We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aria Hotel Canberra
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas 2012. We had a baby with us so I was looking for an apartment type accomodation. We found this at what I think is a reasonable price, you get a standard room at the Hyatt for a little more then what we paid here. The apartment was decent, kitchen was clean and stocked with dishes, glasses, cutlery etc, and there was a microwave as well. Hidden laundry was also in the kitchen area. The sofa is a foldout bed which my husband used as we co sleep with baby, which was not comfortable. The main bed in the bedroom was 2 big single beds pushed together so it was more like a king bed and was comfortable. Flat screen TVA in lounge and bedroom, 1 air con unit in lounge.
Bathroom was nice and clean with liquid soap and body wash provided in their dispensers. No bar soap or bottles, I prefer liquid soap anyway so that was fine. Bathroom wasn't big, and also no bathtub which again we didn't mind. Little annoying was the fact that the bathroom door was behind the bedroom door so u had to close the bedroom door to enter bathroom door.
The carpet didn't look all that clean to me abd the towels should be replaced with softer plush towels as the ones we had were threadbare. Overall I found the apartment fine and livable.
We didn't use any of the facilities but as I understand it the facilities are located inthe sister hotel. The cafe in the lobby was closed. Secure parking is a bonus. The lady at reception when I checked in was not pleasant or friendly. The manager was lovely and very helpful.
Location is more isolated, there is not much around to do. But we had a car and were visiting relatives so that didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhakti_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

in a very good location , our room at the Aria Hotel was small but clean and very quiet. perfectly adequate for our needs, in modern motel setting. the staff at the desk were helpful and polite. i found the vast space of the entrance atrium to be souless but it might appeal to other customers. in the atrium, there is a coffee shop where we decided to have breakfast because of convenience. the person serving there was not particualrly pleasant and the food was completely uninspired so i suggest that it might be better for guests to venture further away to have their morning breakfast as the city is very close by anyway with many alternatives for breakfast.
a handy undercover carpark is avavaible at no extra cost which is very good too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights over the Canberra Day long weekend. Standard Aria room was small but sufficient for the 2 of us. Away from main road so very quiet.Bathroom was clean but they only supply shower gel so bring your own shampoo & conditioner. Towels were thin, bed and pillows were substandard, disappointing they skimped on 2 essentials in a new hotel. Bad positioning of a/c right in front of the bed, difficulty adjusting airflow not to blow directly whilst we slept. We were on the first floor so didn't want to sleep with the balcony door open.

Willing to give it another chance in a studio room, but if the bed still has a sinking feeling it's time to move on.

Room Tip: Request room away from the main atrium, we can hear chairs being dragged around in the lobby area at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed at Aria last week, biggest problem for us was the very small hotel room. Two adults, two suitcases and we were falling over each other. Bed comfortable, modern room. Bathroom visually appealing but appalling lighting - don't try to put your makeup on in the bathroom! Found the hotel a bit sterile, the lobby has no atmosphere and has an echo problem. Pehaps some very soft background music would soften this area. I would suggest when booking you go for an apartment, which are supposed to be much roomier.

Room Tip: Don't book a room, book an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel provides a choice of hotel rooms or apartments. The apartments are roomy with everything you could want for a normal stay and for just a few dollars more are great value particularly in Canberra where accommodation can be expensive. All the rooms have a balcony as well. As the hotel is not right in the heart of town you probably need a car to get around and the nearest restaurant/cafe strip is a short drive away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Recently stayed here for one night on a business trip with my husband. Payed for a hotel room and was upgraded to a one bedroom unit. The unit was spotlessly clean and very modern. We had a balcony looking up to Telstra Tower which was nice. There was 2 flatscreen tv's in the unit, one in the loungeroom and one in the bedroom. There was also a washing machine and dryer if you needed it. The Dickson shops were only a couple of minutes drive away where there were plenty of restaurants and take away food available. One of the best places we have stayed in Canberra and will definately stay there again when next visiting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlisgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in one of the 1 bedroom apartments. Overall it was good - but a few faults.
Pros:
- Great space for the 1 bedroom apartment and decent rate of $195 per night. Separate lounge, kitchenette, and laundry facilities which were great to have.
- parking at no extra cost
- Quiet location - back from the highway. It is a bit of a walk to shops - but you be in the city within 20 mins if you walk briskly. There are good dining options in Dickson and Braddon within walking distance if you don't mind a walk - or 5 mins in car/taxi

Cons:
- Bed was dreadfully uncomfortable - one you sink into - lumpy. Felt like it was at the end of its life. They are also small - doublebed rather than a Queen. I would have given this place 4/5 if the bed was more comfortable
- One of the bathroom towels was torn/frayed - hard to understand how housekeeping could not have noticed when folding it. This was replaced. Also they only had 2 towels in the room - most hotels provide 3 (1 for the man and 2 for the woman ;-) )
- TV in bedroom - had a bright blue light that kept you awake - Solution: had to cover it with the bed runner - see photo
- Internet - they use an external provider that is a complete rip-off - $20 for 24 hours. Instead I used a mobile device I purchased from a telstra shop - for teh same price I had enough internet access I wanted for 30 days
- Hot water was hit and miss on one morning
- The soap/shampoo is all in liquid dispenser form - give us at least 1 small bar of soap

Room Tip: Go for one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LassiComeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,579 reviews
4.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 59 in Canberra
1,946 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 59 in Canberra
2,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 59 in Canberra
1,207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
3.6 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 59 in Canberra
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Canberra

Address: 45 Dooring St | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $93 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aria Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing