We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable motel close to city centre”

Yowani Country Club Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yowani Country Club Hotel
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The visit to Canberra was a last minute overnight stay and the booking was made through Wotif - the rate was very reasonable compared to other listings. We had not expected much, but were pleasantly surprised. Parking was under cover and right beside the unit entry. The room was a good size, with good kitchen facilities, comfortable bed with a reasonable number of pillows per person; the bathroom was clean and the water pressure fantastic. The staff at reception were very friendly and welcoming. Yowani would be high on our list for future visits to Canberra, but we would take our golf sticks with us next time and make use of the facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 36 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

Considering the options available in Canberra for the price, we were disappointed. The bedding was TIRED, the bathroom cold (hot water ran out after one shower) and the heater noisy and ineffectual. When I called reception for a additional bedding, the response was pretty brusque. Not going back to there in a hurry!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife and I booked at the Yowani because we had to make a hurried trip to Canberra and stay overnight. There were few hotels/motels available because of the Budget speeches and the Yowani was reasonable. The reception was friendly and the room was a revelation -- a standard room but spacious and clean, with a good-size fridge, a microwave and an electric frypan. Renovated bathroom and, best of all, a good old-fashioned shower with great water pressure. The heating was extremely efficient (essential in a Canberra autumn). Parking was right outside the unit, under cover. The digital TV was wall-mounted on a swivel, which constituted a head-banging hazard if you were not careful, but no problem when it was retracted. All in all, far better than we expected and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surferphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great location, good price, overall enjoyable stay.
We stayed in a deluxe room great size and nice view of the golf course, and fantastic food at the bistro. staff were friendly and offered maps and directions to places of interest. will definatley stay there again.

Room Tip: Deluxe was great, and nice views on golf course side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I recently stayed overnight in a deluxe ? unit at Yowani and was disappointed with our value for money. The Deluxe was far from deluxe and although it was on the more expensive side did not cater well for 4 people. There was only 1 permanent bed and the others were makeshift, (sofa and fold up). What troubled me the most was the apparent lack of cleaning done in the unit. The bathroom floor was sticky and dirty. The toilet smelled and the shower screen had bath scum which had not been cleaned for a while. The patio had not been cleaned for sometime and the furniture consisted of a chair. The doorway was heavily cob webbed and dirty. The view outside the unit was patchy grass and dirt and a wire fence which did little for the atmosphere. The price well exceeded the comfort at Yowani.

Room Tip: The units overlooking the golf course have a nicer view, but check the cleaning first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denste_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

There are two standards of room here, basic and deluxe. I have tried both. No problems with cleanliness, rooms are seviced daily.
Plenty of parking out the front of your room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobsworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Couldn't believe the poor standard for the price paid. Dirty carpet, stained bedspread, old seats with torn vinyl, couch with a 6 month layer of dust, broken tiles in bathroom, holes in door bathroom etc. The only thing I couldn't fault was the towels were clean and new. Reservations failed to advise that their restaurant would be closed for the entire month of January and so no dining available - this was mentioned as an afterthought on check-in. Absolutely would not recommend this 'Country Club" accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heide S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
2.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#53 of 59 in Canberra
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#20 of 59 in Canberra
356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
4.8 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#17 of 59 in Canberra
619 reviews
5.6 mi away
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Diplomat Boutique Hotel
#13 of 59 in Canberra
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yowani Country Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yowani Country Club Hotel

Address: 455 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $85 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yowani Country Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Yowani Country Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing