We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Practically Lakeside B&B
Nearby Hotels
QT Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$152
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Burbury Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$128
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$102
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$151
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$126
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$130
$107
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$172
$144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
91
14
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
14
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostslake burley griffinfish pondan ideal locationlarge roombreakfast roomshort driveparliament housevery comfortable staylubaaccommodationprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 107 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Luba and Chris opened their home to our family and bent over backwards to ensure that we had a great time in Canberra. Practically Lakeside is a short drive (or bike ride) from all the major attractions while being located a short walk from Lake B-G. The B&B was beautifully appointed with plenty of space for my husband, my 3YO daughter and myself. We had significantly more space than a hotel with the added option of bikes and canoes. (We would have taken advantage except for some chilly winter weather). One tip - listen to advice from Luba and Chris on places to go in Canberra they have some great local knowledge! The only minor criticism is that the shower pressure was a bit low and hence the temp controls a bit fiddly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of Practically Lakeside B&B. We really enjoyed meeting you all and enjoyed our conversations about mutual interests. We thought that your little girl was an absolute delight. The shower head was recently changed and this may have effected the water pressure which is usually excellent. We will check it and rectify any problem however. We hope that your respective study and work is going well. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Luba and Chris are wonderful hosts. They provided us with excellent accommodation (we are a family of 4- kids aged 4 and 6). They also provided a very yummy and filling breakfast. The B&B is in excellent location, close to lake, 5-10min walk to IGA and a very popular Turkish restaurant. We had a fantastic time in Canberra - thank you Luba and Chris

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fantastictrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of Practically Lakeside B&B. We really enjoyed meeting you all and thought that the children were absolutely wonderful. It's great to see such excited faces full of curisiosity about the world and to the children playing imaginative games together. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Through Tripadvisor I found this gem of a B&B and to me it was better and nicer than a hotel.
Location - In a quiet suburban street close to the lake
Room - Clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. King size bed and 2 comfy lounge chairs.
View - Windows on 2 sides with views of the garden. Garden table setting. Cockatoo feeding.
Internet - Free WiFi
Breakfast - Delicious hot breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly ground coffee. Mmmmm....
Service - Chris and Luba were very warm and welcoming and ensured that everything was right for a comfortable stay. They also provided helpful tourist information. Thank you to you both for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for your review of Practically Lakeside B&B amd for including your photograph of the cockatoos feeding. We're pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and hope that you enjoyed the finals of the Sydney Piano Competition since your return home. We've seen some more interesting films "Polisse" and "Not suitable for Children" which may be of interest to you also. Canberra is still experiencing some frosty mornings but there is evidence of spring on the way with jonquils, hyacinths and blossoms starting to bloom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Would recommend to anyone to stay at Practically Lakeside, position was excellent by the Lake close to all the attractions and bike paths. The room was very spacious and clean with a king size very comfortable bed. Chris and Luba were very friendly and provided a generous and delicious breakfast together with freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly ground coffee. Would highly recommend the hot porridge! Our children were very welcome and well looked after.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Practically Lakeside B&B. We really enjoyed meeting you all. The children are absolutely delightful and we were particularly impressed with your son's beautiful singing, lovely manners and help with feeding the fish. We hope that if you return to Canberra you can all go riding and discover the wonderful picnic and playground facilities @ nearby Weston Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great spot close to the lake, near the bike track, bus stop and restaurants. Very comfortable accommodation in a tree lined street. Luba and Chris were very welcoming, friendly, and knowledgeable. The breakfasts were generous and delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Thank you for reviewing Practically Lakeside B&B. It was a pity that your attendance at your convention prevented you from getting to the AIS and Parliament House. Next time you visit, the bike track will be illuminated along the lake's edge right up to Novar St. Hopefully, your next kayaking trip will be more pleasurable with no more blue-green algae problems either. We really enjoyed meeting you and hope that if you ever return to stay with us in Canberra that you will have time to enjoy this wonderful city at a more leisurely pace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews