We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Friendly Park”
Review of Southside Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southside Village
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Friendly Park”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a powered site. Staff and other campers all so friendly. We have a 3 year old with Autism and they could not do enough to help us and make our stay stress free. Cheap excellent washers and dryers. Great baby bathroom. Lovely little shop for essentials. heaps of grassed areas for cricket and soccer and aussie rules and also very nice fenced playground. the monkey mania indoor playground 5 minutes drive. Also 5 minutes to Fyshwick Fresh Food Markets and pretty much any other shopping you need within 5 minutes. 10 minutes to city. Lovely people and will stay there next time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    14
    8
    22
See reviews for
25
19
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Unfortunately I had made the wrong choice to stay here from the recent postive reviews. This park IS NOT family friendly. With a sign out the front of the toilet block saying "unaccompanied children not permitted" alarm bells of an unsafe environment went off. With saying that the bathroom amenities were extremely clean. The playground was across from the inhouse pub!! Seriously???!!! Would anyone let their kids play there without supervision. In caravan parks, I feel I should feel comfortable with allowing my 3 children to go to the toilet and playground unaccompanied

This park is more like a workers park and cheap accommodation for locals. The grounds were unkempt to say the least.

Please if you have children, do more homework (although I thought I had). Maybe phone the Canberra Visitors Centre for recommendations. I wish I had. I've been told the O'Conner CP is better.

This is our Nation's Capital.... how embarrassing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

turned up here without booking & luckily the manger had a space for us! fed up with camping we treated ourselves to a cabin cost us $110 & so glad we did as we had the mother of all thunder storms that night & were we would of been camping our tent would been washed away! parking next to cabin was very tight had to drive in slowly or risk hitting the side of the cabin! the city was only a short drive away! the visitor centre was awkward to drive to though the staff were very helpful. only stayed one night wish it was more so much to see & do over all cabin was ideal for a family of four a double bed & three bunks basic but clean!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezza2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks in our caravan at the Motor Park whist visiting family, and found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The park was well maintained and amenities kept very clean. The park is located close to major thoroughfares and many of the major Canberra attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Perfect location to manuka (amazing part of the city)!
We stayed in winter, and the heating was really great. Beds comfy, and all very clean.
Lorna at the front desk was lovely. Happy to help out with anything we needed. We arrived quite late at night and she waited for us, to give us the key and boom gate swipe.
We stayed in the double room deluxe cabins and they were great! Small but had everything we needed - kitchen, clean bathroom, cozy bedrooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ella_0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Don't worry about the bad reviews - stayed here with a group of my friends and thoroughly enjoyed! The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating with all of our requests and the value was fantastic. The cabins were clean, had all the utilities we could possibly want and location was good as it was not far to the centre of Canberra at all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eberki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in a standard two bedroom cabin which was very clean, lots of hot water, hard bed was to hard we both had a very broken night sleep and woke with a sore back. Very quite. Not sure if would stay again. Old looking but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canberra
7.1 mi away
Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park
4.6 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,667 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#52 of 57 in Canberra
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
4.1 mi away
Crestview Tourist Park
Crestview Tourist Park
#1 of 2 in Queanbeyan
131 reviews
6.1 mi away
Alivio Tourist Park Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southside Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southside Village

Property: Southside Village
Address: Cnr Canberra Ave & Monaro Highway | Symonston South Canberra, Canberra 2609, Australia (Formerly Canberra South Motor Park)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Southside Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing