We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment for hotel price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aria Hotel Canberra
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Apartment for hotel price”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Aria, on the fifth floor with views southwards (hills on both sides). It was a small apartment with a well-equiped kitchen, dining area, lounge space, separate bedroom, and large shower. It is a business-oriented hotel, and prices are reasonable (and quite seasonal depending on the Parliament). It is about 2km to the downtown (Convention Centre) area. Morning free shuttle at two fixed times (to Airport as well). We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nix_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    563
    97
    30
    10
See reviews for
343
661
78
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our first visit we scored a corner room on the top floor, they are slightly bigger than the adjoining rooms. This hotel is very well positioned, just off the main drag - Northbourne Ave-, but close to the main arterial roads. Noise was no problem due to the double glazing. The staff were excellent and even the little cafe in the foyer good value. We liked it enough for a second visit.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandadCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

On checking in the staff were very nice and I they upgraded us which was a bonus. The place seemed new and was clean and big. One bedroom apartment. We had booked a hotel as we were traveling around Australia in a camper van and due to the fires and heat we had driven longer than we expected and the kids were tired. As people have mentioned you are in the middle of now where and food is very limited. The pool is next door as well. My reason for terrible is that at 3 am we had a fire alarm go off. It was so disorganised with people running about, no staff to let us know what was going on, it was a nightmare. Everyone evacuated into the cold and an hour later we could go back into our rooms. My children then refused to go back to sleep with all the commotion and none of us got any sleep after that. On check out they gave a half hearted apology and that is it. We watched a movie at $16. No compensation what so ever was offered for our terrible night. Only, well you are lucky it wasn't a real fire! The sofa beds should not even be called a bed! I dare any manger or staff member to sleep on them one night. Terrible.

Room Tip: Hopefully no fire alarms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wicked386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
230 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here on the strength of other reviews and were generally happy with the standard of accommodation, - a small but modern room, nice and clean with a comfortable bed. Our room faced Northbourne Ave (a busy road) but the hotel is a 100 or so meters from the road and traffic noise was not a problem due to double glazing, very effective. However, being a modern building, we found that the door into the room was tightly sealed (no doubt for fire rating) and so too the double glazed door onto the small balcony. This meant a stuffy room overnight as there were no windows, just a balcony door which we closed to keep traffic noise out. There is aircon, but perhaps a room on the quiet side would be a good choice here if you want fresh air.
Service was fine, there is a snack bar on the ground floor which we used for breakfast, - simple and reasonably priced. Underground parking is available.
What we did find unacceptable was the charge for internet usage. Just ridiculous in this day and age, especially if you have experienced O/S travel where it's widely free.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from main road if you want to leave a door/window open for air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My first stay was great no complaints so when visiting Canberra stayed again problems no hot water for shower for 3 days complained staff very friendly but still no hot water no rectification no communication and no follow up .To make it worse other guests had the same problem as the staff commented !

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent two nights at Aria on a business trip. Speedy check-in from friendly staff (Chloe and Ella). Free secured parking included in package. Hotel was very modern and spotlessly clean. Room was of standard size but better than what we expected for a standard hotel price. Room included a docking station, coffee/tea making facitilites, bar fridge, led tv, balcony and small dining table. It was nice to see a hotel using quality brand name appliances rather than cheap and nasty eg. kettle, fridge. Room service was reasonably priced and delivered quickly. Only disappointment was the wi fi charges which were $20 per day leading us to use our 'hotspot' on our phone instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissydidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Unfortunatley the girl at reception was less than welcoming and as it was our first time at Aria we were a little disappointed. Thankfully our room was modern, clean with a small balcony,so we could have fresh air in the room.
The room was small but as we were staying one night it ticked the box for us. The water pressure in our shower was very poor and kept kept changing tempreture, a shame.
We decided to have breakfast at the hotel the next day, you actually walk over to the Northbourne Hotel, this is where breakfast is served. I can only say this was a nightmare,no greeting or even a smile when we walked into the cafe. The acoustics in the room was deafening, scrapping of chairs, noise from the kitchen, people trying to talk over one another.
The breakfast selection was average.....never again

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from nothbourne ave to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,205 reviews
4.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,770 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,333 reviews
3.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,055 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Canberra

Property: Aria Hotel Canberra
Address: 45 Dooring St | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aria Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing