We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Spent one night here in feb 2014 as part of a last minute trip to canberra. Hotel was resonably priced and the room was very spacious. Stayed in a 2 bedroom ground floor apartment at the back of the block, the room was clean however the mini bar had no supplies except milk, which was fine give the shortness of our stay, but would imaging having to source items from the local IGA might be slightly annoying for those arriving at night.

Location in caberra was relativley good, with a pub, bar and shopping centre not far. Parks and the lake were also less than ten minutes walk. Bus was a 300m stroll up the street which would take you into the centre of town, or a taxi which cost $17 is also a good choice.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property will avoid the noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CowKiwi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    348
    134
    38
    16
See reviews for
415
91
15
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Having to go to an event in the ACT in August, I had to find accommodation for 4 adults and 1 child. This also had to be affordable for the other couple- I found this apartment style accommodation and it was perfect for many reasons. Two bedrooms, kitchen, dining area , lounge and laundry at a very affordable rate. Very close to the local shops and Kingston Markets. City centre only 10 minutes drive away and close enough to all the places we needed to go.Would not hesitate to stay here again, staff exceptionally helpful and informative.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main street but there was no issue with noise for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A Victorian building in Canberra - but built in 1992 when it won a tourism industry award for its architecture. Today the outside and its park still look well kept while indoors our bathroom showed some need for refurbishment. The kitchen was the only one during our several week round trip in Australia that was not spotlessly clean. Neither was the bathroom.
The receptionist however was extremely helpful with an onward booking to another Medina.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Travellingismylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Medina Apartments are in a great location, close to shops and attractions. They are nice and clean. We received great service with no problems, having only booked the day before via wotif. The 2 bedroom apartment had enough room for a family of 4 with lots of natural light. The complex has nice central gardens, a lift and an undercover carpark (which can be tight with a large vehicle) The only complaint from my older children was that the wifi was prohibitively expensive (too bad - so they found other things to do!) Overall we had a great stay and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21Caro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was really unsure when booking accommodation in Canberra having never been there before and not knowing the distance to different locations. A friend suggested Medina as she had stayed here before when on business in Canberra.

I had originally booked a 3 bedroom 1 bathroom apartment (which is not advertised on their website) but a week before we arrived I received a phone call asking if it would be alright if we were placed in 2 2 bedroom apartments with a interconnecting door (upgraded). This meant that we would then have 2 bathrooms and with 6 people this was not a problem at all especially as we weren't charged any extra! We were on the top floor and found the apartments to be spacious, clean and well equipped. We had a King bed in both the main bedrooms and 2 singles in the other 2 rooms. There were washers and dryers in both bathrooms. We had no problems with using the oven (which seemed quite new) but didn't use the stove at all. House keeping short-changed us a couple of towels both days they were replaced but a call to reception and some were brought to us. We also had a problem with the sliding shower screen door but it was easily fixed. We were unable to use the pool as it was closed for some renovations. The apartments were close to everything we wanted to see. We could even see parliament house from our balcony. As someone else mentioned there is a lift to all floors but as you walk along the veranda you do need to go down a couple of stairs. We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Always ask about larger/interconnecting rooms - they are not always advertised on websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllSixOfUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Medina Apartments are located within walking distance to Kingston and Manuka. They have 2 bedrooms and a large bathroom that includes a Washing Machine. They have lifts to all floors and free undercover car parking. Recommended to families visiting Canberra or business guys. They are well priced for the area.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of Manuka oval. Get a room close to the lift if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pudge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed four nights in a one bedroom apartment. The kitchenette area had been updated with dishwasher, microwave and hotplates on top of the microwave. The bathroom is huge but older style. Clean, comfortable, with the basics. The gardens are nice and well kept. Down the road is an IGA supermarket to get some essentials, but very expensive. Coles in manuka is a cheaper option. Also restaurants on the street but unfortunately not up to Melb or Sydney standards or authenticity. A few gripes: the indoor pool is chlorinated, not salt water as advertised on the website. We were very disappointed having chosen this apartment over others in Canberra for the pool. The hotplate is fiddlesome to use. You can't control the temperature, and it is noisy, powered by the microwave. Perhaps a $15 gasmate from kmart would be better?! Our apartment was on the top level, right down the end from the lifts. Involving a couple of stairs even when taking the lifts. So if walking is an issue, ask for one close to the lifts.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,719 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 57 in Canberra
1,595 reviews
3.0 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,460 reviews
3.0 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,083 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra

Property: Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
Address: 11 Giles Street, Canberra ACT 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing