We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Exterior”

Museum of Australian Democracy
Ranked #7 of 213 things to do in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in one of Australia’s most-loved buildings, the Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House brings the journey of Australian democracy to life— presenting its past, present and possible futures.Enjoy a range of innovative exhibitions, tours and exhibitions that challenge and inspire. There are also special activities and spaces for children to explore.Open 9am - 5pm 7 days a week, except Christmas DayAdmission: $2.00 Adults $1.00 Concession $5.00 FamilyAll exhibitions free after entryAssisted entry available
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Exterior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous exterior and a great peak into the political history of the country. I'm from the USA. The display of all the PMs helped me learn that Australian politics are quite liberal. I was surprised at how simple the conserved office of the Prime Minister was.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrSteveUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    231
    46
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I Haven't had time to look at all the exhibits.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Museum of Australian Democracy is a museum located in the Old Parliament House. Well I didn't have time to look at all the exhibits but what I have seen was fairly average. I might change my mind when I look at everything this museum has to offer but for now it's just an average museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“MAD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Museum of Australian Democracy (MAD) was the original Parliament House. It was said that if they put another brick on it, it would fall down! So you can see the old House of Representatives and Senate Chambers, portraits of Prime Ministers, stand on the steps where Prime Minister Gough Whitlam was dismissed on November 1975 by Governor General Kerr. The history is amazing and in the first quarter of the year, there is a lovely light show at night.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old Parliament house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Worth a visit to compare Old Parliament house with New Parliament house! Loved the 2012 Political Cartoon Exhibition.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EthylnHermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Australian history first hand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Excellent guide. A must if in Canberra, together with a visit to Parliament House. Loved the Senate and House of Representatives rooms.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pasummers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Australian Democracy also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Museum of Australian Democracy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing