We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service food and value.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellacure Restaurant and Bar

Ellacure Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with
Ellacure Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #346 of 1,330 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service food and value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've eaten at many (and most!) brunch places in Canberra. This tops my list - excellent service, food and value. Their coffee is particularly good.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cblackaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    48
    18
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Over the past twelve months this has become a favourite for family celebrations. Relaxed, friendly and informal and with excellent food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WayneCCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local Foodie Wonder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Having recently moved from Melb, we were dubious about whether Canberra could live up to our established foodie palette. We dined on Thurs night and were well impressed. This was not what we had expected at all! The food and presentation was wonderful and the service cheeky casual but the staff knew their stuff, including the top end wine list. It is a little 'confused' in as much as the atmosphere is casual, but the food presentation was 5 star. The only downside (if you can call it that?) was that the food came out super fast which meant we knew that most of the dish was pre-prepared. As this is in walking distance from home, we are excited to know this is our new found regular local treat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KFoodieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We ate here on a Tuesday night with some friends who live locally. The place was packed.

The food was excellent but the best part was the staff and service. They knew their stuff inside out and were confident and familiar without being pushy.

The best dish was the sticky date pudding. My husband has eaten them all over the world (including the hotel where they were invented) and rated this one the best in the world...so far.

Great night. Will certainly be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theminxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
Level Contributor
178 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Northside's hidden treasure - better than some so called '5 star' restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The title may surprise you. Yes it's a big call but having experienced excellent cooking AND service, Ellacure is as good as you will get anywhere.

The menu, while limited, is excellent and has something that will suit just about everyone, The food is tasty and satisfying. The portions are just right - not too large or small.

Service is unobtrusive, wait staff were knowledgeable and very friendly.

Pricing is in the mid range - under $70 per head for a 3 course meal excluding alcohol (Dec 2012)

The overall Ellacure experience is excellent. It's to combination of good food, wine and service that makes it one of the best restaurants in Canberra.

Will be back there again without doubt.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellacure Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Bruce, Canberra
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Nicholls, Australian Capital Territory
Nicholls, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Ellacure Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing