We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and free wi fi”
Review of Burbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Burbury Hotel
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Have stayed in the Burbury several times on business. The hotel is relatively new. The beds are comfortable. Yes the decor is dark and very modern. Easy walking distance to restaurants in Manuka and Kingston. Restaurant and bar next door at the Realm if the weather is bad. Recommend the wagyu burger and pizzas. The selection on beer on tap is pretty good as well. Free wi fi in room a bonus. Convenient if have meetings in Barton.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 753 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

At first glance this looks like the hotel. But as they say appearances can be deceptive. The place is funky and furnished with modern trimmings. Latest electronic toys like apple tv and excited.
But the downside. Price. This was an expensive room. And then they charge parking. Kerching. Then $15 to use a treadmill. Kerching. Surprisingly the Internet was free.
On the plus side food was great and staff try hard and are very enthusiastic.
But cleanliness. Black carpet can be tricky BUT when we checked in the carpet had very obvious crumbs and dirt on te floor near the sofa. And it was still there the next day. Dust on te click radio. Urine stains on tiles around the toilet and I am feeling slightly uneasy. Good job I am not germophobic!
Place tried hard but needs to lift its game for me to come back. But heh, it was full (parliament was sitting) so perhaps I just got unlucky. But whatever you do with this drop the extra charges. They're just rude

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davefromdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at the Burbury one night in a studio room. Very funky looking with illuminated room numbers in the corridor and modern panelling decor. The room was nice with apple TV, comfy bed (although the pillows are far too big) and good shower. The lighting however is quite poor..in the bedroom and the bathroom, so much so that it's a little hard to see your own reflection in the mirror. The toilet and shower are separated from the basin by frosted glass, not full height to ceiling, so if you are staying with another person, the bathroom is not totally private. Quite pricey considering it doesn't include breakfast or access to the gym which is $15 per day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CassandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed two nights on a business trip. Reception was very good and keen to please.Well located with several restaurants nearby.The rooms are sparsely decorated (no paintings on the wall) but large and well equipped. Two TVs, one wih Apple TV. Fantastically comfortable bed and bedding. Great bathroom, balcony with views, good lighting and accessible power points. Washer/Dryer, microwave etc. Free internet too which is strangely rare in Australian hotels. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Recently stayed one night whilst travelling on business. The hotel resembles the Dakota chain in the UK. It certainly has the same interior decor themes. It was very dark inside with black walls and illuminated room numbers. The service was good, the hotel is new and everything is finished to a high standard. It was cheaper and better than the apartment hotels I've stayed in, in Canberra recently at $230 a night its not bad. They charge $15 to use the gym, which as a paying guest of the hotel I find unacceptable. The water pressure is poor, I had a lacklustre shower in the morning.
Breakfast was a continental or full buffet. What was there was of reasonable quality, albeit somewhat limited choice. At $31 for the breakfast I'd maybe head out to a local place for breakfast next time. I will go back but only if I don't find a better option in the meantime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KOM331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Second stay in the hotel. The first time was two days after opening; a lot of de-bugging at the time, but I thought the hotel had potential and was planning to come back.

This time, I stayed for one night only and was pleased that the potential was realised. Room was nice, clean, modern and very cosy. Seventh floor location gave me nice views. This time around, AppleTV worked quite well. Bathroom was modern (which means open and with a lot of glass walls), although I had to look closer to locate hand towels, toiletries, bathrobe and slippers.

Breakfast was good, not worse nor better than in a similar establishment.

One issue that I had was lighting. Although ambient lights are quite nice, a couple of times during my short stay I wished I had stronger central light. Perhaps a bigger issue, at least for me, was that the hotel does not have room service. When one needs to stay and work in the evening or does not feel like going out for dinner on a cold Canberra evening, this could be major inconvenience to say the least.

In the end, it felt great to walk into a pre-heated room on a cold evening – thanks guys!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bane11-57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Burbury for 1 night on a business trip and can't wait to revisit.
From the moment I arrived I was impressed. Welcoming service at the front desk who could not have been more eager to please.
The hotel is very new and very stylish.
My room was on level 3 and I loved everything about it from the exceptionally comfortable bed to the sparkling clean bathroom with the gorgeous opaque glass walls and extra strong water pressure.
The bed linen is superior to a lot of hotels and the pillows are lush. Larger than average flat screen TV with very easy to use apple TV system.
Loved the alarm clock with iPod dock for easy iPhone charging and the hair dryer was good quality.
Enjoyed a lovely breakfast on the 7th floor terrace, great selection and fresh.
This is now my hotel of choice in Canberra.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JpoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#12 of 59 in Canberra
1,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 59 in Canberra
1,913 reviews
1 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 59 in Canberra
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burbury Hotel

Address: 1 Burbury Close | Barton, Canberra, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $99 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Burbury Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burbury Hotel & Apartments is contemporary and efficient in fit out. The 152 rooms, studios and apartments are furnished in the full array of superior in-room facilities and conceived for the corporate visitor and discerning traveller alike. Located on the footsteps of Parliament House and with hotel rooms, 1-2 bedroom studios and 1-2 bedroom apartments, Burbury's proximity to, and unique relationship with the Realm Precinct allows guests to partake in all of the amenities afforded by the 5 Star Hotel Realm. The Precinct offers a range of dining options, including French restaurant Buvette Bistro & Wine Bar, the casual Ostani Lounge, Bar & Restaurant, chef-hatted Japanese restaurant LiloTang, Cantonese fine-dining restaurant, The Chairman & Yip, and casual cafes Maple + Clove and Ritual, as well as a gym, spa, indoor pool, hairdresser and conferencing facilities, all with complimentary Wi-FI. The precinct also offers a state-of-the-art gym and day spa, opened in 2017. Hale Gym + Spa has the latest Technogym equipment and casual yoga, Pilates, spin and boxing classes. Hale Spa is Canberra's latest wellness destination, offering a sanctuary for the body and mind. With its own rooftop space, the Burbury Terrace is unlike any other function space in Canberra. Overlooking the Parliamentary Triangle, Canberra City and Lake Burley Griffin, the rooftop venue at the Burbury Hotel is private, exclusive and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing