We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aria Hotel Canberra
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

When we checked in, we were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment. The apartment was cleverly designed, and the furnishings were modern and tasteful. Has great lighting, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the iPod docking station was a nice surprise. I enjoyed the use of the balcony and enjoying a cuppa outside. It would have been nice to stay a bit longer to make use of the kitchen appliances, which are all modern. The apartment also had a washing machine and clothes dryer, and even a laundry sink. The hotel staff are extremely helpful. My only complaint is the cleaning service was a bit late, and they arrived at 3pm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    567
    98
    30
    10
See reviews for
356
663
80
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed in a one-bedroom apartment and thought it was excellent--very spacious, nicely designed, equipped with everything you could possibly need (washer and dryer, well-stocked kitchen where cooking actual meals is really possible, ironing board and iron, 2 flat screen tvs, lots of desk and table space, balcony, comfortable couches and chairs and very nice beds). The bathroom was beautiful as well, although the amenities were in dispensers, and I would've appreciated some lotion being among them. The only way the hotel suffered in my eyes was in how much they rely on sharing facilities (pool, gym, restaurant, late check-in, etc) with the very worn Pavilion on Northbourne hotel next door. Also, the internet prices are outrageous (although this seems to be pretty common in Australian hotels), and the location is alright, but the hotel is located between the city center and Dickson (the "chinatown" area where there are lots of great restaurants), and walking to either would require at least 20 minutes along the very busy and boring Northbourne, but would be a short cab ride. I think pretty much everything in Canberra is overpriced, but if you're stuck paying the exorbitant prices in this town anyway, the Aria is in my opinion definitely worth the small amount more you might pay over other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightowlcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is only 2 years old, and all the fittings are modern, sleek and tasteful. iPod dock in the hotel room was a nice touch, as was the large shower rose. No bath, though.The staff are friendly and welcoming. They have no restaurant and you need to walk across the road to their sister hotel (Pavillion on Northbourne) for a cooked breakfast or meals, however they have a little stand downstairs with tubs of muesli, fruit salad etc. for sale that looked wonderful. If you're not looking for a cooked breakfast, this would be a healthy option. (The Aria is a much nicer place to stay in than the Pavillion, which looks rather tired and in need of a make-over). Only a 15 min walk to a fab eating strip (over 10 restaurants, mainly Asian and quite authentic). Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank J0anneVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Visited Canberra for Floriade over the long weekend and had some difficulty finding accommodation. Went with Aria based on fellow reviewer's feedback and was not disappointed whatsoever.

On arrival staff were efficient, pleasant, welcoming and friendly. Also able to answer a multitude of questions quickly and concisely without hesitation. Room was ready 2 hours early, always a bonus and appreciated after travelling all morning to get to Canberra.

Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and found the room immaculate and spotlessly clean. I take on board what some fellow reviewers have noted about room size, but did not find this an issue for a couple staying for only 2 nights and being out most of the day with activities. Lounge was comfortable and flat screens were clear with good reception. Bed was heavenly as has been noted by others - 'Beard' is the brand for those interested and Aria have simply added their motif from a bulk order. Slept very well. Bathroom whilst small is modern and has all the essentials including a rain shower which is quite wonderfully relaxing.

Cafe in the foyer has the basic requirements for breakfast and complimentary papers are available at reception. You can use bar, restaurant etc at a sister hotel 'Pavilions on Northbourne' which is a short walk through the car park. Could be convenient and you can charge back to your room which is good. Secure on site parking without additional charge is a huge plus at Aria, as I noted most other Canberra accom options charged extra for parking.

Room tip : there is traffic noise from Northbourne Ave is you stay in a west facing room, and I suspect these rooms will get very hot in summer as they are fully exposed to the western sun. Request an east facing high floor for a quiet room with the ability to open the doors for some fresh air and pleasing morning sun to warm you, but avoiding the swelter of the afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed in a king bed apartment at the Aria and were very impressed. The bedroom had a very comfortable king bed and an ensuite. There was also a large lounge room, which, like the bedroom, had a flat screen TV with Foxtel. The kitchen was superbly appointed with brand new appliances, including a dishwasher and refrigerator. There was also a large cupboard with a clothes washer and dryer.

The rooms were very well maintained and everything felt brand new. A few days earlier we stayed at a 5 star establishment in Victoria and the room at the Aria compared favourably to the 5 star place at a fraction of the cost.

I would highly recommend the Aria. My only reservation about writing this review is that it, together with all the other positive reviews, might result in us not being able to afford to stay here again when we next visit Canberra.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was very surprised by the hotel room. Was much better than I thought. We stayed for one day in the spa room. It was very modern, clean and beautiful. We ordered champagne with the room, however we got sparkling wine when we got into the room, yet it was still nice. Everything was working fine and easy to use in the room. The spa had enough room to fit two people in and had no problems using it. The actual hotel looks very nice and well maintained. The staff were also friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Aria staff were very helpful and courteous...even before we arrived, both over the phone and email. Upon arriving at the hotel after a long day on the motorbike we were greeted with an upgrade to an apartment (we had only booked a room). The apartment was impressive. Very clean, comfortable and great view. Due to the upgrade we were able to do our washing while we strolled a few blocks and had the choice of heaps of restaurants as well as a supermarket, KFC etc. The area is easy to find and quiet. All in all would highly recommend the Aria. We did not breakfast there or use their facilities so cannot comment on them. Plus we got a discount on the accommodation via Entertainment Book

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazLamberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,243 reviews
4.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,791 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,367 reviews
3.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,077 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#19 of 57 in Canberra
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Canberra

Property: Aria Hotel Canberra
Address: 45 Dooring St | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aria Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing