We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Nearby Hotels
QT Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$163
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$149
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Peppers Gallery Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$92
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$100
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$181
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$133
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$112
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$956
$928
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,557)
Filter reviews
1,557 results
Traveler rating
409
708
315
81
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
708
315
81
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglebe parkpark viewredsalt restaurantred saltdesk areatwo double bedsnational convention centreroom servicebuffet breakfastcentral locationbit datedan upgradean updatelong weekendper daywar memorialcomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,125 - 1,130 of 1,557 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we arrived they greeted us with bottles of cold water. We'd just travelled from Sydney on THAT day when temperatures reached 48 degrees (Friday 18/1/2013) so the water was gratefully received. They were very welcoming and as we're with Priority Privilege there were extras like packets of snacks and late checkout.
The room was quiet, complete with blockout blinds, a comfortable bed, lots of pillows and a good sized bathroom, Nice view over the park.
I'm not into walking but this hotel was within walking distance of the shops even for me. The casino is right next door.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCD2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear RCD2012_12,

Thank you for your review. "That Day" was tremendously hard on anyone travelling and I'm thrilled we were able to provide some relief when you arrived. We try very hard to find opportunities to deliver the best guest experience to support our great location and I'm really pleased to read of the impact our efforts had on your stay.
Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here on a package rate through hotel website - "Toulouse Lautrec" exhibition at National Gallery. Package included king size bed, parking and two "untimed" tickets costing $50 to the exhibition. Great value IMO.
Was upgraded to a park-view at check in (Priority Club Gold Member).
Room was very clean and well kept but bathroom in need of modernisation.
Hotel check-in staff and concierge extremely friendly and helpful. Check-out time of 11am very convenient.

Hotel in a great position adjacent to Casino and walking distance to cafes, restaurants and pubs. Large shopping mall with everything from ALDI, Myers, David Jones etc to BOSS across the road.

Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandmshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear mandmshow,

Thank you for your review. I'm thrilled that the location suited your needs, you felt you received great value and of course that your wonderful loyalty through our Priority Club program was recognisd by the team.
Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Canberra and our other Crowne Plaza hotels.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Great refurbished hotel at a good price purchased on their site. Very honest and sincere service from all staff I met. Rooms are well fitted out and work space in room is a good touch. Location spot on and walking distance to good shops. Definitely recommend this hotel for business travelers and couples.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear VrisTravel01,

Thankyou so much for your recommendation. Personal recommendations based on first hand experience are the very best way to promote anything, and we are very grateful to you for taking the time to share your experience.
We look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel is easy to find and it is very close to government buildings and shopping mall. Hotel room was clean but bathrooms should need a renovation. They look quite tired. From room I had good view to the park. Hotel has also a gymnasium with sauna and outdoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RST50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear RST50,

Thank you for your review. I'm thrilled tat our excellent location helped you enjoy Canberra. We receive a great deal of positive feedback from guests who find us the perfect base for the attractions and business hubs. I'm pleased to advise that we are currently in the planning stages toward an upgrade of our bathrooms. Of course we try to ensure they are immaculately presented always and will hopefully be able to complete a refresh of the physical product this year.
Thank you again , we look forward to welcoming you back to Canberra and the Crowne Plaza.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I travel lots (in Australia and overseas) and I can honestly say that during the two nights I spent at the crown plaza at the start of this year I experienced the friendliest and most helpful staff I have just about anywhere. The only reason that I dont say they provide the best service of any hotel in the world is that I have stayed in Dubai.
Well done Crown Plaza. Only place I will ever stay in Canberra.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Glen255060,

Thank you so very much. We are thrilled to have created such a great impact. This is absolutely our goal and we look forward to welcoming you in similar style on all your future visits.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews