We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got ripped off”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canberra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eaglehawk Holiday Park
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

If we had known that paying $40 for an ensuite site gave us views of of dirt gravel uneven land and listening to noisy school children from camps which ere metres from us we would not have stayed.Never again.It might be 4stars for school camps but as for staying here and looking at dirt I give it 2.5.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Wolligog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 111 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed for a school trip for four nights. It was horrible. Firstly, they advertise Canberra as their location, but they are in NSW! The TV was VOXSON (what is voxson?) and the TV remote did not work properly whilst you could could only get two channels. My cousin hit the TV really hard and it miraculously revealed 3 more stations. The fridge was samsung (I thought that was a phone company), the hand towels smelt of dead fish and felt like it too. There was no lock on the bathroom door which did lead to some issues. The shower head fell off once before we managed to screw it back on, somehow. There was no fan in the bathroom and the very old panasonic heater did not range more than two meters (caused problems with people in the second room). Bunk beds touched the roof (friend hit head a few times). I will not mention the food for your mental well-being. Miraculously, the pool actually had water but unfortunately, the sign said "no swimming". Overall, the accommodation was extremely poor and I am surprised they are still in business. DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MasterOfAlpacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

well, where do i start, made a booking 6 weeks prior for a 2 bedroom villa .on the 24/9/12, we get there , it's a 1 bedroom villa with a double and single in 1 room and a sofa bed in the dining area. i stated along with a 2 bedroom that i have 2 teenage children.while in reception to rectify their stuff up, they try and fob us off to another caravan park expecting us to pay for accommodation there as well!.then they give us the cabin next door as well temporarily to try and fix the stuff up. we waited in limbo for an hour with no reply,we needed to get groceries as it was late afternoon. i go to reception again to see if the manager is in and if he has been told, jess said "no but he was in but has just stepped out",incompetent reply. i go to the car and call reception and jess answers and i said can i speak to james the manager, she said hold the line, next minute i'm talking to the manager, go figure. no apology for the stuff ups we eventually find out that we are to be in 2 seperate cabins.nice family holiday this will be in 2 cabins .not!

Room Tip: go to the canberra motor village instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here on a school trip. Yeah it advertises as being in Canberra but it is NSW for gods sake. It is 200m from the border of ACT. The food was crap, and you were only allowed 1 helping. I lost 2 kilos on the trip and i was blocked up from all the cheese. The cabins had not been cleaned from the last users. The "new" sheets smelt like crap and the hand towel smelt of dead fish. The toilet was not flushed. The fridge was SAMSUNG. The heater didn't reach the adjoining room. The toilet didn't have a lock (lots of problems there). And it was so dirty, and our teachers expected us to clean it up at the end of our stay. And when we said it wasn't our mess they said "do it anyway." DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont choose a room here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Birchall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

we stayed in july 2012 in a cottage which cost us $120 + $1.20 credit card charge which wasnt mentioned anywhere on their website and as it's the only way you can pay over the phone its a joke... the cottage was discusting, filthy, shower hadnt been cleaned and leaked, the bathroom sink leaked, toilet hadnt even been flushed from the last guest and the toilet brush had well you know what over it, the tv didnt work, nor did the oven and the floors hadnt been swept, I went straight back to the office and told them how the cottage was and asked if they could send a cleaner up, was told it would take two hours before someone could get there, we had driven from SA we just wanted a shower and relax, so I asked could we be put into another cabin was told sure but it will cost you another $20, not on.. so I went to the shops and brought cleaning products and we cleaned it ourselves. We didnt have the money to leave there and pay for somewhere else. I wouldnt recomend this park to anyone at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed there with my school and found it horrible. They expect you to make you own beds and only give you one dooner, which doesn't keep you warm. You have to clean your own tables at dinner and the food is not cooked properly. The toilet didn't work, one of my friends had a tap leaking and they had FLEAS in their beds and had flea bites all over them!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ana98909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here for a family wedding at Lake George in the Standard Cabin for 4 nights. The cabin was clean and plenty of bedding and spare blankets. Bathroom has been updated and looked new and was clean. Reverse cycle air conditioner kept us warm and cosy. Kitchen facilities adequate but as we ate out, only used it for breakfast. Kitchen/Lounge/Kids Bedroom in main room but we new this when we booked it and as we were out all day, not a problem (a few groans from the teenagers being woken up early as they were sleeping in main room). Loved the pub next door, only 30 metre walk for a counter meal. Found the locals friendly and the pub staff only too happy to help. Enjoyed the meals especially the stone grill steaks. Park staff friendly and helpful. Overall would recommend Eaglehawk Holiday Park to friends. It is what you would expect for a family holiday park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janbo5569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canberra
6.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 59 in Canberra
1,817 reviews
3.4 mi away
Canberra Carotel Motel
Canberra Carotel Motel
#43 of 59 in Canberra
213 reviews
8.7 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#18 of 59 in Canberra
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
3 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#50 of 59 in Canberra
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaglehawk Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglehawk Holiday Park

Address: 1246 Federal Highway | NSW/ACT Border, Canberra SUTTON 262, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eaglehawk Holiday Park is a Caravan & Tourist Park located just inside the ACT/NSW Border in SUTTON NSW.We offer Cabin/Villa/Cottage Style accommodation and also Powered Caravan Sites and Powered Ensuite Sites.We also cater to Group Bookings. We have Lodge Style Accommodation aswell as our Cabin/Cottage/Villa Accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing