We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aria Hotel Canberra
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had an excellent two night stay at Aria Hotel. The value was unbeatable - very modern, great facilities for about half of the price of other canberra hotels. Conveniently located near Lonsdale St (good cafes and restaurants) and less than 5kms from the main part of the city. The staff were standouts, all friendly and extra helpful. The room service was delicious too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGPDtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,310 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husand and I recently stayed at the Aria and were quite impressed. It's a no-nonsense, sleek and modern kind of place without any mucking about. Studio rooms are a bit on the small side but very comfortable and with everything you might need. Free parking on site and breakfast is offered from a cafe downstairs or the Pavillion next door. I'd give the Pavillion a miss - a lack-lustre buffet where the food is cold and the floor is dirty. I'll stay at Aria again but will choose a bigger room next time, just so we can spread out a bit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stepford68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Aria for a week for work. My room had a kitchenette with everything I needed. The rooms are a good size and since the hotel is not too old it is nice and modern. There is a basic cafe in the foyer, which I did not use. I visited the restaurant in the hotel out the back for lunch and we all enjoyed our meals. The hotel is located a couple kilometers from the city centre. There is a supermarket and other shops about one kilometer away. There is free parking at the hotel but you pay for parking everywhere in Canberra and grocery bags are 15 cents each.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Everything is true - this is the best quality hotel in Canberra in my opinion.

I won't comment on cost, other than to say I stayed on a Monday night in July for just $120...other nights and times will be more expensive, no doubt, but this hotel is first class and worth every cent.

Well done to management for a first class high quality hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudeDudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The two bedroom option here at Aria is excellent.... especially for the teen age group... I travelled here with 3 14year olds.. .keen to have a turn at the awesome skate parks in Canberra (Belconnen, Woden). The parent's room is well away... extremely comfortable ... yes 'soft' ...they are brand new pillow top beds from AH Beard and a cozy sleep.
The staff kindly provided twin beds in the 2nd bedroom which worked well, and the third bunked on the couch (paper rock scissors). Couch is a bit short for this option! But worked fine as they are 14 and made of rubber!
Dickson is very close with Woolworths for groceries, bottle shop, McDonald's and a number of nice local restaurants. eg 3 min drive.
Front desk are so helpful.... parking is undercover in underground car park with lots of room.
An excellent option in Canberra, I will be back (hopefully on my own for business!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SasD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Love it! I work in Canberra four days a week, so need a "home away from home". I definitely found it in Aria. I book a studio so that I have basic cooking facities (enabling me to prepare my own breakfast and lunch). The rooms are large and airy, comfortably appointed and well away from the noise of Northbourne Avenue. I note a few reviewers complain that it is out in the 'burbs. I am not sure about that..when you consider how small Canberra is, and he fact that Aria is less than 5 kms to the CBD. Having said that, I do always hire a car when visiting Canberra, so don't find the location an issue at all.

The only downside I found with Aria is that the advertise as having a gym. This is not technically true. PAVILLION has a gym, and Aria guests walk through the carpark, over to Pavillion to access THEIR gym. Not such a big deal, except it is a nuisance having to go to reception to get a gym key cut every time you wish to visit the gym (ie daily)

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet... So it is just a matter of being guided by your needs (ie standard room, studi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelbInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Aria Hotel for 2 nights. To our surprise, we were upgraded from an Aria room to a 1 bedroom apartment. The apartment was very, very comfortable with all that we needed for a short stay. The kitchen was fully equipped; the furniture and appliances were up to date; the bathroom facilities were very clean and well set out. We found the staff very courteous and professional during our stay. We had hired bikes and were dithering around unsure of where to park them. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. At one point, they even offered to keep them in their baggage room. (!) The only jarring note was the softness of the bed. Some would enjoy this but as we prefer firmer mattresses, we found it a little difficult to sleep. However, this would not deter us from staying there again as all other aspects were excellent.

Room Tip: Room 301 had two very private balconies. It was also very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackandjill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,395 reviews
4.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,857 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#20 of 58 in Canberra
1,161 reviews
3.6 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Canberra

Address: 45 Dooring St | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $94 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aria Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing