We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$180
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$143
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$122
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pacific Suites Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$173
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pavilion on Northbourne(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$85
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
QT Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$155
$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$182
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Brassey Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ovolo Nishi(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$165
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$151
$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveler rating
401
690
309
79
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
690
309
79
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglebe parkpark viewredsalt restaurantred saltdesk areatwo double bedsnational convention centrecar parkroom serviceoutdoor poolbuffet breakfastcentral locationbit datedan upgradelong weekendper daywar memorial
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Quite possibly the worst breakfast service I have ever seen!

For the last two hours of service there was a queue at least four parties deep. With the queue at times going up the stairs and around the corner!

This wasn't due to a lack of tables. At one point I counted half a dozen unused tables. Some of which could be divided into smaller tables for the majority small parties.

It wasn't due to lack of staff either. There were five or so wait staff wandering around trying to clear and dress tables as well as seat new diners.

The problem was organisation and good old fashioned urgency. The same (extremely slow moving) staff member seating people was also leaving his station unattended to clear tables (also extremely slowly). It took three staff members six minutes (yes, I timed them) to clear, wipe and dress a table for four. That's six minutes once they started. There were some tables left uncleared for over an hour! And this is while people are queuing.

It's not like they were doing a great job either. When my partner and I were taken to a table, it was poorly wiped in front of us. Leaving the table wet and sticky and the seats and floor covered in crumbs.

It was so painful to watch Peter (sorry mate, but your name tag was noted on the first morning) aimlessly wander around, looking for a table for the sometimes bemused, often irritated diners. He'd march into the centre of the dining area, stop, then look around lost as if he'd forgotten why he was here. A person in his position should KNOW where the free tables are. He'd then leave the long queue of waiting diners to half clear a table!?

It took all of my self control to not step in and get things moving. It's really not that difficult. Firstly, get Peter away from the customers. He looked completely out of his depth and inspired not confidence whatsoever. Next, get a production line going. One clears, another cleans, the last dresses. Then someone with some professionalism can seat the guests.

It didn't ruin our stay though. The room itself was fine, if strangely furnished. Though the cleaning of the rooms was sporadic at best. We returned to our room at a little after 3pm to find the cleaner just about to start! This should be finished before check in time, not after.

The location was perfect, but resting on the laurels of the location will only get you so far. You're not the only hotel on the block and you're certainly not the cheapest. Get a manager on the floor at breakfast time and get those rooms turned over faster and I'd have no problem recommending you for business travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Bill W,

Thank you for your comments. We are as disappointed as you about what was clearly a very poor experience for many of our guests at breakfast this last weekend. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay none the less and assure you of our absolute commitment to making sure we don’t let ourselves or our guest down in this fashion again.
Our normal breakfast receives some very positive comment and yet is clear that we were underprepared on this occasion. As the Manager I sincerely regret that we let our guests down and put our team in a situation where they were unable to deliver to the high standard to which we aspire.
We are by no means under any false impression about the necessity of high value efficient service and while we deliver this the majority of the time, as evidenced by other recent reviews, are committed to improve our consistency so that exceptions like the weekends breakfast can not occur.
Thank you again for your detailed review and I do hope we will have the chance to show you our normal high standards on a future visit to Canberra.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very disappointing, the layout of room very bad, cold and uninviting. Poor lighting, very harsh as just recessed ceiling light and no soft lighting. Blinds very annoying, and harsh. Bathrooms very tired and in need of an update.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Samuel E,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that you found the decor and presentation of the rooms lacking. We certainly appreciate your view and I can advise that as far as bathrooms go we are currently working on a refurbished version that we feel sure will improve the experience dramatically.
Thank you again, while we cannot appeal equally to everyone, I do regret that our service efforts did not have a big enough impact on you to overshadow the areas around decor that you found cold and uninviting. I do hope you may see fit to return and hopefully we can deliver an excellent service experience for you to redeem your impression.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Casino is just next door, close to everything.
It is a cosy room , there is a variety of teabags to choose either for morning or for night, nice, clean and neat. However the TV remote was very dirty and the curtains were annoied to operate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Reinn T,

Thank you for your feedback. I've noted our slip in attention to detail, thank you, and am really pleased that the facility, location and service helped you enjoy your time in Canberra.
In the winter months "cosy" is just what is needed!

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times now when I've been in Canberra for a conference.

The location is great- a block from the Canberra Centre which has department stores, cinema, restaurants and supermarkets. It's also a cheap cab from the war memorial and ANU.

The bathrooms are a little tired but the bed is comfy and checkin/out is always efficient. Breakfast is quite expensive if its not included in your room rate but I'm not a breakfast person and just grab a coffee. There's also plenty of places you can get breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eachschoolholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear eachschoolholidays,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Canberra. We appreciate you taking the time to complete a public review and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.
We've noted your comment around value for breakfast and while we try to ensure the offering is competitive and presents good value, you are right, our location does afford some choices. Please do try our barista if you're just grabbing a coffee on the way out!

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Another weekend in Canberra and another wonderful stay at Crowne Plaza. Very comfortable room in the Presidential Suite, spread over two floors. Great for entertaining our guests. The hotel is close to everything, it is our favourite family stay over for Canberra, we don't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra to get a park view room. Just a lovely view in Autumn.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Lucy4810,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review publicly. I'm thrilled to read that our excellent service has created such a tremendous sense of loyalty for you. We will work hard to ensure we continue to earn your choice. The Presidential Suite is a really lovely room and I'm very pleased you enjoyed the extra space and comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Nation’s Capital.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews