We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable night for a large family gathering”
Review of spicy ginger

spicy ginger
Ranked #718 of 1,376 Restaurants in Canberra
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: near australian national university
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“An enjoyable night for a large family gathering”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a large family gathering at Spicy Ginger and it was enjoyed by everyone. We chose the banquet and the food was well paced and all the dishes very tasty - some a little too sweet for my liking but the others in the group didn't seem bothered by that. The service was warm, friendly and attentive. The presentation of the food was also very good - lovely Asian plates etc. We have also had a Yum-Cha lunch here a few months ago and we also enjoyed it very much...not the range of food compared to other similar places, but we did like the feel of this smaller restaurant with large windows. It was nice looking outside to see trees etc. on a cool but sunny day. Parking can be a bit difficult in this area but there is a large multi-storey parking centre not far away. Spicy Ginger has a lovely busy buzz as it is very close to the University precinct. Many thanks to all the staff - a very enjoyable evening for our large family!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NotMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    11
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spicy by name and nature”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have been to Spicy Ginger three time now and each time myself and fellow diners have been very impressed. The restaurant is owned by a mother and son team and the floor staff are efficient and pleasant giving seamless service on the busiest of days (they remembered my name after the first visit and treat me like a long lost relative on each visit since, a nice feeling).
The food is a wonderful selection with the picture style menu being faithfully replicated on the plates presented to the table, the serves are generous and the food sublime with the Sichuan inspired dishes my favourites (the dish that translates to 'numb lips' deserves special praise and is easily large enough for 2 people to share....
Highly recommended ***** and is reasonably inexpensive with my average being around $23 per person

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillmeiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious - not your average Chinese food”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous Sichuan cuisine, range of heat from mild to very spicy, and fast, helpful service. It's not all just chllli - the cumin lamb and shredded pork fried rice are a must try. Ask for fried calamari - not on the menu but so tender and melts in your mouth. Open Tuesday to Sunday. Also has Yum Cha at lunch - another visit perhaps!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GizmoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tuesday after a long weekend and great food.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Very tasty food. Good service with helpful in food choice. Wine list a little average. Good service and nice food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMJphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
“Amazing food”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I recently went to Spicy Ginger with two friends, and I have to say the food was amazing; and there was so much. We ordered our meal using the online ordering system and it couldn't have been easier.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed spicy ginger also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to spicy ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing