We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for Summernats- great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alivio Tourist Park Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed in our pop top camper with a couple of friends for the summernats car festival. The toilets and showers were extrememly clean and staff were helpful, also excellent new laundry facilities, best we have seen in a caravan park. Great sized sites and a great location. We will be back

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dark_sista86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,537 - 1,543 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

We had a terrible experience with this park, unfortunately. We were really looking forward to staying in a quiet forest-filled area of Canberra, but alas did not work out as planned.

We booked an unpowered site here (we were camping in a mini-van on our trip), and when we arrived (at 8:30pm), the unfriendly woman at the desk informed us that we would need to sleep in a tent rather than our van (!? this had never happened on our 3 week long trip). She didn't explain adequately why we weren't allowed to sleep in our van rather than a tent; she simply told us that it was "just their policy". We were refunded and slept in a car park in Canberra... not ideal, but we didn't have any other options so late at night. The inflexibility of the staff put us in a less than ideal situation. I would definitely not recommend this place to anyone because of this experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank erin888899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I used the camp ground here because I wanted to be close to ANU. The bonus was the great walk up to the Black Mountain tower, through high conservation value forest. One and a half hours return. Also good was the easy back-street drive to dining in Dickson. Showers and toilets were clean and good, and the service was friendly. Five minutes drive to the university and the rest of Canberra. Will go again.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
9  Thank richard_barcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My wife & I are in our sixties booked prepaid a 2 bedroom self contained cabin with private facilities for 3 nights in November 2011. On arrival we showered, disappointed to fine the water luke warm. Rather than complain we waited till next morning as we thought it must be an off peak system. Not so, water was ice cold. We reported the problem at 7am to the office. On our return to the cabin at 3pm water still cold. Reported the problem again. Maintenance man came adjust the thermostat, and said should be fixed in 2 hours. NOT so!! Reported to office again at 5pm. This time the manager gave us the key to the pubic facilities 50 metres away, stating a plumber would come next day.This was disappointing as we had booked private facilities, and several cabins around us had been vacant since our arrival. We should have been moved.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PBK584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We have stayed in the cabins and camped at Canberra Motor Village and both times we have found it to be a great place to stay. It is no fuss and in a great central location. We are mountain bikers and find it a great place to stay because of a great track in the Bruce national park behind the grounds as well as only 15 mins to Mt Stromlo.

Also recommend Bar Nun which is just down the road for great Pizzas and a beer after a big ride, there is also a IGA and chemist in the same little block which comes in handy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sonja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We was looking for somewhere to stay with a 1 year old baby.

Hotels are expensive in Canberra, and adding to eating out is also very expensive, this place was perfect for keeping the budget to a minimum.

The kitchen was great for cooking meals, the cabins are well kept and very clean.

Reading some past reviews, I think the park has had some recent renovations, as our cabin was brand new with a TV, two bedrooms, and and an outdoor communal BBQ area.

The rooms could be a little chilly at night, but the air-con doubled as heating, and if kept on low all the time, this seemed to keep the cabin warm

The location is 10 minutes from the centre of Canberra, and I don't think we could have stayed here without a car.

The pool is brilliant, a lot better than expected as is also the kids playground.

Just one criticism, the intenet is extremely expensive as of Oct-11 it was $10 for 3 hours, but you had to use this all in one session.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the top end or surrounding the BBQ area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ralfjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

A cabin we stayed in from 5-7 October. The cabins are small but very very clean. The beds were very hard, so not much sleep at all. Wish other guests would take note of the NO noise policy at 1am !!!

Would probably spend extra and stay in hotel next time!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clairbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
6.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
4.1 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#15 of 60 in Canberra
685 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 60 in Canberra
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 60 in Canberra
786 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#28 of 60 in Canberra
3,390 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 60 in Canberra
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alivio Tourist Park Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alivio Tourist Park Canberra

Address: 20 Kunzea St | O'Connor, Canberra 2602, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Price Range: $101 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alivio Tourist Park Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in the heart of the city... Nestled in a quiet bushland setting less than 5 minutes from the heart of the city, we are your perfect home away from home when visiting Canberra. Featuring a huge choice of modern and spacious villas, cabins and motel rooms, a great cafe, bar, pool and spa, leisure facilities and friendly helpful staff, all just a few minutes drive from the National Capital's biggest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Alivio Tourist Park Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing