We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Room + Clean & Few Minutes Drive to City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aria Hotel Canberra
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed here a few times with my partner. We usually just stay in a standard deluxe room which is fine for 2 people. Last time we stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was really nice. The rooms are clean, modern & very nice. The bathroom is really great with a rainfall shower head. I would call this establishment serviced apartments rather than a hotel. It is a few minutes drive from the city. I found one of the receptionist quite rude everytime i have stayed. I give this 4/5 because the receptionist has always been rude eveytime i have checked out.

Room Tip: it's a fairy new room so all rooms are in great condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 24rack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,435 - 1,441 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

It is difficult to give this hotel an overall rating as there were so many disparate elements of varying quality.
The room I stayed in was small (but not cramped), clean and modern, with quite acceptable facilities. The balcony was tiny and with no view seemed a waste. I could not imagine wanting to spend any time out there. The small door leading out to it was the only source of natural light.
The other major positive element is the underground parking with spaces larger than usual, making manouevring a car less of a trial than in other places I have stayed.
The real problem (apart from being in Canberra, which is a very difficult city for a visitor to like, or even cope with) is that this is only half a hotel. Many of the facilities are in a nearby sister hotel (The Pavilion). On my first night, completely baffled by Canberra's bizarre town plan and not being able to summon the energy to find somewhere to eat, I ordered a room service hamburger. This was surprisingly inexpensive but took well over an hour, and several phone calls to arrive, and when it did it was in a cardboard box and was somewhat soggy. Each morning I had to trudge over to the other hotel for breakfast. I had pre-paid for this and wished I hadn't because they were dispiriting experiences. The dining area resembles a very cheap cafe and the food was not of a very high quality. The gym is also in the other hotel and requires you to get a new keycard each day if you want to use it. Being in a small windowless room, it was hardly conducive to inspiring athletic endeavour - more like a prison cell than a fitness centre.
The Aria Hotel was expensive (even in one of the cheap rooms) and will not be choice of accommodation should I return to Canberra.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else - might I suggest another city entirely?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Equivoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a spa bath for one night. The room was lovely with nice decor although the couch wasn't that comfy. However, it was very clean and well set out. The windows were double-glazed and the room was very quiet. We had two balconies to enjoy the view from. The bathroom was nice and the spa bath was a decent size. Some small disappointments were that there were no sachets of dishwashing or clothes washing powder and the airconditioning was difficult to work out. The only real disappointment was the food. There was no room service, but dinner was available in the restaurant at the hotel next door, just a short walk away. The dinner was quite nice, although my roast potatoes were hard and undercooked. A buffet breakfast was available in the cafe in the hotel next door, and it was awful. The food was very oily and soggy and even the tea and coffee were horrible. It was the worst breakfast I've ever had in a hotel, I recommend you skip it. There didn't seem to be any other food options within walking distance, so you'd be better off making the most of the apartment facilities and taking your own. The Aria is probably better for a longer term self-contained stay that a short visit to Canberra.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment. Room 712 on the 7th floor.
Cant say enough about the hotel great room good undercover parking nice and clean.
Great lifts nice and quiet and smooth good views on the balcony. bed was very comfortable king too. very nice kitchen and washing facilitys very new and modern all round. Would certainly stay here again. very quiet location.

Room Tip: top floor very quiet and good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

When we checked in, we were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment. The apartment was cleverly designed, and the furnishings were modern and tasteful. Has great lighting, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the iPod docking station was a nice surprise. I enjoyed the use of the balcony and enjoying a cuppa outside. It would have been nice to stay a bit longer to make use of the kitchen appliances, which are all modern. The apartment also had a washing machine and clothes dryer, and even a laundry sink. The hotel staff are extremely helpful. My only complaint is the cleaning service was a bit late, and they arrived at 3pm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed in a one-bedroom apartment and thought it was excellent--very spacious, nicely designed, equipped with everything you could possibly need (washer and dryer, well-stocked kitchen where cooking actual meals is really possible, ironing board and iron, 2 flat screen tvs, lots of desk and table space, balcony, comfortable couches and chairs and very nice beds). The bathroom was beautiful as well, although the amenities were in dispensers, and I would've appreciated some lotion being among them. The only way the hotel suffered in my eyes was in how much they rely on sharing facilities (pool, gym, restaurant, late check-in, etc) with the very worn Pavilion on Northbourne hotel next door. Also, the internet prices are outrageous (although this seems to be pretty common in Australian hotels), and the location is alright, but the hotel is located between the city center and Dickson (the "chinatown" area where there are lots of great restaurants), and walking to either would require at least 20 minutes along the very busy and boring Northbourne, but would be a short cab ride. I think pretty much everything in Canberra is overpriced, but if you're stuck paying the exorbitant prices in this town anyway, the Aria is in my opinion definitely worth the small amount more you might pay over other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightowlcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is only 2 years old, and all the fittings are modern, sleek and tasteful. iPod dock in the hotel room was a nice touch, as was the large shower rose. No bath, though.The staff are friendly and welcoming. They have no restaurant and you need to walk across the road to their sister hotel (Pavillion on Northbourne) for a cooked breakfast or meals, however they have a little stand downstairs with tubs of muesli, fruit salad etc. for sale that looked wonderful. If you're not looking for a cooked breakfast, this would be a healthy option. (The Aria is a much nicer place to stay in than the Pavillion, which looks rather tired and in need of a make-over). Only a 15 min walk to a fab eating strip (over 10 restaurants, mainly Asian and quite authentic). Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank J0anneVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,384 reviews
4.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,854 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#19 of 58 in Canberra
1,159 reviews
3.6 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Canberra

Address: 45 Dooring St | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $94 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aria Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing