We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Conferences and Shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location to the shops and next door to Conference Centre and Casino.
Staff friendly. Room a little different in configuration than most hotels but works well.Bed is large and very comfortable! Air conditioning in our room had a tapping noise so had to turn it off through the night however maintenance did try and fix this the next day. Fortunately the room had opening windows. The bathroom is adequate but really quite dated. Shower curtains, non slip mat in bath, didn't invite me into having a bath, don't worry, still showered. At present there is construction around the hotel and nearby, this is very noisy in the early morning and certainly disturbs sleep. There is only one lift to the car park and sometimes when waiting on higher floors, seems impossible to get that particular lift. There are other lifts but don't go to car park. This was very frustrating at times and everyone I spoke to was just as annoyed as I was. Seems to be a problem! The gym is excellent and well equipped. The pool is tired, small and uninviting. Wifi is needed to be upgraded here.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDebW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear SunnyDebW,

Thank you for your feedback and review.
While we do have some physical works planned this year, we are really grateful for all your feedback and will work to improve the areas we can impact immediately with a view to creating a better experience when you next visit.
Our location is fantastic and with the lovely park next door our goal is to bridge the gaps you mention to create the preferred acommodation in town.

Thanks again and I hope we'll be able to welcome you back on a future stay.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

968 - 974 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Crowne Plaza was close to attractions and transport. Our room was comfortable but basic, the bathrooms had not been renovated for some time. The out look on the park was pleasant and the public areas adequate but without any finesse. In a similar manner to my last Crowne Plaza stay it had a feeling more like a Holiday Inn. Check in was perfunctory and rather dismissive, other staff were more friendly at the bar and restaurant. Breakfast was OK but could be slow in replenishing items on the buffet. There are few luxury hotels in Canberra so I would stay here again as it represented reasonable value but it was a standard chain hotel experience. Walked at night to a wonderful restaurant called Sage which the concierge offered to get us a taxi to but we felt like stretching our legs. We were told the next day by a bus driver not to walk in that part of town at night and did hear some altercations on the way home at 11:30 pm, so even though close to the hotel it might have been better for the Concierge to recommend that we take a cab back to the hotel in the dark.

Room Tip: Park view was nice, the other rooms will look into buildings across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossY415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Ross Y,

Thank you for the feedback. It seems we've met the remit at a core level, but our goal is certainly to meet our guests needs at the highest elebel and we will continue to strive toward this.
I'm sorry the bus drivers comment caused you concern after what was, I'm sure a beautiful meal. While there is an element of alarmist in the drivers comment (I think) the better safe than sorry approach is sensible and we'll adjust our advice accordingly.
I'm pleased you felt you received decent value and hope that on future stay we can impact you more favourably with our goal level of service.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great central location, friendly front desk, helpful information desk
rooms spacious, beds comfortable
Sl dated decor in rooms, Bathroom needed an upgrade
Terrible video/tv in room, took 20 minutes to come on
(No help from maintenence)
Cutlery in room not cleaned properly!!
High quality in- room evening meal, Breakfast not so!!
Pool area looks quite dated and small, well equipped gym

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robjon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear robjon64,

Thanks so much for your review, obviously there are a couple of areas you have identified where we can do better and we appreciate the feedback. We do have plans for some hard product refurbishment and in the meantime re really focussed to ensure our service experience is at the highest level.
Despite the couple of gaps I'm thrilled your experience was at a high level overall.

Many Thanks
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for business. Arrived on a holiday to celebrate 100 years of Canberra. Hotel is large, clean and well equipped. Rooms are great size. Beds comfortable. Staff very professional. Breakfast ok but nothing special. Pool area very tired and small. Bar staff very good. Location central and thus good for business. Canberra however, well that is a different story. A most depressing soulless city......nowhere to eat after 9pm (we regretted going out and should have stayed at the hotel to eat).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear AandAW,

Thankyou for sharing your feedback. I'm pleased that the location, service and room product met your needs and thank you also for your feedback on the pool area. We have some improvement works for this area in the pipeline.
I do regret that we weren't able to impact your Canberra experience more positively overall as we have a genuine passion for Canberra and particularly in this celebratory year it is a great shame you found little to recommend or connect with. Perhaps a future visit may improve this outcome?

Thank you again. We hope to welcome you back for a future stay.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was surprised at how spacious and thoughtfully designed the rooms are, different to the usual hotel room which was nice to see. There is lots of room for bags and travelling stuff, the bathroom was modern and clean. There is a well equipped gym on the ground floor which is quiet, they also have a pool but it's salt water and not very big. The hotel is in a good location, making it easy to stroll around the shopping centre and restaurants. The concierge are really helpful and chatty! just a shame, like too many Australia hotels, they seem to be stuck in 1986 when it comes to internet access

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CF1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear KateLindos,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. Great to hear that you felt the location was supported well by the product and the service. Your feedback on internet is received loud and clear as well. We are spending a great deal of time and effort currently to identify the best way forward with this critical guest service.

Thankyou and we look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a nicely located hotel with park and tree views from most rooms. Quite spacious, but then it is an older hotel that has been rebadged (although the bathrooms show their age and the cupboards are the same as the ones when I stayed there regularly more than a decade ago when it was a Parkroyal). Good work desk and lighting, comfortable bed and enough pillows to drown in. A welcome package of nuts and mineral water for IHC Platinum members was handed over at check in, and all I had to do was show my card and the key was handed over. Very efficient. A working dinner saw adequate but unexciting food delivered by waiters who needed to be a bit more on the ball, and the wine list was very brief and lacked inspiration. The buffet breakfast was very ordinary, showing again a lack of inspiration and attention to detail. Usually I find Crowne Plaza breakfasts to be excellent, but not this one. There are several cafes close by proving much better and cheaper options.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the hotel facing the park have restful green views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeKayAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear DeeKay,

Thankyou for your review and a special thankyou for your ongoing loyalty to IHG and Crowne Plaza.
It was great to read your positive comments on the service experience and that the room suits your needs. Obviously I'm disappointed with your feedback about breakfast, as generally we receive very positive comment, however feel confident that our ongoing work for this crucial meal and the arrival of our new head chef and a fresh focus will produce some really positive change here in short order.
Thank you again for your loyalty. We look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My friend booked out a few rooms here for her wedding accommodation and i stayed here for two nights. I was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the room looks as I first walked in. It's a refurbished room with an interesting layout that maximizes space for a desk/media area that's as wide as the king size bed. It came in very handy for my husband who was able to do some work while I attended my friend's wedding. The bed was also comfortable enough for a good nights sleep.

The no frills nature of the hotel is obvious from The bathroom which has not been refurbished and is dated. While you can expect the basic amenities like shampoo etc, you'll have to call reception for a toothbrush. To give them credit, they were fairly quick with the request and came up in 10 minutes or so. The toilet paper, though seemingly minor, is probably their biggest sign of a no frills hotel.

My friend who booked a suite for herself did not get much better quality for her buck. Her suite has a good size lounge but the bedroom was similar to my standard room (plus a balcony). It also comes with a kitchen plus a dated bathroom just like mine.

Room service would be my biggest gripe. As we arrived late Friday night and there was no food places within sight just outside of the lobby, we ordered some spaghetti bolognese which I thought would be a decent snack for 2 at $18. When it arrived 45 mins later, I would have definitely picked a microwaved meal over it. The spaghetti was dry and the sauce was sour. The garlic toasts came without the garlic and they didn't even bother to give some butter. And the lady who brought the food up couldn't stop telling us how much she likes 'sex and the city' which I had showing on tv in the background. If only they spend as much enthusiasm on my food...

The hotel is attached to the Crowne casino which gets quite busy on a Saturday night. Everything else is abt 10-15 mins walk away.

While it has been a passable two nights, I wouldn't stay here again. Would pick Novotel for a similar no frills hotel or the Clifton's or Hyatt for a more comfy stay.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Coco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Coco C,

Thank you for your review.
Our goal is certainly to be rated higher than "no frills" and I'm disappointed that we failed to impact your stay more positively. We try very hard to create impact through service and while acknowledging that elements of our product are not brand new we have found that service is generally what matters more and where we can have the most success in creating a great guest experience.
Thankyou for your feedback about the room service food, this is not to our standards either and we have ensured the appropriate follow up is taken It is a shame that our teams attempt at genuine interaction was seen as misguided as a result of the product not being at the right level.
I do hope the positives you experienced may entice you to try us again as I feel sure that our service levels generally have greater impact on our guests and support our great location well toward a fantastic Canberra experience.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3,294 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 58 in Canberra
1,369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
1,600 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Address: 1 Binara St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $110 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you'll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation's Capital and within walking distance of the city's best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 296 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we're pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing