We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Treat”
Review of Burbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Burbury Hotel
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton Beach
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Business Treat”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Lovely Hotel in Realm precinct. More quiet and 'Hotel' like than the Realm, which offers a fuller guest experience. However the Burburys room are newer, more stylish and comfortable. Could be improved by a little art work on the walls. But overall very good and comfortable for a business stay. Eat breakfast at Maple and Clove downstairs outside and walk to Manuka (5-10mins) for dinner.

Room Tip: North facing room. It is worth paying extra as the basic room is a little cramped for more than one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    302
    113
    42
    11
See reviews for
148
226
28
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Well located, with excellent parking underneath, friendly reception and in walking distance of parliament... hence the price. Rooms are clean, beds are great. Stope reading here. For some reason brevity is frowned upon by Trip Advisor and I am continuing to write because they want a 200 word minimum... which is quite silly since I have written all i feel I want to express about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluebull79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed one night on business and was pleasantly surprised with the Burbury offering.
On arrival my opinions was very reserved. The entrance is small and so is the lobby and the concierge service was missing....mmmm? There were a few people checking in and out so the lobby was a bustle of activity, with only one person on the desk. Once it was my turn to approach the desk my concerns were dispelled when I was welcomed by a very slick, professional and courteous attendant.

The hotel is modern and finished to a high standard. The interior design flows from the lobby to the hallways and into the rooms. The rooms are well apportioned and would provide a great room for a longer term stay.

Location wise I was great. I got up early and walked to Parliament House and surrounding buildings / monuments and parklands with ease before I had to get ready for work. It was a nice way to start the day. The hotel is located in a quiet part of town and offers a very safe, clean and central position for either the business or tourist traveller.

Will certainly stay again at the Burbury and hopefully this new hotel which has so much to offer just picks up on the finer offerings that a hotel of this standing should have for guest arrivals. The first experience and perception are very important to travellers and the Burbury nearly misses on this front. Certainly room for improvement!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalHorizonChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Ideal if you're doing business in the Parliamentary area, the Burbury is a 20 minute walk from Old Parliament House as an example. Very modern and very comfortbale. Decor is based on black and though that sounds odd it really works once you get used to walking down a very dark corridor to your room. Rooms are exceptionally comfortable and well appointed with all you need electronics wise. Staff really pleasant welcoming, and helpful. I shall return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonrock1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Burbury Hotel is in the Realm precinct with The Realm. It is located in Barton, 5-10min to everything!

It is a new 7 storey hotel with a light-dark theme which works well creating a funky, modern feel. The rooms are smaller than that of The Realm however they are newer and still spacious. The layout of the rooms are impressive, a little different from the older hotels and each room is equipped with Apple TV!

The Terrace restaurant on the 7th floor has amazing views of Canberra. The breakfast spread is very good and the coffee IS good.

The Burbury 2 bed apartment is fantastic! It is located at the adjacent Burbury Apartments building. It is finished with more "white" than the Burbury Hotel rooms. The layout, once again, is very impressive! And as with the hotel, the apartment is equipped with Apple TV. There are 3 TVs in the apartment, a fully functional kitchen, laundry room, 2 bath/toilet, lots of closet space, and a balcony.

The business centre, located at The Realm, is equipped with 3 Apple iMacs and a printer.

Ostani, one of the restaurants located at The Realm, is also a bar. They have tapas and wood fired pizza on the menu. They do take-away too.

Staff are very friendly, for both The Realm and Burbury Hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartments are not located in the hotel building, they are located next door at the Burbur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jho51e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed here before and enjoyed the room very much. The rooms are very modern with all the amenities. They have apple technology, but the bathroom is lacking good lighting to have a shave.

I went out for breakfast so I cannot comment on any in-house restaurants.

I enjoyed the stay and will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregP42_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was not happy about my one night stay at the Burbury. The room was very modern and spacious, but seemed to favour style over functionality. The decor is dark brown, which having reached the room via the black-walled corridor adds to the dismal and depressing air of the place. Furnishings are minimalistic - not even a comfortable armchair - just a 'stylish' small occasional chair, although the bed was large with good, soft pillows and fluffy doona. The bathroom sink was at the end of a recess with no natural light and just one downlight over the mirror. Impossible to put makeup on successfully in that light. Toiletries (unbranded) were hidden in a wardrobe next to the sink. I couldn't find any directory of facilities in the room, nor could I see a plan of the fire escape routes (which I thought was a legal requirement). The handles on the wardrobe doors were just a smooth strip of metal which were difficult to grip and would be impossible for anyone with poor gripping ability.

The bedside clock hadn't been adjusted for daylight savings (three days after the change) and was wrong anyway, so showed a time 75 minutes slow. The Apple TV system was excellent, but the information function for TV programs gave the information for the program showing one hour later. Small pile of hair and dust on the bathroom floor - Yuk! Oh...and the fridge was noisy so woke me during the night switching on and off.

The hotel has no room service, and the reception is closed overnight. So, motel-style service for $300 a night. Staff were cordial, but no effort to seem friendly or interested. The breakfast on the Level 7 'Terrace' was standard hotel fare (but with good self serve espresso coffee - a highlight), with most of the seating at either large communal-style tables or small bar tables/chairs unsuitable for eating a meal at.

My overall impression was that no-one really cares about the quality of service at this hotel, and just do the minimum.

I have stayed previously at the Realm Hotel across the road- the Burbury is part of the "Realm precinct' so obviously linked in some way. That was better, probably a more full - service offering.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,072 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,790 reviews
2.6 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,073 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burbury Hotel

Property: Burbury Hotel
Address: 1 Burbury Close | Barton, Canberra, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Burbury Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burbury Hotel & Apartments is contemporary and efficient in fit out. The 152 rooms, studios and apartments are furnished in the full array of superior in-room facilities and conceived for the corporate visitor and discerning traveller alike. Located on the footsteps of Parliament House and with hotel rooms, 1-2 bedroom studios and 1-2 bedroom apartments, Burbury's proximity to, and unique relationship with the Realm Precinct allows guests to partake in all of the amenities afforded by the 5 Star Hotel Realm. The Precinct offers a range of dining options, including French restaurant Buvette Bistro & Wine Bar, the casual Ostani Lounge, Bar & Restaurant, chef-hatted Japanese restaurant LiloTang, Cantonese fine-dining restaurant, The Chairman & Yip, and casual cafes Maple + Clove and Ritual, as well as a gym, spa, indoor pool, hairdresser and conferencing facilities, all with complimentary Wi-FI. The precinct also offers a state-of-the-art gym and day spa, opened in 2017. Hale Gym + Spa has the latest Technogym equipment and casual yoga, Pilates, spin and boxing classes. Hale Spa is Canberra's latest wellness destination, offering a sanctuary for the body and mind. With its own rooftop space, the Burbury Terrace is unlike any other function space in Canberra. Overlooking the Parliamentary Triangle, Canberra City and Lake Burley Griffin, the rooftop venue at the Burbury Hotel is private, exclusive and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing