We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful breakfast”
Review of Urban Pantry

Urban Pantry
Ranked #200 of 1,389 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful breakfast”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This place was buzzing so we had to stop for breakfast. The meals were a tad expensive but they were cooked to perfection. The coffee was ordinary, and the waiter could not tell us what beans they were using, although after asking 3 times he finally told us they were a "home blend" that can be sourced from Melbourne, which didn't tell us a whole lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulesnAzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    143
    62
    32
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A good location doesn't automatically mean a good meal and coffee”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I went here for breakfast and walked out very disappointed. I expect a cafe with such a well known reputation in Canberra to at least serve good coffee. Mine was not enjoyable. My girlfriend didn't think hers was either. For breakfast I had poached eggs and toast. All I can say is I didn't finish my meal. Urban Pantry has a good location. Many people think because a place has a good location it means it serves good food and coffee. You couldn't be more wrong.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevvie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great location in Manuka ACT”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A very popular place to be, judging by the amount of customers that come an go.
Centrally located in Manuka. Good selection for all meals any time of day. Food is well prepared and fresh.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Attentive staff, great food, shows everyone cares. You can sit inside or out, but get there early fir lunch. Good effort from the entire crew.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank subbsonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good service, good food.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I enjoyed my dinner at Urban Pantry. The prices were a bit on the high side, but sitting outside enjoying a glass of wine with my meal it seemed worth it. I would be happy to visit again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rbbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Pantry also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Urban Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing