We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Nearby Hotels
Burbury Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$128
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$121
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Peppers Gallery Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$152
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$119
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
QT Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$153
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$119
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$150
$144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,539)
Filter reviews
1,539 results
Traveler rating
405
697
312
81
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
697
312
81
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglebe parkpark viewredsalt restaurantred saltdesk areatwo double bedsnational convention centrecar parkroom serviceoutdoor poolbuffet breakfastcentral locationbit datedan upgradelong weekendper daywar memorial
Filter
Updating list...
1,051 - 1,056 of 1,539 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were thrilled with this Hotel, they couldn't do enough for you and everything was delightful. As part of a package deal for 12 days breakfast was included each day and was amazing, eggs of all kinds were cooked by various chefs, fresh fruit juice and commercial juices, A variety of cooked foods, cereals and a choice of toast or continental pastries with a staff that were delightful and efficient. Bed was really comfortable and room good, the Hotel was in fact the most memorable part of our Holiday. They gave us advice where to go for meals and how to get to various. A special deal on laundry was $10 per bag same day service.

Room Tip: I don't think it mattered, one side had a park view but air-con was quiet and easy to set to individual temp I had ours at 25, Lifts to all floors including dining area in basement.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Jean S,

Thank you so much for this very kind review. It is fantastic to read what a wonderful time you had in Canberra and to see that the facilities we provide and service from the team had such a great impact on your holiday.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

For all-around comfort and convenience, this is the best hotel in Canberra.
You will need a car to get around Canberra, where-ever you stay, The attractions are spread out - not too far - so rent a car at the airport (if flying in). That said, the Crowne Plaza is probably the best located, in that the major shopping centre is within walking distance. Entertainment, in the form of a casino and nightclub, are on premises. A great selection of restaurants are also, within walking distance. No other luxury hotel in Canberra can offer all of this.
What marked it down?
The rate paid was $291 AUD. Add on the daily parking fee of $18. If you want internet, add on $30. A very nice buffet breakfast for 2 adults was included in the rate. You decide whether this represents good value or not. For me, this rate was bordering on expensive for the accommodation standard. If you can get a rate of $250 or less with breakfast, it's looking better.
The accommodation standard was good. Not huge rooms, but perfectly serviceable.
Staff are helpful. They are knowledgable and have vouchers for various attractions around Canberra - just ask them.
Take note: The pool is outside. If you have ever experienced a Canberra winter, you know you won't be swimming!
On this visit, the signage indicated the pool would be open between the hours of 8am till 6pm. However, the doors opening out to the pool were locked. There were plenty of leaves floating in the pool - looked like it hadn't been cleaned in the past week. My guess was, that the pool had been closed for the season, yet there was no signage to indicate this.
My children were actually very impressed by the hotel. Service was kid-friendly, with activity packs handed out to them at check-in, and at breakfast. At the end of the day, if my children like it, and have fun, I'm happy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear thedjlee,

Thank you for your very positive review. I’m really pleased to get your feedback and have noted the value perception as well as the attention to detail elements that we can improve on.
Overall it is very rewarding to read your comments and I do hope you will see the results of our continuous improvement efforts on a future visit.
I also have children and identify wholeheartedly with your sentiment here.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Another great Secret Deal. The staff were very efficient and friendly and we were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room. Very well appointed. Our room didn't have a great view, but then we weren't there during daylight. The staff in the bar were on the ball and knew about their product. For a Saturday night though, we thought they closed a little early. There wasn't an open convenience store nearby - typical Canberra. But we loved the room!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room over the bar area. The music can resonate up to the rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Trisha D

Thank you for your review. It is extremely rewarding to receive such positive feedback and I am thrilled that we were able to create such a positive impression. We look forward to welcoming you back to Canberra for a future stay.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Have stayed at the Crowne Plaza several times over the years. The rooms are very clean with nice bathroom (although the bath is a bit shallow) and good beds and block-out blinds. We also like the rooms with the view over Glebe Park. There is a Gym, pool, restaurant, bar, Day-Spa, etc. This hotel has everything you would expect of a 4 Star chain hotel. Some might also find the direct access to the casino an asset.

One of the hotel's appeals is its proximity to the many options available in Civic, Canberra's city centre. We have rarely eaten at the hotel as there are many dining options within a short walk. I'd suggest heading to Garema Place straight up the City Walk from directly opposite the hotel entrance. (For Italian try La Scala and for a nice take on Sri Lankan try the Banana Leaf). There are also a range of "nightclubs" and pubs/bars to choose from, and for the shoppers you can walk to Civic and the Canberra Centre. The Canberra Theatre and cinemas are also walkable. Glebe Park right next to the hotel is very pleasant.

If you haven't been to Canberra before, I'd also suggest going over to Manuka for coffee, lunch or dinner, with plenty of alfresco options available.

The hotel is only a short drive over to Parliament House, the Art Gallery, Questicon etc.

Parking is available at the hotel for an extra fee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzSooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear OzSooty,

Thank you for your review.
I am really pleased that the staff and facilites supported our great location and that you have experienced such a high level of consistent service over the time staying with us.
Thankyou for choosing us, we will continue to work to earn your choice ongoing.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

When visiting Canberra, you will always find me staying at the Crowne Plaza Canberra. Very comfortable rooms, new creation in the lobby that makes it very useful for a casual meeting or those important business meetings - very innovative. The hotel staff provide a very high level of service and always make you feel very welcoming, nothing is too difficult for them and they have such a great can do attitude! The location is perfect, a short stroll up to some great shopping and/or restaurants. If you do not stay there you are really missing out...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Stephen M,

Thank you so much for your very kind review and for choosing us for your regulalr trips to Canberra. I'm thrilled that the new foyer layout appealed, we did indeed design it specifically to appeal to our regulars both on a business and leisure level.
We are very grateful to have regular guests that are willing to give us timely feedback and assure you of our ongoing improvement efforts. I do hope you will continue to see changes that add value to your stay and allow you to continue choosing us when in Canberra.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews