We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise!”

Soi VIII Thai on Griffith
Ranked #232 of 1,388 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I was a first timer, and stumbled on this restaurant by mistake, however it will not be a mistake when I return! The food was great both in presentation and taste and I was pleasantly surprised with the price as well. We had a mixed entree, 2 Mains and rice for $50. The presentation was fantastic and the service couldn't be faulted. I'll be back !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Impreza08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Tasty and reliable”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very flavourful. Many recommendations from friends and had to try it out. It is a BYO place and not overly fancy but the staff are friendly and the food is tasty. Want to go back with more people to try the whole menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TristanEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Felt like I was back in Thailand!
Authentic flavours. True Thai spice not mild imitations. Plates bursting with fresh colourful vegetables and garnish. Despite being a full house the staff managed seamlessly.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Thai restaurant”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Located in the small leafy Griffith shopping centre, Soi VIII is a nice, inexpensive Thai restaurant with a reasonably varied and authentic menu. Parking in the area is free and it never seems to be particularly crowded. Soi VIII is BYO, which also helps keep the price of lunch or dinner quite low. The only downside is the strange failure of the place to open on time. Recently 6 of us decided to meet there for lunch, but after arriving at noon - the advertised opening time - and waiting for 10 minutes for someone to appear, we went elsewhere. The same thing happened a few months ago - which is a pity because the food is quite good and the place is frequently empty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KymBergmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Highlands, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Refreshing take on Thai”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been eating at Soi Eight for a couple of years and have always found the food to be very good to excellent. Service is average, but you don't go to Asian Restaurants for 5 star service. The food is tasty, well presented, with good flavours. I especially like the Angel Prawns.
We have found it to be the best of those in the inner south of Canberra.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soi VIII Thai on Griffith also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Soi VIII Thai on Griffith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing