We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canberra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Practically Lakeside B&B
Ranked #1 of 15 Canberra B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Every year we travel to Canberra for the NGA's summer exhibition and always stay in a hotel.
This year we decided to stay in a B&B so to TripAdvisor we went to search for a comfortable B&B.
Practically Lakeside is the best B&B we have stayed in, in all our year's of travel.
Situated near Lake Burley Griffin in beautiful Yarralumla the accommodation is part of Luba & Chris's home. Having said that we felt as if we were staying in our own home and not with someone else.
Tastefully furnished with exclusive access to a small dining room which had beautiful fresh flowers, port, chocolates, biscuits, a microwave, toaster, kettle, cutlery and crockery. This was great if you really didn't feel like dining out and just wanted to stay in and put your feet up after a busy day in Canberra.
Our room was very comfortable with Wi-fi access, latest new release videos, a great reading library, a very large comfy bed and a large spotlessly clean bathroom with everything one could want in including shampoo, conditioner, bathrobes etc etc.
Bikes are available to use, which we did as the bike track from the B&B into town and surrounding area is fantastic.
Breakfast was a feast. Luba's fruit platter was fabulous and Chris's bacon and eggs was cooked to perfection.
The B&B is only 5minutes drive to a small shopping centre with some great little restaurants.
Practically Lakeside B&B leaves all the Canberra hotels we have stayed in over the years for dead!
Can't wait for another exhibition so we have an excuse to go back to Canberra and when we do we will definitely be staying at Practically Lakeside B&B.
Thanks Luba and Chris for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Wow! What a recommendation! Thank you so much for that very comprehensive & complimentary review of Practically Lakeside B&B. We are sure that we attract the most wonderful people and you are indeed among the nicest and most interesting we have met so far. We hope that you have a wonderful time in South America and that you will return soon to tell us about your travels. Wishing you a wonderful time over the Christmas and New Year period with family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 102 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Delightful and extremely comfortable B&B run by very professional and friendly hosts Chris, Luba and Honeybelle (the cat) and located in a perfect spot for easily checking out all that Canberra has to offer. We spent four nights mid-week in November and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ_Caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of Practically Lakeside B&B. We are constantly amazed about the calibre of guests we have staying with us. Meeting considerate and interesting people likes you makes what we do a very pleasurable and rewarding experience. We hope that you will return to stay with us in the future and that you will use the bicycles on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

For our three nights in Canberra, for the first time in decades (that would be since primary school!) we had everything we could need from Luba and Chris at Practically Lakeside. Whilst the excellent weather was helpful, our visits to the galleries and the war memorial on the bikes supplied was ideal! The room itself was ample and perfectly climate controlled, no mean feat considering Canberra's nighttime temperature plunge. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, and there was even a host cat, Honey, and her boyfriend Ben floating around to add that essential feline delight, even if they weren't allowed in the room or on the bed! No higher recommendation for Practically Lakeside.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Canberra and were very comfortable @ Practically Lakeside B&B. Cycling around the city to restaurants, galleries and museums is an absolute joy and those who do this truly get a better appreciation of wonderful physical and cultural attributes that make Canberra unique. Most of our guests adore Honey & Benny and both cats are smart enough to stay away from people with allergies. We hope that you will return to Canberra soon and include the Jerrabomberra Wetlands, Arboretum and Botanic Gardens on your cycling tours as all offer plentiful inspiration for R’s creative endeavours. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We headed to Canberra for 4 nights to celebrate a birthday and to visit the nations capital for the first time. Our choice of Practically Lakeside was from reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.Spacious room and bathroom as well as a separate breakfast room which was also for our use at any time. Everything was thought of from chocolates,port and fresh flowers in the room to a selection of DVDs and free wireless internet. Comfy bed, electric blankets and a choice of doonas. Chris and Luba were excellent hosts and gave us lots of ideas of what to do ,where to go and how to get there. It is a perfect location to get to and around the city. Also was within walking distance to a small shopping centre with 3 restaurants to choose from.Breakfast was plentiful and lovely.What more could you need. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TVC424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

We really enjoyed meeting you both and were so pleased that you had such a great experience for your first visit to our wonderful city. We hope that J. has a equally marvellous time celebrating her special birthday in Melbourne later in the year. Hopefully, you return to Canberra some day and to see all the other superb things on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This little gem of a B&B is ideal for visitors to Canberra. As the name says, it's very near to the lake, in a quiet neighbourhood, and just 4km to the city area, but you felt like you were miles away. Bikes are available, and we used them to ride into the city along the lakeside bike trail. Perfect for visiting the National Gallery and other attractions. The room is large and airy, and Chris and Luba are very good hosts, with lots of local knowledge to share! Breakfast was great (we didn't go for the cooked option). We'd certainly stay there again, when visiting the capital.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review of Practically Lakeside B&B. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that your time in Moruya was productive as well as pleasurable too. We enjoyed our mini chats and thank K for her advice about the toxicity of lilies to animals. You may be interested in returning to Canberra for the NGA’s summer exhibition “Gold and the Incas: Lost worlds of Peru” (Dec-April). If so, we’d love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After a later-than-expected journey it was fantastic to be welcomed by Luba into this lovely room. We were immediately able to relax in the luxury of the warm, comfortable and spacious surroundings and enjoyed a lovely shower in the large well-appointed bathroom. The ample and delicious breakfast really set us up for a great day.

The small touches- flowers DVDs and chocolate, trees and garden around, all added to a wonderful stay in a quiet location which proved really convenient for everything we wanted to visit .

Thanks Chris and Luba for your hospitalityand great local knowledge which really enhanced the stay.
We'd certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

How refreshing it is to meet people who value the wonderful cultural venues and other attributes that are unique to Canberra. It was a delight to chat with you about art, music, films and cycling. We hope you can return to Canberra to hear “The Voices of the Forest.” Thanks for restoring our faith in what we do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great location and the free bikes were a bonus. Hosts were a little intrusive and there were a lot of don'ts signage which made one feel like children being given boundaries before we were given a chance to show we are very caring for other's-property-guests. Another comment writes about the 'chef' Chris well Chris could learn how to cook bacon which was almost a cinder both mornings - once bad luck but twice!!. Other than that the prepared breakfast was tops. The free Wi-Fi was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Feedback is important to us and we endeavour to take on board constructive criticism and to make improvements where necessary.
Two days prior to arrival, the guests requested a change to the booking so that they could arrival a day early. We accommodated this change and confirmed the change by email. The guests arrived two hours before the check-in time, telephoning us to say that they were already outside our home and asked to use the bikes. We happily obliged and requested that they sign a waiver to say that they take full responsibility for any accident/damage that may occur. The relatively new bikes (2.5yrs old) are provided FREE OF CHARGE and are well maintained. We feel we have a responsibility to make sure that guests who use our bikes are familiar with bike gears, brakes and adjustment of the seat height for their own safety.
In regard to the signage in the room about smoking, cats and opening the curtains, these signs unfortunately were put up after previous guests had either smoked inside, taken our cat into the room and we had spent a considerable time taking down the 4.5m long curtains to repair the tracks after individual guests had yanked them across manually rather than use the chords at the side. Had the last incident occurred prior to these guests arrival, there is no way that the room would have been ready 2 hours before check-in! We only drew attention to our cat, which has a tendency to go inside if the room is left open.
This guest’s assertion that we were intrusive differs markedly with the assessment of other guests in their reviews below. Perhaps this guest is more familiar with staying in hotels where there is little or no contact with the management and confuses friendliness with intrusiveness.
Considering that this guest wasn’t shy in requesting a change to the booking or arriving two hours early and asking to use the bikes, we’re surprised that she didn’t mention “the bacon” during breakfast on the first morning and request it be less crispy on the second.
This guest gave us a rating of 2 stars “for value.” At $195 per night, she stayed in an exclusive, central area in a quiet, treed location in a room with private entrance and deck overlooking a lovely garden. Included in the tariff was a spacious room (5m x 6.5m) with king bed and ensuite bathroom, use of private dining room, fresh flowers, complimentary port, cooked breakfast including freshly squeezed orange juice, home-made muesli, fresh fruit platter, free use of the bikes for over 2 hours and unlimited use of the wifi. Compared with the only hotel in this suburb that charges around $275 per night for a basic room, additional fees for the internet, $30 per person for breakfast each day and $20 per hour per bike, these guests received an absolute bargain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
3.6 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,650 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,392 reviews
2.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,856 reviews
2.1 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Practically Lakeside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Practically Lakeside B&B

Address: 14 Turner Pl | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canberra
Price Range: $137 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise for cyclists. Near wonderful cycle paths on the lake's edge. Enjoy superior quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation & privacy in a quiet, tree-lined street in central Canberra. Near tourist attractions, Manuka & Kingston cafes & Parliamentary triangle, this beautiful B&B is located in the historic, lakeside suburb of Yarralumla, it is near the CBD, Turner from the Tate exhibition at the NGA, Weston Park, John James and Canberra Hospitals & popular outdoor cafes. Ideal for those who enjoy serious or gentle exercise, those interested in golfing, ornithology, photography, horticulture or for those who just enjoy a comfortable, tranquil environment. Be "Actively Lakeside" by taking advantage of our close proximity to Lake Burley Griffin to walk, run or cycle to major attractions. Bikes & kayaks are available at no cost. We are close to the marshaling area for marathons/cycling events, AIS Rowing course, inter-school regattas, Hot Air Balloon rides, Canberra Olympic, Manuka and Phillip Pools, tennis courts as well as the Royal Canberra Golf Course and Canberra Yacht Club. The room has both ducted & Nobo panel heating, ceiling fan, air conditioner, TV/DVD/radio & desk for computer /work materials. Free WiFi / broadband/cable internet is available. The adjoining dining room has a microwave, toaster, kettle & refrigerator, crockery & cutlery and a wide selection of teas & coffee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing