We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Soju Girl - CLOSED

Soju Girl
Price range: $5 - $53
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Temporarily closed.
Mallacoota, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was one of the few times I had entree and main. Stuffed zucchini flower with soy mirin. Yum!
Hubby had pork belly, melt in your mouth! The mains we shared between 4 and they were very tasty with a beautiful salad piled on top of each. I liked that the salad was full of tasty greens including bay leaf, Thai basil and coriander instead of the usual tomato, lettuce etc.
We were served by happy, enthusiastic staff which made the experience even better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsyprincess014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    61
    23
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yarra Junction, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Evening!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Seven of us went to Soju Girl to celebrate a birthday last Saturday. What a terrific find. On arrival some of the group were already enjoying a drink at the bar while waiting to move to our booked table in the dining section, they were already impressed!

The move to our table went smoothly. Staff checked the drinks situation, gave us the menus and explained the shared plates idea. After a brief look we took up the offer that the staff would select the number and choice of dishes needed, but would include a couple we'd requested. This proved a good option for a first visit as we were unsure of the size of the meals.

The selection didn't disappoint. Smalls of swordfish, pork belly, scallops, two of each, plus delightful spring rolls. Then followed three large plates with complimentary rice.The beef cheek was cooked to perfection, everyone's favorite! We also had the sirloin and fish of the day.The latter dish didn't seem to have the balance of flavors found in the other dishes. By this stage we were all feeling quite satisfied but on seeing the dessert menu we opted to order a chocolate fondant and the coconut pannacotta, with several spoons! What a lovely surprise, original and extremely tasty dishes.

All in all a very pleasant evening. Lovely food, attentive but not pushy staff, pleasant surroundings and all at a very reasonable price. We'll certainly try to revisit on our next time in Canberra.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pefdrobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go girl!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This place is just wow, wow, wow. The food is great modern Australia/Asian. Can be a bit noisy but that's just good for the atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, NSW
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great dining experience”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here on a Saturday night. You definitely have to book - it was very busy. You can either have the 6pm or 8pm sitting. We opted for the later time. There were 4 of us and I think it's best to go in a group. They have lots of different tasting plates and we chose 8 dishes to share. The food was exciting and a bit different. There were also delicious desserts! They have wine, beer and cocktails. We had a great night and would recommend Soju Girl.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NSWChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
421 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Definitely share the food”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

There were 6 of us who shared 3 smalls and 1 main. That was plenty! The one who didnt share ended up paying more than we did and got bored of her meal.
I would definitely come again. The eggplant stuffed with mince was great and the pork belly was so good! There were 6 pieces of everything which many resturants dont offer so it really worked out.

Helpful?
Thank ivana-banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soju Girl also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Kingston, Canberra
Curtin, Canberra
 
Belconnen, Canberra
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing