not on a business trip. Apart from a movie theatre close by in the Mall, there are no other nearby facilities for keeping the ankle-biters happy and busy.
As others have commented, there are some staff issues here which become an annoyance when you actually spend some time in the hotel rather than rushing out in the morning for business meetings. For some reason, the long corridor outside our room was cluttered with cleaning trolleys, vacuum cleaners etc for most of the day, every day! Room service trays were also left uncollected outside rooms all day so it became quite an obstacle course to actually get to our room! There was no way of putting up a 'do not disturb' sign when children were sleeping since there weren't any such tags in the room. Several requests for these to reception went ignored.
Check-in staff are robotic at best and totally dis-interested. Checked in without even a greeting from the staff, zero information provided and, although I am a member of the IHG Club, no recognition of this, Questions were answered with an abrupt mono-syllabic 'yes' or no'. On check-out, errors in the bill were corrected without any apology or without even a comment.
So, in summary, not a hotel for families

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else unless you are on a business trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_TravellerAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear A_TravellerAdelaide, thank you for providing a review from your recent stay with us. We appreciate receiving such feedback to share with our management team so we can continually improve our service and product. We are planning a refresh of our guest rooms in the near future and this will also include upgrading the televisions and in-room entertainment system, to offer our guests a wider variety of digital Foxtel and free-to-air channels. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Canberra. Kind Regards, Michael Fontein - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a very conveniently located hotel. Great beds, but small rooms and dated bathrooms. Overall pleasant, but by no means luxurious. Skip the hotel breakfast and walk over to Canberra Central where you will find "Gus" or "Creme" -both opposite each other and a fabulous breakfast at both.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Turcinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Turcinov, thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our location to be so convenient in the center of Civic. When you next choose to stay with us maybe consider booking a larger Deluxe Park View Room for greater comfort. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Michael Fontein, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,203 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Address: 1 Binara St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you'll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation's Capital and within walking distance of the city's best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 296 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we're pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing