We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blu Ginger

Blu Ginger
Reserve with
Blu Ginger is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,330 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have been here a few times and it has always been good but for any of you who like to use the Entertainment Card so you can experience more great food, then don't bother going here. First they didnt bother putting the discount in, then they put discounted a few dollars and then we had to call the manager and complain and after calling us back days later, he only refunded another few dollars when it should have actually been about 25 dollars. Other than that it is good food, good service but if you want to have a conversation and catch up with ppl then dont bother coming here, way too noisey!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zac369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    133
    39
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belconnen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Succulent lamb cutlets and bony goat curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Last night I went with friends to Blu Ginger. It was my first time. I'd heard really good things about this Canberra restaurant and had been told it was one of the best Indian restaurants in town.

Last night for an entrée I had the Barrah Kebab which consists of three pieces of succulent baby lamb cutlets marinated in yoghurt, ginger and garlic with selected spices and broiled in tandoor. It really was succulent and I enjoyed it so much I wish there were more than three pieces.

For a main course I asked for the Goat Curry (medium heat) which is a tender goat on the bone cooked with North Indian recipe. The meat was tender but not exactly fall off the bone. There were certainly lots of bones which I guess is necessary to get all the flavour.

I ate this with rice and a plain naan. The curry juice was delicious in the rice and soaked into the naan.

I'd happily go back again to try something else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good meal, good atmosphere and great service. I had the E-Rani which I can recommend. The staff were exceptionally polite and very pleasant. It was a restaurant for all age groups and had something a bit different as well as what you'd expect form an Indian restaurant. The naan bread was light and fluffy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally07Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Prepare your stomach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I come here whenever we have a special occasion to celebrate, or any other time we can make up an excuse to go.

This is the best Indian restaurant in Canberra. It's definitely not one of those dirty-takeaway-on-a-Saturday-night type Indian restaurants. The food is amazing. It fills you up like few other things can. The sauces are thick and creamy. The meats are tender. The lunch banquets are great value and there's a good variety of food on offer. We've tried quite a few meals and none have been less than excellent. The staff can be a bit slow sometimes, but the wait is worth it.

Truly intrigued by the few poor reviews on here. This place doesn't ever seem to disappoint!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cifio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Always a great place to eat when visiting Canberra. Clean, tasty food with lots of gluten free options, in a large, busy room. Only trouble is that it can be difficult to park nearby.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roseserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Ginger also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Blu Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing