We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

All the staff are friendly and helpful from the minute you arrive.
The rooms are small but practical.
My only issue was the wireless internet. ( free for platinum members).
Very difficult to connect and very weak signal.
Apart from that issue, a very please to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Vicki B

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel.

It is very nice to read about the great impact the team had on your stay.

We are constantly monitoring our internet offering for improvement and appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are back in Canberra.

Yours sincerely

Kim Baxter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    627
    281
    70
    38
See reviews for
289
399
81
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in October 2013. The room was overall perfectly OK but not really up to the standard we would expect for this price. There was only one chair! This is a double room, so I'm not sure how they expect guests to share a single chair. And there is no table, just a narrow work bench (so even if there were two chairs, you would only be able to sit side-by-side, not facing each other). All this made breakfast in the room all but impossible (sitting on the bed is really the only option). The bathroom looked old and tired: plastic toilet seat and plastic fittings that were stained and dirty round the edges; cracked tiles. We arrived to find the room absolutely freezing and we both caught a chill as a result. Can't believe they had left the window open (it was about 5 degrees outside) and the air conditioning was blowing cold air in too! Also, tea and coffee did not get replenished each day (twice out of four days), though the milk did!

On the plus side, we found most of the staff to be excellent. Each of the two times we asked for something to be brought to our room (a replacement ironing board was one, as the one in the room was broken and dangerous) it arrived within 2 minutes. The gym (well-equipped and all machines working) and sauna were also excellent, though the pool was being refurbished at the time of our visit (shame they couldn't have mentioned this on the website so that we knew in advance). And the location is great for shops, restaurants and buses to other parts of town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Essexgreen

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to hear that the Hotel staff were prompt and exceeded your expectations and made your stay more comfortable.

I am sorry to hear about the cold room you were checked into. Obviously during winter our windows are not generally left open. I hope you and your wife warmed up all right. I am also sorry to hear that your tea and coffee did not get replenished every day. The housekeeping team has been reminded of the proper procedure for cleaning and replenishing guests’ rooms. Thank you for these detailed points, a seamless experience for all our guests is our absolute goal.

I hope to get the chance to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Canberra in the future and demonstrate our ongoing improvement focus.

Yours sincerely

Kim Baxter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013. Excellent room overlooking park on 4th floor. Speedy, friendly check-in and check-out. Room clean with all the necessary inclusions and extras in case you forget something. Food choices not cheap but OK. Only criticism is the $8 charge for the litre bottle of water - you have got to be kidding. Great location just a short walk from shopping and Civic offices.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms above noisy rotating doors at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceMichael98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear BruceMichael98

Thank you for your review of our Hotel.

I am happy to hear that the room and amenities were to your liking. I am also pleased that you were happy with our central location to the city centre.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Kim Baxter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Satyed 3 nights here last week. In town for a convention right next door. Very convenient. Good location close to the city but most hotels and serviced apartments very convenient in a place like Canberra. Very comfortable bed - drinking water not replaced daily. Internet connection - like most places in Australia was appalling and way overpriced. This is something that the Australians really need to get their act together on. Paying almost $300 per night and then paying for internet on top of that. I don't think so. I will probably go back to the serviced apartment option when visiting Canberra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnandelBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear OnandelBangkok

I am happy to hear that the Hotel’s location close to the Convention Centre was convenient for you and I hope you had a successful conference.

In regards to IT, it is a shame to learn that the quality of our system did not operate at peak for you. We have spent a great deal of time and money upgrading our facilities, however, on occasion very high usage rates can affect the quality. I understand the comparison to other countries and we look forward to being able to offer free internet to all our guests. From January the 1st we will be offering free internet to all members of our IHG Rewards Club.

We look forward to the chance to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Canberra.

Yours Sincerely
Kim Baxter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Canberra for 2 days whilst visiting with work.
The hotel itself is nice, Clean and a great location to all things Canberra.

Staff were nice enough to store a bike for me that I had with me.

The Gym in this hotel is 1 of the best set ups I have ever seen and wont disappoint those looking to work out.

As with most business hotels I didn’t touch the mini bar or the internal cafes and restaurants rather opting to walk 5 mins to the super market and buy some bottled water there and taking advantage of some local cafes for meals. ( I recommend Dobinsons café on bunda street )
Be warned a bottle of water from the mini bar was $8!!!

The only real issue I had was with a member of guest services trying to enter my room without knocking to drop off something that wasn’t actually for my room ……. She was very apologetic realizing her mistake.

The room was faultless..... Great design, big comfortable bed and everything you would expect in a deluxe or king level room.

I forgot my razor and the staff were nice enough to supply me a complimentary razor kit.

All in all, I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Canberra!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear ChrisCondon

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on our Hotel.

I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel and that staying with us was good location-wise. I really like Dobinson’s Bakery as well and I recommend trying Cream Cafe if you are ever back in town. It is just a little farther up Bunda Street at the Canberra Centre.

It is good to hear that you took advantage of our toiletries (razor kit), we have other toiletries available as well in case anything else is forgotten.

The team has been reminded by your review of the proper procedure for entering guests’ rooms. I am pleased this did not impact your stay too negatively.

We hope to see you again in the future if you are back in Canberra again.

Yours Sincerely
Kim Baxter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I just spent four nights at the Crowne while at a convention in Canberra. Wonderful service, clean and beautiful facilities and the most beautiful and comfortable king-size bed. I travel a lot and find many beds too hard, too soft..but like Goldilocks...this one was just right.
The staff unobtrusively cleaned while I was out for the day. The walls are solid and there was never even a sound from another room. The concierge and reception were polite friendly and responsive to all my needs.
It is ultra-convenient to shopping, the convention centre and all the sights of Canberra

Room Tip: Park view rooms are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear AussieCanadian

We are very happy to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed our beds and that you were comfortable while staying with us. For your information we use Sealy mattresses and the type is Civic Pillow Top.

Thank you for your very positive review. I am happy to hear that your stay went well and our service, location and facilities helped you get the most out of your time in the Nation’s Capital.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Canberra in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Kim Baxter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Never again will I stay here. $300 plus tariff for Poor Internet that they charge for in your room, not a flash room, toiletries not replaced every day, no pool working, never service avail at concierge in early evening, just tacky all round. Not value for money. Location the only positive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Caroline E

We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the amenities or the service of our Hotel.

I understand that during busy periods the concierge desk is not always manned and I am sorry that this impacted on your stay.

At the moment we are upgrading our pool facilities, improving upon them for summer time. We are looking forward to providing a better experience in this area.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to our Hotel to demonstrate the high levels of service we are capable of. We are aware of the necessity to provide value for our guests and sincerely regret that we were unable to achieve this for you on this stay.

Yours Sincerely
Kim Baxter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,203 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Address: 1 Binara St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you'll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation's Capital and within walking distance of the city's best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 296 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we're pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing