We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday in Canberra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were thrilled with this Hotel, they couldn't do enough for you and everything was delightful. As part of a package deal for 12 days breakfast was included each day and was amazing, eggs of all kinds were cooked by various chefs, fresh fruit juice and commercial juices, A variety of cooked foods, cereals and a choice of toast or continental pastries with a staff that were delightful and efficient. Bed was really comfortable and room good, the Hotel was in fact the most memorable part of our Holiday. They gave us advice where to go for meals and how to get to various. A special deal on laundry was $10 per bag same day service.

Room Tip: I don't think it mattered, one side had a park view but air-con was quiet and easy to set to ind...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Jean S,

Thank you so much for this very kind review. It is fantastic to read what a wonderful time you had in Canberra and to see that the facilities we provide and service from the team had such a great impact on your holiday.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

928 - 934 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

For all-around comfort and convenience, this is the best hotel in Canberra.
You will need a car to get around Canberra, where-ever you stay, The attractions are spread out - not too far - so rent a car at the airport (if flying in). That said, the Crowne Plaza is probably the best located, in that the major shopping centre is within walking distance. Entertainment, in the form of a casino and nightclub, are on premises. A great selection of restaurants are also, within walking distance. No other luxury hotel in Canberra can offer all of this.
What marked it down?
The rate paid was $291 AUD. Add on the daily parking fee of $18. If you want internet, add on $30. A very nice buffet breakfast for 2 adults was included in the rate. You decide whether this represents good value or not. For me, this rate was bordering on expensive for the accommodation standard. If you can get a rate of $250 or less with breakfast, it's looking better.
The accommodation standard was good. Not huge rooms, but perfectly serviceable.
Staff are helpful. They are knowledgable and have vouchers for various attractions around Canberra - just ask them.
Take note: The pool is outside. If you have ever experienced a Canberra winter, you know you won't be swimming!
On this visit, the signage indicated the pool would be open between the hours of 8am till 6pm. However, the doors opening out to the pool were locked. There were plenty of leaves floating in the pool - looked like it hadn't been cleaned in the past week. My guess was, that the pool had been closed for the season, yet there was no signage to indicate this.
My children were actually very impressed by the hotel. Service was kid-friendly, with activity packs handed out to them at check-in, and at breakfast. At the end of the day, if my children like it, and have fun, I'm happy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear thedjlee,

Thank you for your very positive review. I’m really pleased to get your feedback and have noted the value perception as well as the attention to detail elements that we can improve on.
Overall it is very rewarding to read your comments and I do hope you will see the results of our continuous improvement efforts on a future visit.
I also have children and identify wholeheartedly with your sentiment here.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Another great Secret Deal. The staff were very efficient and friendly and we were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room. Very well appointed. Our room didn't have a great view, but then we weren't there during daylight. The staff in the bar were on the ball and knew about their product. For a Saturday night though, we thought they closed a little early. There wasn't an open convenience store nearby - typical Canberra. But we loved the room!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room over the bar area. The music can resonate up to the rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Trisha D

Thank you for your review. It is extremely rewarding to receive such positive feedback and I am thrilled that we were able to create such a positive impression. We look forward to welcoming you back to Canberra for a future stay.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Have stayed at the Crowne Plaza several times over the years. The rooms are very clean with nice bathroom (although the bath is a bit shallow) and good beds and block-out blinds. We also like the rooms with the view over Glebe Park. There is a Gym, pool, restaurant, bar, Day-Spa, etc. This hotel has everything you would expect of a 4 Star chain hotel. Some might also find the direct access to the casino an asset.

One of the hotel's appeals is its proximity to the many options available in Civic, Canberra's city centre. We have rarely eaten at the hotel as there are many dining options within a short walk. I'd suggest heading to Garema Place straight up the City Walk from directly opposite the hotel entrance. (For Italian try La Scala and for a nice take on Sri Lankan try the Banana Leaf). There are also a range of "nightclubs" and pubs/bars to choose from, and for the shoppers you can walk to Civic and the Canberra Centre. The Canberra Theatre and cinemas are also walkable. Glebe Park right next to the hotel is very pleasant.

If you haven't been to Canberra before, I'd also suggest going over to Manuka for coffee, lunch or dinner, with plenty of alfresco options available.

The hotel is only a short drive over to Parliament House, the Art Gallery, Questicon etc.

Parking is available at the hotel for an extra fee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzSooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear OzSooty,

Thank you for your review.
I am really pleased that the staff and facilites supported our great location and that you have experienced such a high level of consistent service over the time staying with us.
Thankyou for choosing us, we will continue to work to earn your choice ongoing.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

When visiting Canberra, you will always find me staying at the Crowne Plaza Canberra. Very comfortable rooms, new creation in the lobby that makes it very useful for a casual meeting or those important business meetings - very innovative. The hotel staff provide a very high level of service and always make you feel very welcoming, nothing is too difficult for them and they have such a great can do attitude! The location is perfect, a short stroll up to some great shopping and/or restaurants. If you do not stay there you are really missing out...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Stephen M,

Thank you so much for your very kind review and for choosing us for your regulalr trips to Canberra. I'm thrilled that the new foyer layout appealed, we did indeed design it specifically to appeal to our regulars both on a business and leisure level.
We are very grateful to have regular guests that are willing to give us timely feedback and assure you of our ongoing improvement efforts. I do hope you will continue to see changes that add value to your stay and allow you to continue choosing us when in Canberra.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Convenient location for most places of interest. Many within walking distance.

Professional and helpful staff. Good choice at breakfast, even for vegetarians. Well equipped and clean room though a trifle small for a protracted stay with a lot of luggage.

Central Canberra is a bit dismal and the restaurants aren't up to much, especially if you are a vegetarian. However, the museums and the War Memorial make Canberra worth a visit even if the city itself is a bit like a very poor man's Milton Keynes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear BP,

Thank you for your review. I'm very pleased that the team helped you get the most out of your stay and thrilled that the vegetarian options at breakfast suited your tastes.
Canberra does have a tremendous amount to offer visitors, including good eateries and for a future visit I feel sure we can suggest some choices to broaden the dining options so to speak and add value for you. After a day visiting the wonderful cultural centres we have, a great meal is a must!
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Checked in here for a week. I've stayed here two other times and I must say the service is getting poorer each time. Our room was booked with breakfast included, got there and was told by the front desk it wasn't. When I check out, I got told breakfast was included. Feel like me an my partner were ripped off as we paid for breakfast in the resturant and across the street.

The room air-conditioning wasn't working tried turning it down several times to 19 degrees and the room was still over 26 degrees for five days, basiclly the air-conditioning did work at all. Plus it was stuffy. Then there is the job site across the road, where work started at 6:45 each morning. Trucks arriving, unloading goods, tradies banging and jack hammering.

And sorry to have a rant. Went to the gym Sunday afternoon, nobody there. No instructions where to find a towel. As per the instructions that said 'use a towel to wipe down equipment after use'. Lucky somebody told me where to find them down the back of the gym in a locked cupboard.

Finally, the toilet see was cracked...

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Gazza2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Gazza2810,

Thank you for your review. I share your dissappointment with the frustrtaions you've listed here and we are looking into the detail to try and discover how these inconsistencies crept into your experience. I look forward to the chance to discuss this with you to get some more detail to assist our improvement efforts.
Thank you for your feedback also about the pool towels, this is nopt clear when the gym is unmanned and we can improve this. In regard o the reservation and AC issues, these are by no means the norm and I feel sure we can get to the bottom of how they happened so they do not re-occur with other guests.
Thankyou for your feedback. I look forward to the chance to discuss your stay and hope following that that we may be able to welcome you back for a future visit.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3,278 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 58 in Canberra
1,352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
1,550 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Address: 1 Binara St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $122 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you'll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation's Capital and within walking distance of the city's best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 296 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we're pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing