We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canberra Motor Village.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alivio Tourist Park Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Canberra Motor Village.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent 5 days here in March 2013 in a Woodland Cabin which we found clean and comfortable. The location was very quiet but close to the city and easy to find. The staff at reception very friendly and helpful. We did have a problem getting clear reception from the TV but one of the staff cheerfully sorted it out for us. We enjoyed the proximity to the 'bush' and the resulting wildlife. We will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    541
    187
    77
    55
See reviews for
820
264
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The unit was clean and well furnished, but there was barely room to walk around the bed. Just managed to turn around in the shower without banking my elbows. It was disappointing not to have Wi-fi reception, although the staff supplied the password. We were assured it worked if we climbed the hill to the clearing! On one of the 3 nights there we ate in the cafeteria on the site. While the service was charming, it was slow and the pizzas barely edible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annge15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highfields, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had four adults staying in the "Ridgeview" cabin - the name was corrrect - all we had for views was a hill behind us. the park has no character - lots of concrete and cabins squeezed into a hillside. bedding was very basic - the second double was short, thin and hard. No wifi. The park has good outdoor facilities, including tennis court and pool as well as a restaurant - we didn't get to use any of these, but they looked OK. location is good, about 4 kms from the CBD and other attractions. For what you get (a mobile cabin), this accommodation is really overpriced. we only accepted the rate (over $200 a night) because of a lack of hotels. I wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Probably pay even more to get one of the new rooms, or look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This village is well set out....staff excellent as our room was not ready when we arrived about 3pm so were upgraded. Onsite cafe a marvellous idea. Cabin was spacious with everything that was needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryantandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I left my booking for accommodation in Canberra very late and since parliament was sitting I had very limited options. I decided to book a new cabin at the caravan park and try something new. First the good things; accommodation was clean and pleasant - I've stayed in a lot worse for more money. The setting was nice and quiet, no noisy groups. The bar/bistro was OK - food edible (don't order the fish and chips, its frozen pre-battered mushy crap) but the beef pie was great.

The service was pretty average at reception and in the bistro, although on both nights the most efficient staff member was on the bar.

The biggest issue I had was with the lack of wi-fi - having internet access is critical to any business trip. I asked for and was given the free wifi details from reception and was told that i would have reception in my cabin. Well, I could access the wifi but the internet connection behind it was sooooooooo slooooooooooooooooooow it took more than 20 minutes to load the smh home page. I couldn't even log into my work vpn. When I complained in the morning about this I was simply told, "yes we know it is unusable but we plan to upgrade it soon". Sorry, but that is unacceptable. If you know that you cannot offer a service I'm sure it is unlawful to advertise it, particularly when this service may well be a key reason for a business booking.

So, some advice to the management team - train your staff to smile and be a bit more helpful, and do not advertise a service that you know you cannot provide. I stayed in cabin 409 and I'll expect a call from you to arrange a refund.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Canberra isn't the cheapest place to stay, so to find a cabin within a few minutes from all attractions was a good score, at the price. We stayed in a Grevillia cabin, that was both comfortable and clean. Whilst we didn't use much of the other facilities that the park had to offer, we did manage a swim one afternoon, in what did look like a newly renovated pool area. All in all a comfortable stay. Will say there again, and would recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tgricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
134 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've stayed at Canberra Motor Village a number of times on the basis that it was good value for money. My latest stay, in an older 'Grevillea' cabin has changed my mind and I now think it only reasonable value for money.
First the good points - location: in a nature reserve but no more than 10 minutes from Canberra's centre; free wifi (managed to hook up this time); cabins: clean, good-sized refrigerator and full cooking facilities; beds: firm, check in: fast, pleasant.
Second, the 'eccentricities' - cheapest rates only available on the CMV website; $20 (cash) key deposit (refundable on departure).
Third, the problems - the older cabins are showing their age and badly need to be updated. For example - the (linoleum) floor coverings are torn in places, there are some cracked tiles in the bathrooms, the plumbing (water flow, tap fittings) need attention, the air conditioner (while effective) is too noisy as is the bathroom exhaust fan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.7 mi away
Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park
1.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 57 in Canberra
1,596 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,083 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#19 of 57 in Canberra
1,671 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#20 of 57 in Canberra
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alivio Tourist Park Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alivio Tourist Park Canberra

Property: Alivio Tourist Park Canberra
Address: 20 Kunzea St | O'Connor, Canberra 2602, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alivio Tourist Park Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in the heart of the city...Nestled in a quiet bushland setting less than 5 minutes from the heart of the city, we are your perfect home away from home when visiting Canberra. Featuring a huge choice of modern and spacious villas, cabins and motel rooms, a great cafe, bar, pool and spa, leisure facilities and friendly helpful staff, all just a few minutes drive from the National Capital's biggest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alivio Tourist Park Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing