We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canberra needs more attention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Canberra needs more attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2008

Canberra is the Australian national capitol. It is a designed city but if you want to be near the government buildings to sightsee, understand you won't be near any local homey neighborhoods. There is a shopping mall near the hotel, but no one lives around there so it is pretty bare of people on the weekend which is when we visited. The hotel was very modern and had FREE internet service in the business center. There is also an attached casino but slot machines are not permitted in the Australian Capitol Territory. So if you gamble, don't look for Pokies. The restaurant in the Casino was odd as the menu changed depending upon where you sat. Service was a bit slow considering we were the only people in the restaurant at the time. The rest of the hotel was okay. It was spotlessly clean and the room and bed were comfortable.

  • Liked — free Internet service
  • Disliked — proximity to anything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CM101746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    614
    278
    68
    38
See reviews for
284
389
81
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
249 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2008

This hotel was located very close to the city center, next to the city park. Close to the bus-stop for the bus to the airport. Check-in was efficient. Staff was friendly and welcoming.

Room: Room was nice and modern with some modern touches. Overlooking part of the park and some other buildings. Bed was comfortable and room temperature was good. Did not have issues with the thin walls or plumbing noises as described by the previous poster.

Had breakfast at the hotel, paid about AUD20 for this. Breakfast spread was good, had your own juicer (was not that clean) and staff was friendly. Not too bad for value, normal price was 30 AUD.
There was free Wifi in the lobby and at the business center. Room needed paid internet access.

Overall, a good stay and value for money.

  • Liked — Location, service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nldogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

We stayed here over Easter for 4 nights. Booked their standard room through wotif and got a reasonable rate (compared to their normal rates anyway).

The location of Crowne Plaza is its best asset. In the middle of Canberra City, it's a short walk to the Canberra Centre shopping centre which is huge and has all the shops you could want, plus some very good restaurants. It also backs on to a lovely park. In a place like Canberra where a car is essential for getting around to most places, it's nice to be able to walk to see some sights as well.

Check in was smooth, however we were assigned a room that overlooked the entrance to Casino Canberra, which is part of the hotel complex. That should have been a warning sign to ask for a room change (that and a touring rugby union side seemed to have taken over the whole section where we were staying), but we tried it for one night.

The room itself is pleasant without being anything special by 4 1/2 star standards. It's quite small for a start, not a lot of room to put 2 suitcases on the floor. It's obviously set up for the business traveller in mind, as there's a desk/work area directly behind the bed as you walk in, the bed, then a small table/chair, then the window.

The king size bed is very nice and comfortable, there's a flat screen tv with a few foxtel channels (fox sports 1,2,3, sky news, travel and living, fox 8 and nickelodeon from memory). I don't understand why though hotels bring in these nice new flat screen tv's but still don't have digitial tv on them? When the analogue service is eventually switched off they'll have to upgrade them all again. The bathroom was nothing special, though the shower pressure was very good. I really don't like showers in bath tubs though.

Ok the first sign the room was going to be a problem was the paper thin walls. We had some rugby guys in the next room to us, and while they probably weren't talking softly, they weren't shouting, and we could clearly here everything they were saying. You could also here when the neighbours took a shower, the water noise coming from the pipes was way too loud. The rugby guys weren't the problem at night though, the problem was the drunken idiots coming and going from the casino all night. All their shouting could be heard quite clearly, and obviously this disrupted our sleep.

The next morning I went down to the front desk and asked for a room change to one that overlooked the park. The front desk people were very nice and accomodating and got us another room straight away. This room was exactly the same as the previous, but had a lovely view of the park, much much nicer than staring at the entrance to the casino.

This was then all good, however the paper thin walls came back to haunt us, as we had very loud drunken idiots next to us who would not be quiet, banging away, swearing their heads off past 1am, it was very frustrating. I called the front desk who to their credit came straight away and told them to be quiet. This worked for a little while, before the noise began again. Another call to the front desk worked, as security came to their door and we didn't hear another word out of them that night.

Our other 2 nights were more uneventful, but the thin walls just ruined it for us.

The third day of our stay housekeeping didn't service our room. I suspect what happened was when we moved rooms the front desk forgot to change our room details, so no one knew we were staying in that room. Late in the day after we moved rooms we had a knock on the door from a staff member who seemed surprised there was someone in the room, but they didn't say anything or question why we in there. I have a feeling they assigned someone else the room while we were out, they opened up our door and noticed our things and went back to the front desk to complain. I had to ring housekeeping to complain and while they didn't admit it it sounded like they messed up our room change.

We tried the seafood buffet on the Saturday night at redsalt. For the price it really wasn't worth it, the food was ok, but there wasn't a huge amount of seafood on offer, and for us wasn't value for money. We've been spoiled by the amazing buffets in Las Vegas, and this pales in comparison.

Parking was luckily not a problem, but could have been. On Friday and Saturday we came back from having been out for the day, and managed to grab one of the last few remaining car spots. Paying $15 a day to park you would expect a larger car park. The car park is very tight and difficult for large cars to park in. Given the lack of car spaces compared to guests and the fact everyone drives in Canberra the car park should be for hotel patrons only, not the general public who go to the restaurant or casino.

It's unlikely we'll be back to Canberra anytime soon (nice place but once a decade is more than enough!), but when we return it won't be at the Crowne Plaza, which is a shame as its location is the best. With all the problems we had we couldn't recommend this to anyone. For the price we paid we expected a lot more.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls, inadequate parking
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eckythump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2008

We chose this hotel for our weekend stay as it is an easy walk to theatres, restaurants and the main shopping area.

We booked using our Priority Club membership and were upgraded from a deluxe room to a suite on arrival. The suite has a very large separate living room with dining furniture for 4, as well as couch and 2 arm chairs and a large flat screen TV. The bedroom is very similar to a standard bedroom, with a well separated and very functional desk area. There is also a balcony with table and chairs and a view over the park.

There is free internet access - both wireless and a network connection were available.

The service both at reception, and when we requested items to be brought to the room, was helpful and efficient. Our only criticism would be the bathroom, which is a bit dated.

  • Liked — Desk and work space
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank J0z0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend. It was OK for a 4* hotel. The room was spacious - overlooking the end of the Glebe Park and some building construction.

I read in the hotel website that it was recently refurbished, but the bathroom looked a bit dated - mould around the tiles. The beds were OK - but we have slept in more comfortable ones before. The breakfast was standard and the fruit looked a bit old and not fresh.

The car park was a bit of a challenge for a long car, but we managed to get in and out alright. We may stay here again due to its convenient location, right in the centre of the city - other than that not much to crow about.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank hotelreviews06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2008

Crowne Plaza Canberra turned out to be slightly better than I expected, although I do have a fairly high expectation of Crowne Plaza in general.

The room was very clean and modern, with a nice segregation between the desk area and the bed area. The hotel thoughtfully provided a mouse mat for the glass desk (without a mouse mat, a laser mouse would not have worked) and power points were neatly arranged at the side. The desk was quite large and the chair was quite comfortable.

The room had a very large window, adding to the feeling of space (although the main thing I could see were the leaves from a tree). The room had a good quality feel to it, with comfortable bed and pleasant bathroom.

Location-wise, it is close to Canberra Centre (a large shopping centre) and many government offices, so it is more convenient for many places than more upmarket Hyatt Canberra. The staff were friendly and helpful.

It represented a good value for money (I paid around $180 for one night), especially as Canberra hotel rooms can be quite expensive.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JM00321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

My family and I were in Canberra over the last weekend which happened to be at the same time as a car fesitval was on in Canberra. We had looked into a few options and everything seemed to be very pricey and the Crowne Plaza were very helpful when booking and we ended up booking a room that included breakfast for all of us, a movie and, to our girls delight, a stuffed toy for them when we got there. It was a lovely way to start the trip and we were even upgraded and enjoyed the larger room. On arrival, there seemed to be a number of cars, but I have nothing but praise for the way they handled it. There were two gents on the driveway as we arrived welcoming us and they made us feel at ease with the parking situation. It was a most enjoyable weekend, and even with the car show on we were able to have a relaxing and comfortable stay. We will definately return when in Canberra.

  • Liked — The staff and the rooms
  • Disliked — ...............
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank creedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#24 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Address: 1 Binara St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you'll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation's Capital and within walking distance of the city's best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 296 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we're pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing