We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Crowne, maybe attached to the Casino, but one can ignore that as it is via a footbridge and around the back. It is a good 4-5 star hotel with parking (additional $18) but in a walk to almost everything location.

Typical 5 star has in house dining, restaurant, King size beds (in some rooms). Service is excellent. Pretty hard to fault.

Room Tip: The higher the better - facing outwards. It the budget doesn't stretch to the higher rooms - fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear sbadert,

Thank you for your review. Ou rlocation is often commented on and I'm glad it worked well or you. More pleasing are yopu wonderful comments on the service received, thank you.
We appreciate you choosing us and do hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back on future trips to the Nations Capital.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,003 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great staff and a brilliant location that allows you to walk to central Canberra. Rooms are a good size and whilst a bit dated it had everything you could need. Breakfast is very good quality and range. Nothing to complain about here - will be back.

Join the Club Rewards program before you book. It is free and will give you perks like late checkout and express check in. If you are lucky, as I was, you will get a free room upgrade.

Room Tip: Park view is nice and better to get the end of the hotel away from the Casino just in-case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear ozziemale1964,

Thank you for your review. It was particularly pleasing to read your comments about value from our loyalty program. Our Priority Clubv guests are an absolute focus at all times and we strive to ensure we are delivering value in return for these regular guest loyalty. Thank you for joining and for choosing Crowne Plaza Canberra. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really liked this hotel. It's a good, reliable hotel in a great location with windows that open to get fresh air. It looks like they ran out of money when they refurbished the room as the bathrooms are only half refurbished, but that was no big deal. The bathrooms are just a bit dated, but very practical and serviceable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear MandM27,

Thank you for your review. Great to read that the location and facilties suited your needs and that you have experienced good consistent service. We are continuing our refurbishment efforts and I do hope you will enjoy the new elements as they are completed through 2013.

Thankyou again.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had 2 nights at the crown plaza hotel in Canberra as part our tour around the southern part of Australia. This was by far the best hotel we stayed in and the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Whilst we only had breakfast in the hotel it was very good and reasonable value comapered to a number of other hotels we stayed at. The hotel was very clean and modern and in a good location which was very well located for central Canberra. There was a great walk around Great Burley Griffin Lake and the War Memorial is a 15 minute walk away and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertieBasset1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear BertieBasset1957,

Thank you for your review and for the wonderful recommendation. High praise indeed and we are really thrilled to have been able to impact your stay so positively. This is absolutely our goal.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we arrived they greeted us with bottles of cold water. We'd just travelled from Sydney on THAT day when temperatures reached 48 degrees (Friday 18/1/2013) so the water was gratefully received. They were very welcoming and as we're with Priority Privilege there were extras like packets of snacks and late checkout.
The room was quiet, complete with blockout blinds, a comfortable bed, lots of pillows and a good sized bathroom, Nice view over the park.
I'm not into walking but this hotel was within walking distance of the shops even for me. The casino is right next door.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCD2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear RCD2012_12,

Thank you for your review. "That Day" was tremendously hard on anyone travelling and I'm thrilled we were able to provide some relief when you arrived. We try very hard to find opportunities to deliver the best guest experience to support our great location and I'm really pleased to read of the impact our efforts had on your stay.
Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here on a package rate through hotel website - "Toulouse Lautrec" exhibition at National Gallery. Package included king size bed, parking and two "untimed" tickets costing $50 to the exhibition. Great value IMO.
Was upgraded to a park-view at check in (Priority Club Gold Member).
Room was very clean and well kept but bathroom in need of modernisation.
Hotel check-in staff and concierge extremely friendly and helpful. Check-out time of 11am very convenient.

Hotel in a great position adjacent to Casino and walking distance to cafes, restaurants and pubs. Large shopping mall with everything from ALDI, Myers, David Jones etc to BOSS across the road.

Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandmshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear mandmshow,

Thank you for your review. I'm thrilled that the location suited your needs, you felt you received great value and of course that your wonderful loyalty through our Priority Club program was recognisd by the team.
Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Canberra and our other Crowne Plaza hotels.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Great refurbished hotel at a good price purchased on their site. Very honest and sincere service from all staff I met. Rooms are well fitted out and work space in room is a good touch. Location spot on and walking distance to good shops. Definitely recommend this hotel for business travelers and couples.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear VrisTravel01,

Thankyou so much for your recommendation. Personal recommendations based on first hand experience are the very best way to promote anything, and we are very grateful to you for taking the time to share your experience.
We look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3,297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 58 in Canberra
1,371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
1,602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Address: 1 Binara St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $111 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you'll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation's Capital and within walking distance of the city's best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 296 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we're pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing