We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of Blu Ginger

Blu Ginger
Reserve with
Blu Ginger is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 1,368 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Canberra is blessed with a huge selection of excellent good value restaurants - unfortunately this is not one of them. Although the food was reasonable (although obviously heavily dosed with MSG, as sleepless nights attested), the service is appalling. It was VERY slow and the staff couldn't even get the basics right. Meals were all served at different times meaning that for the polite diners their food was cold by the time the other meals arrived. In addition, things that would be standard at almost all Indian restaurants such as pickles and chutneys are charged extra and very expensive. Fortunately there are at least five much better restaurants within two minutes walk. Do yourself a favour and try one of them instead.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msrmanne, Owner at Blu Ginger, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
hello sir /madam thank you for your feedback, we regret , you didn't have a good experience at blu ginger at recent visit. with the food we use only fresh produce ,local and imported spices, 100% vegetable oil and we DONT use any MSG, artificial flavours or thickeners . WE listen and learn from customer feed back and your feedback will help us to train our staff. we look forward to see you again and hopefully change your past experience with blu ginger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    144
    41
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Came here with a group of friends. Very hard to hear each other, so sort of made the reason for getting together to catch up a bit of a furphy. Food plentiful, but very salty, tandoori meats excruciatingly dry and dishes with sauce very heavy. Don't think I'll return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linbinpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

As an Indian i have never tasted such authentic food since leaving India. The curries were really good and so was the service we will defiantly be back

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

All of our dishes were wonderful! I have no complaints. We were on a 1.5 hr deadline to make the theatre and had plenty of time to enjoy Naan, entrees and a main and still make the show. Excellent service and great food. We plan to return!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa73_Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Complete Rip Off - Poor Service, Horrible food !”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This restaurant has some surprisingly good reviews here - so I am not sure if we were just unlucky. I went to the restaurant with a lot of expectation as it has been recommended here on Tripadvisor. But when we had dinner at Blu Ginger, what we got was mediocre Indian food that was horribly overpriced accompanied by the poorest service I ever had anywhere in Canberra.

To begin with we ordered two entrées which we received one after another with a gap of approximately 10mins. We ordered Goat Curry & Spinach Naan Breads for the mains as highly recommended by the wait staff. I wanted to have some raw onion, but I had been told that there could be only Onion Salad which would cost me $6. So I had to order the Onion Salad which we actually received when we were about to ask for the final cheque. Staff didn’t even notice the serviette placed on my plate and just walked off.

The goat curry we received was very salty and couldn’t even digest first bite. After addressing this issue with the wait staff, instead of any apologies and quick action, I had been told to wait as the staff wanted to check with Kitchen. I had been advised that the Kitchen will make a new curry but instead what we received for second time was the same curry with water added to it and 3 small pieces of meat. By that time the naan bread went almost cold.

There were again no apologies at any instance. The entire meal for us was a very poor imitation of the good Indian meals in other places and the experience was so bad that our Saturday evening had been spoiled,

A complete Rip off !! Being a local definitely would NOT recommend this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Ginger also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Blu Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing