We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we expected”
Review of Bambusa

Bambusa
Ranked #75 of 1,388 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opposite the Manuka Cinema
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were cruising looking for somewhere to eat and nothing took our fancy until we read the chefs specials at Bambusa. You MUST try the Imperial Chicken - absolutely delicious, one of the best chicken dishes we have ever tasted.
The restaurant was really quiet on a Sunday night - one group of 10 and a table of two plus us.
The service was terrific, the food was standard fare but the Imperial Chicken stole the show.
$9 corkage is a bit rich but at least we asked before we did it.
We would do it again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bbsydney96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    55
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“As good as ever.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Went with friends last night to try out William's new/old menu as he has gone back to a lot of the dishes he put on when he had Tim's. Lots of new ones to try and fell in love with the "Fluffy duck", it was divine. Once again the food is delicious and he still has old favourites on the menu including the stuffed eggplant with xo sauce which we love. Has been a while since we ate there but still got the same wonderful welcome from the owner. Food, service, wine list all great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slwityk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been here twice now and intend to dine with a larger party tonight. I found the food to be very good and the service excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place. Even welcomes prams.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We took a pram. Very helpful. Staff. Good service. Slightly better than food. We would go again. Go go go. You will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wooddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cheap cheerful lunch”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely restaurant for lunch, and some great lunch specials on weekdays.
The setting is lovely - dine inside for a more formal setting, or out the front for a casual al fresco meal.
Service was polite, cheerful and attentive.
And the food was fast, fresh and tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali-May-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bambusa also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Bambusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing