We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Hotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aria Hotel Canberra
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had an issue being issued a standard room even though I paid extra for an apartment room, apparently it's a mix up between hotel club and the aria which has happened before, saying that, when I queried it at reception, the staff rectified it immediately.

They are courteous and helpful, the standard room was kinda small so I would recommend upgrading to the apartment room if you can afford it, for an extra 15 bucks there is a massive difference, I reckon the room is three times the size, cooking facilities, big fridge.

Only thing missing was foxtel in the room, but all in all its a very nice hotel, I recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deisedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    450
    86
    26
    9
See reviews for
247
500
63
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had a standard Aria room, which was very comfortable, although very small (I've stayed in larger youth hostel double rooms). The bed was very comfortable, all the furnishings looked brand new & top quality. The bathroom was very nice (with a rain shower head), although in the morning there wasn't very much hot water, which surprised me. The balcony was lovely, although if you had a higher room (we were on level 2) you would have a much better view. The wifi didn't work, but they had a cable for the internet (although if you were relying on an ipad to check your email you would have been in trouble).

The location is fantastic. If you want to ride a bicycle or catch a bus to any of Canberra's attractions, the main road is a 2 min walk away (but it is very quiet in the hotel). There is secure underground parking, and a cafe, and also access to a restaurant, gym and pool in the hotel next door. We booked direct through the hotel website & paid $125 a night, which for Canberra is very good. If you are a returning customer they give you a code to get $10 off (CHG), or if it is your first stay and book direct with them on their website, if you enter the code DIRECT you get $10 off (we found out about both of these discount codes in the hotel room, which was a little annoying, especially since we had booked direct with the hotel, rather than through wotif).

I would stay here again, especially at this price. The staff were friendly, and we had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a good view - otherwise you are looking at the ABC carpark if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disabled_jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great value for money and everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Modern, clean and well appointed. In our view the bulk shower gel and shampoo dispensers are more practical and sustainable. Gym next door could do with a serious upgrade but this was a minor detail. Great room service menu and cafe downstairs for breakfast. An all round winner!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice hotel at a great rate. Wasn't impressed that the fire alarm went off at 2am and the drill for it was very poor- could have been anywhere as there was no accountability for guests. Apparently was not their fault so they really wiped their hands that guests such as I didn't get any sleep after that! Still really what can you do but I do rate customer service as pretty poor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I always enjoy staying a the Aria. The staff are pleasant and the rooms are always clean - and quiet despite being close to Northbourne Ave (the main thoroughfare). The CBD is only a few km away but it is close to Dickson which has a great variety of restaurants. I really do like that they don't charge for car parking. I would stay here more often if it wasn't so popular as it is often fully booked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

we went to Canberra for the Summernats, we booked well in advance and got a good deal. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 days, well set up, spacious and very comfortable. The second bedroom's bathroom shower cubicle entry was very tiny, you wouldn't want to be a large person. The hotel was about a 10 minute drive to the grounds, went the parade of cars was on we could see from the hotel. There are many eating area's close by if you didn't feel like cooking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellady007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We got moved here from another hotel in the city due to poor conditions. This hotel was amazing in comparison. It was clean! Which was great. The beds were super comfy. The air con great! The appliances clean and neat. I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples and families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel23rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
4.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 1,429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra - Ascend Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#4 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
1.8 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 874 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Canberra

Property: Aria Hotel Canberra
Address: 45 Dooring St | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Aria Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing