We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canberra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Practically Lakeside B&B
Ranked #1 of 15 Canberra B&B and Inns
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Location”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Never having stayed at a B & B before, this 1st time experience was great. Chris and Luba are wonderful hosts.
The local 4 legged residents were most welcoming also. Even the curious Possums in the neighbours tree box. Our very large room was very well presented, very comfortable, with both heating and cooling as required and a lovely large bathroom.
The street was so quiet it was a delight. Our room had lovely views out to the garden and gorgeous tree lined quiet street, The entry to our room has lovely deck with table and chairs where the sun filtered through the large Oak and Cape Lilac in the morning where we sat with a coffee and watch the wildlife feed and play. A hot breakfast with a lovely selection of fruit was a great start to the days adventures. The breakfast menu would satisfy most. We were lucky enough to score some of the warmest sunny autumn days Canberra could offer. We couldn't believe how close everything was, by car 15- 20minutes to most major tourist sites around Canberra. Including some great cafes and restaurants 5 minutes down the road. Chris and Luba were a great information source for everything Canberra!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EthylnHermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Many thanks for that great review and the accompanying pictures. It is amazing how the streetscape has changed in just a few weeks. The loss of the leaves off the trees is being replaced by colourful cyclamens on the ground/pots as the stark reality of winter starts to bite. You were indeed lucky to score that wonderful warm weather in May and experience Canberra in its autumnal glory. You managed to pack so much into your 5 days here. Reading your other reviews reminded us of your interest in and appreciation for all the best Canberra has to offer. We WILL pat that cheetah one day! We really enjoyed meeting you, your wonderful sense of humour and our snippets of conversation about our pets and their foibles. You make the sun shine. We hope that you continue enjoying all future travel experiences and that you will return to Canberra soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
61
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Luba and Chris at Practically Lakeside. Quality accommodation in all aspects, with extras which included port, chocolates, fresh flowers and ground coffee. Our daily home cooked breakfast included Luba's muesli and freshly squeezed juice.

It is wonderfully located in a secluded street, yet close to the lake and provided easy access to all that Canberra has to offer.

Luba and Chris were charming hosts and our chats led to a greater exploration and appreciation of Canberra.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDES30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for submitting that lovely review about Practically Lakeside B&B. We were so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Canberra and that you managed to see the best of what this wonderful city has to offer. We hope that you get to see Sky Whale again when she visits Victoria.We really enjoyed meeting you both and our chats about mutual interests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spacious sunny room, with large bathroom, and all very clean with a tasty breakfast included. We particularly enjoyed the bikes, which were in excellent condition. I particularly appreciated the padded seat for our circumnavigation of Lake Burley Griffin. We ate locally at the Yarralumla Shops, and enjoyed a Thai meal the first night and wonderful pizzas the next at Bentham Street Bar n Pizza. A very pleasant and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tempsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our B&B. Canberra's cycle paths are probably the best in the country. Our complimentary bikes for the duration of your stay and Practically Lakeside's location right in the centre of Canberra and close to the lake & tourist attractions enabled you to get around without your car and enjoy the wonderful physical environment. The stunning autumn displays and wonderful weather were a bonus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Luba and Chris were the perfect hosts. We loved our stay at Practically Lakeside. The accommodation was beautifully presented, comfortable and spacious. Would definitely stay again and recommend.Our accomodation was in a beautiful leafy setting with lovely gardens and surrounds. Our hosts were very informative as to what was on in Canberra and very friendly. We were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our B&B. It was a pleasure meeting you all. It was great that you were able to meet up with family and friends and that you had perfect weather during your stay. It's a shame that you needed to return to L for the other wedding.We hope that if you return to Canberra that you'll be able to move around at a much more leisurely pace and relax on the deck enjoying the wonderful birdlife that B so admired..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Staying at Practically Lakeside made our week's holiday in Canberra especially delightful. The accommodation was comfortable, spacious, attractive and immaculate. Every need was thoughtfully catered to by Chris and Luba who are the perfect hosts, attentive, responsive, helpful and friendly without ever being intrusive. The location is an absolute delight, in leafy tree lined streets, very quiet, only minutes from the lake and very convenient for all Canberra attractions. Thoroughly recommend going for a bike ride around the lake, the bike trails are wonderful. Canberra itself is well worth a visit, especially in this, its centenary year, with so many special events, attractions and exhibits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It was truly a pleasure meeting you both. We really enjoyed our chats and drinks with you on the outside deck. We hope that you managed to get to the Old Bus Depot Markets and other Canberra delights before your flight. Since your departure, we've had a cold snap overnight but this has been followed by the most spectacular sunny, warm days - the perfect combination. Thank you for taking the time to write both reviews in our Guest Book and in this forum. We wish you all the best for your respective study / business interests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Luba & Chris were most welcoming and helpful.
Spacious comfortable room, nicely decorated, with all facilities.
Very central for all sights in Canberra but situated in a quiet leafy cul de sac.
Excellent breakfast!
Canberra is a very interesting modern City well planned with pleasant gardens, lakeside walks good museums and buildings to see.
We would certainly recommend 'Practically Lakeside' and a visit to Canberra to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. The weather in Canberra is simply perfect at the moment and should you return to these parts in future, we recommend autumn as one of the best times to visit our capital. We went for a blissful paddle on the lake this morning. We're not sure whether you are back in the UK or still travelling around Australia. Either way, we hope that you enjoyed your time down the south coast and the remainder of your stay Down-Under.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Large picture windows look out onto a pretty private garden which is a great place to relax. The room is spacious, the bed extremely comfortable and the small details of fresh flowers, bathrobes, chocies and a bedtime tipple of port make this B&B 5 star. Our first trip to Canberra was full of places to see, all done by Chris and Lubas's comfortable complimentary bikes. The B&B is so close to the lake, and the walking and cycling tracks in Canberra are excellent. It was a short picturesque ride into the hub of Canberra. On our travels we not only visited the major 'must see' sites but refreshed at some excellent cafes all suggested by our hosts. Their knowledge and genuine love of the city enhanced our enjoyment. Thanks for a great weekend...we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie27art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Wow what can we say! Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review about Practically Lakeside B&B. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in Canberra and made the most of the best that Canberra has to offer such as the cycle paths around the lake and city, the excellent restaurants and of course our wonderful attractions. Autumn has to be one of the best times to visit as the weather is warm by day and "a touch cooler" by night, perfect for sleeping. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope that you have a good year in your respective study and work. We hope that you will try our kayaks on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,582 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,544 reviews
2.6 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,326 reviews
2.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,199 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Practically Lakeside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Practically Lakeside B&B

Property: Practically Lakeside B&B
Address: 14 Turner Pl | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise for cyclists. Near wonderful cycle paths on the lake's edge. Enjoy superior quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation & privacy in a quiet, tree-lined street in central Canberra. Near tourist attractions, Manuka & Kingston cafes & Parliamentary triangle, this beautiful B&B is located in the historic, lakeside suburb of Yarralumla, it is near the CBD, Turner from the Tate exhibition at the NGA, Weston Park, John James and Canberra Hospitals & popular outdoor cafes. Ideal for those who enjoy serious or gentle exercise, those interested in golfing, ornithology, photography, horticulture or for those who just enjoy a comfortable, tranquil environment. Be "Actively Lakeside" by taking advantage of our close proximity to Lake Burley Griffin to walk, run or cycle to major attractions. Bikes & kayaks are available at no cost. We are close to the marshaling area for marathons/cycling events, AIS Rowing course, inter-school regattas, Hot Air Balloon rides, Canberra Olympic, Manuka and Phillip Pools, tennis courts as well as the Royal Canberra Golf Course and Canberra Yacht Club. The room has both ducted & Nobo panel heating, ceiling fan, air conditioner, TV/DVD/radio & desk for computer /work materials. Free WiFi / broadband/cable internet is available. The adjoining dining room has a microwave, toaster, kettle & refrigerator, crockery & cutlery and a wide selection of teas & coffee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing