We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aria Hotel Canberra
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent two nights at Aria on a business trip. Speedy check-in from friendly staff (Chloe and Ella). Free secured parking included in package. Hotel was very modern and spotlessly clean. Room was of standard size but better than what we expected for a standard hotel price. Room included a docking station, coffee/tea making facitilites, bar fridge, led tv, balcony and small dining table. It was nice to see a hotel using quality brand name appliances rather than cheap and nasty eg. kettle, fridge. Room service was reasonably priced and delivered quickly. Only disappointment was the wi fi charges which were $20 per day leading us to use our 'hotspot' on our phone instead.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krissydidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Unfortunatley the girl at reception was less than welcoming and as it was our first time at Aria we were a little disappointed. Thankfully our room was modern, clean with a small balcony,so we could have fresh air in the room.
The room was small but as we were staying one night it ticked the box for us. The water pressure in our shower was very poor and kept kept changing tempreture, a shame.
We decided to have breakfast at the hotel the next day, you actually walk over to the Northbourne Hotel, this is where breakfast is served. I can only say this was a nightmare,no greeting or even a smile when we walked into the cafe. The acoustics in the room was deafening, scrapping of chairs, noise from the kitchen, people trying to talk over one another.
The breakfast selection was average.....never again

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from nothbourne ave to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Tried this hotel, based on positive reports noted in Trip Advisor and it is indeed a good place to stay.
Check in by Michaela was as speedy as it was pleasant and our 1 bedroom appt was found clean and well equipped for our needs.
I would suggest a room that didn't face the afternoon sun for a summer stay but the a/c, if you don't mind it, will quickly put it right in any event.
Fairly priced by Canberra standards and with complimentary security car parking being a welcome change from the norm as was the absence of another rip-off, the insidious credit card "surcharge".
Close enough to the City centre and Dickson to afford a good choice of eateries, I would commend this hotel to others whilst it maintains it's value.

Room Tip: Be mindful of afternoon sun position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElectrickBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We (2 adults, 3 kids) stayed 2 nights in a 2br apartment and overall couldn't find much to gripe about the hotel or our stay. Admittedly, though, we didn't really avail ourselves of the facilities and services (dining, pool, gym etc). We did call housekeeping twice and on both occasions the response was quick, friendly and positive. We would describe the prices not as bargain-basement but very good value for what you get. We would be happy to both stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneySos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in a standard Aria room on the seventh floor which was smallish, quiet and had a great bed, ipod radio, TV, iron with sturdy ironing board, bar fridge with plenty of room for our own provisions and a luggage rack. Although a tea/coffee making facility was provided no biscuits were provided. The bathroom had plenty of room for toiletries but shampoo/conditioner was in a squeeze bottle on the shower wall and shower gel was in another squeeze bottle next to it so if you are fussy about hair products I suggest you bring your own. Both products smelt divine however! Lovely herbal smell.

Check in and out was easy and the youngish staff were friendly, even the cleaners and housekeeping staff greeted us in the lifts. Parking was complimentary and undercover and easy to get to from our room.

Although there is a cafe in the lobby, we could dine in the Pavilion Hotel next door, (which we did one morning for breakfast and one evening for dinner) and have the bill put on our room tab. We found that the Pavilion Hotel's standards have slipped a little since we stayed there about three years ago, so don't expect good 4 star fare. It was a very basic buffet breakfast in a noisy room and the service in the restaurant was hotch-potch with three different waiters serving us who needed more polished hospitality training. We found that the Dickson restaurant precinct was close by so we ate there the next night.

All in all however we would stay at the Aria Hotel again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosaposer165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Overall our stay at the aria was fine. Decent location, clean and modern hotel. Not over priced. We came we slept we left essentially. My 2 gripes would be around the service level when I rang to get something from housekeeping sent up to my room, I was advised there may be a 10 min wait but ended up waiting over half an hour and having to call again. The other minor gripe would be the lenght of time it took for the water to heat up for the shower. Both hubby and I found it took some time and was very incosistent during showers. By no means are these 2 things deal breakers but are the reasons why I wouldn't say it was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthEastSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights with my 3 yr old son and wife in the spa suite. Booked for two but enjoyed it so much we stayed for an extra night which they happily gave us the same rate as the the previous nights. Easy access to car park, very clean, everything we needed. Stone throw from Dickson's eateries with more than enough choice!
Just off the main drag so easy access to city centre and all the great attractions. We will defiantly be back and can't wait!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 185SimonB185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 60 in Canberra
1,620 reviews
4.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 60 in Canberra
1,961 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 60 in Canberra
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 60 in Canberra
1,226 reviews
3.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 60 in Canberra
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Canberra

Address: 45 Dooring St | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $96 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aria Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing