We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even consider staying here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn
Ranked #54 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't even consider staying here!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and I have never been the same since. The bed was never made, the shower literally spewed water out all night, the carpet was filthy,the towels were like sandpaper,the sheets were stained, the coffee and tea supplies were not replenished, the bin was not emptied and there was no security lock on the door. The blonde receptionist needed training in people skills. In fact the whole building needed to be demolished. We were absolutely amazed that our Country's capital city, Canberra allowed this establishment to exist.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    15
    19
    30
See reviews for
24
27
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Lyneham Motor inn is located in the North part of Canberra a couple 100 meters off the main highway. While it has definitely seen better days and could do with a complete refurbish, it was quiet, reasonably clean and comfortable. Although the facilities were on the basic side, it was reasonably priced and more than adequate for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. In this time the room was not serviced and the staff at reception (on the rare occasions when it was attended) didn't seem to know what was going on. We had to ask each day for fresh cups while the dirty ones piled up on the bench. The beds were not made and the coffee & tea supplies were not replenished. The plumbing in the bath did not work while the shower sprayed water all over the bathroom. We also had to turn off the toilet each night so the running water would not keep us awake. On the up side, the rooms were very big.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel. Many of the downstairs rooms back directly onto a school yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allllyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place has potential but is badly in need of attention in cleanliness, repair and maintenance. Room has a urine smell. The floor carpet is badly stained. Found a mouldy cup of tea. Looked like it had been sitting there forever and no one had bother to take any notice of it. This motel could do with an upgrade to even simple things like room furnishing, fresh carpets and some landscaping to attract even more people who would give this place a better review.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSCHAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have stayed here now a few times over the last year and always found the rooms to be clean and of good value. My wife and I travel with our 2 teenage children so finding a room with enough space for 4 is usually difficult but the larger size rooms at the Lyneham Motor Inn suited our requirements nicely.
I regularly read the comments from others before making a reservation but must say that some people must be hard to please. We always find the rooms in a good state and more than comfortable. The location is difficult to beat with Dickson restaurants being so close. The area is quite at night and safe for a family.
Would recommend as a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here with my parents visiting from overseas. I originally booked it for the price which was good for Canberra which is so expensive. Our rooms were clean and comfortable for our 3 night visit. We had big screen TVs, fridge and microwave.
The location is very handy to the city centre and short walk to the restaurants, takeaways and clubs. Staff are friendly and helpful. It is a very popular motel it always seems to be full but the rooms are nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel needs a wrecking ball and a bulldozer - fast. We would rather have paid double the price and stayed elsewhere. Had to psych ourselves up to go back into the room (just the smell was dreadful enough). Yes, it was cheap (comparatively), but our holiday suffered from the sheer awfulness of this hotel. It actually looks like a derelict hotel from a movie set. It has bars on the windows. Would never stay here again, ever.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, even if it costs you more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
2.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#52 of 57 in Canberra
425 reviews
1.5 mi away
Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
6.1 mi away
The Statesman Hotel
The Statesman Hotel
#38 of 57 in Canberra
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 57 in Canberra
341 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments
0.9 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn

Property: Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn
Address: 39 Mouat St, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Canberra Lyneham Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing