We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aria Hotel Canberra
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very good staff, very helpful. Rooms are okay, simple furniture, comfortable bed, not very large, good secure underground parking. A little difficult to find because it's on a side street and not well signed. Cafe in lobby with restaurant option available across a parking lot at another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirageLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
There are newer reviews for Aria Hotel Canberra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,359 - 1,365 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Check-in and check-out were very easy (20secs each), the room was bland but clean (as I'd expect from this kind of a hotel). 15min walk to lots of restaurants. Off street parking. All up it was what I expected for the type of hotel in the area. Would stay there again if I'm ever in Canberra again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chazzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Must say I was expecting much more given the Trip Advisor rating and also having just stayed at East Hotel.
Can't fault Reception staff who were very helpful and moved us from our first dingy room which suffered from some sort of air conditioning machine noise from across the street.
Second one bed apartment ( corner room) seemed a bit more spacious but still gloomy but they just aren't comfortable and user friendly given their rating here.

Carpet was dirty and compared to East little personal touches like complimentary decent tea, coffee, bathroom products etc definitely very poor quality.

Located a fair walk away from shops

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meercat05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had a stay here once for three nights. The lift here was scary, room was very average and had a very small bathroom. I liked the open area for dining. This hotel in on Northbourne road but the market is not an easy walk from here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arshid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had an issue being issued a standard room even though I paid extra for an apartment room, apparently it's a mix up between hotel club and the aria which has happened before, saying that, when I queried it at reception, the staff rectified it immediately.

They are courteous and helpful, the standard room was kinda small so I would recommend upgrading to the apartment room if you can afford it, for an extra 15 bucks there is a massive difference, I reckon the room is three times the size, cooking facilities, big fridge.

Only thing missing was foxtel in the room, but all in all its a very nice hotel, I recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deisedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had a standard Aria room, which was very comfortable, although very small (I've stayed in larger youth hostel double rooms). The bed was very comfortable, all the furnishings looked brand new & top quality. The bathroom was very nice (with a rain shower head), although in the morning there wasn't very much hot water, which surprised me. The balcony was lovely, although if you had a higher room (we were on level 2) you would have a much better view. The wifi didn't work, but they had a cable for the internet (although if you were relying on an ipad to check your email you would have been in trouble).

The location is fantastic. If you want to ride a bicycle or catch a bus to any of Canberra's attractions, the main road is a 2 min walk away (but it is very quiet in the hotel). There is secure underground parking, and a cafe, and also access to a restaurant, gym and pool in the hotel next door. We booked direct through the hotel website & paid $125 a night, which for Canberra is very good. If you are a returning customer they give you a code to get $10 off (CHG), or if it is your first stay and book direct with them on their website, if you enter the code DIRECT you get $10 off (we found out about both of these discount codes in the hotel room, which was a little annoying, especially since we had booked direct with the hotel, rather than through wotif).

I would stay here again, especially at this price. The staff were friendly, and we had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a good view - otherwise you are looking at the ABC carpark if y...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disabled_jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great value for money and everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Modern, clean and well appointed. In our view the bulk shower gel and shampoo dispensers are more practical and sustainable. Gym next door could do with a serious upgrade but this was a minor detail. Great room service menu and cafe downstairs for breakfast. An all round winner!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,342 reviews
4.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,833 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#20 of 58 in Canberra
1,152 reviews
3.6 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Canberra

Address: 45 Dooring St | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $102 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aria Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing