We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place for family stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Mixture of old and modern, secure, comfortable place to stay. Nice warm doonas, but I just wish in places as cold as Canberra we could have flannelette sheets, though I understand that would be a nightmare to wash and dry that many. Electric blankets could be an option? Our air-con heated up the place fine after a short while (Freezing cold while we were waiting for the air con to heat up!). Beds could have been a little more comfortable, but it hard to please everyone. Bathroom was a little tired looking but clean and functioned well, especially the nice hot old fashioned shower head! So hard to get these days. Another positive, the place seemed to be sound proof, except for hearing the other rooms toilet after they flushed it, but didn't really bother us, we have heard worse! Our toilet took ages to stop refilling the cistern and was also rather noisy, we just made sure we used the half flush. On the down side, the kitchen was pretty poorly supplied with cooking utensils. Went to make some pasta and the saucepan was tiny and then discovered it was the same story with the frying pan, weird. Too bad if we planned to cook every night! They got little details right that others don't like powder for the dishwasher and a decent iron and hairdryer, yet there was no washing powder for the washing machine, not even for one night's worth. One think I REALLY appreciated was our apartment being serviced EVERY DAY! Made my holiday with kids was so much more relaxing! Everywhere else I have stayed, even when I have stayed at 4.5 star places, will not service the apartment more than once a week if you stay more than a few days. Overall not bad if you are out all day. Nice service at the reception too, thank you. P.S. the big mirror in the living/dining room worked well, gave it a nice feel and made the room feel bigger.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment where the balcony faces the sun in the morning if you are staying in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jabmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 862 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

Arrived at 10 pm. No food catered on premises - so receptionist recommended walk about 10 minutes to Kingston. We first checked into our rooms - each unit comprises of 2 bedrooms (one with queen sized beds. The other with two super single beds), large living/dining room with TV, kitchenette and washing machine. The only phone in the whole unit is at the breakfast counter between dining and kitchenette.
We were too tired to walk to Kingston (partly because not sure if any food outlets would be open) - so we just crossed the road to the Kingston Hotel - ate at the only food outlet there, no kitchen closed, only pizzas and choice of various meats for indoor self barbecue. We chose pizzas and barely 15 minutes later, was told it was closing in 10 minutes at 2300 hrs. I asked what time they were open for breakfast, it was at 9 am, too late for us as we were leaving Medina at 7 am.
Crossed road back to Medina - temperature was very cold at 5 C. The heater in both our rooms were not working! The tiled bathroom floor was icy cold - no slippers provided, so I lined floor with bath towel. Spent night in 3 layers of clothings plus 2 blankets.
We left at 8 am the next day and the reception was still not open!
Will not return - as no receptionist to help after 11 pm, and no food outlets on the premises

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Persimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCCB2604, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Persimmone.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Medina Classic Canberra.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. In relation to the points you have raised I have addressed your concerns with the Maintenance department to improve our overall guest experience.

I would like to thank you providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Matthew Abrahams
Hotel Manager
Medina Classic Canberra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We booked two apartments for a large family group travelling together. The receptionist was helpful in organising an earlier check in from one of the groups. The beds were comfortable and the location excellent, within walking distance of the Manuka shopping centre where there is good food and shopping. The air conditioning wasn't working in our room so we were cold all night as the heater blew out cool air. Apart from that this was a perfectly acceptable if unremarkable accommodation and we'd probably return there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCCB2604, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear mbloggs,

The team at Medina Classic Canberra are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Medina Classic Canberra and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Classic Canberra in the near future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Abrahams
Hotel Manager
Medina Classic Canberra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here in a two bedroom apartment in April 2012. The hotel is centrally located, in walking distance to Manuka Oval, as well as Manuka shops and restaurants. I had booked online and everything was in order on both check in and check out. The staff were very friendly on both occasions.

The room was clean, well appointed with a small kitchen, tea/coffee making facilities and very comfortable beds. There is also a pool, a lift, secure parking and lovely well cared for gardens.

I will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCCB2604, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Maxfield,

The team at Medina Classic Canberra are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Medina Classic Canberra and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Classic Canberra in the near future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Abrahams
Hotel Manager
Medina Classic Canberra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was our second stay at Medina Classic Apartments in Kingston & we were pleased once more by the clean, comfortable & family friendly accommodation on offer. For this visit we stayed in a 2br ground floor apartment and found it to be very pleasant. We were most impressed by the helpful reception staff, who arranged a hassle free late check in (as we flew in from Perth arriving at 11pm) and a very much appreciated late check out the following day. Travelling with 2 small children was made so much easier by their assistance. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCCB2604, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear ktb01,

The team at Medina Classic Canberra are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Medina Classic Canberra and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Classic Canberra in the near future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Abrahams
Hotel Manager
Medina Classic Canberra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This place is in the Canberra suburb of Kingston close to the Manuka Oval and not far from Capital Hill where the Australian Parliament House is situated. Although in a quiet residential area it is within easy walking distance to local shops, supermarket, restaurants, bars and cafés.

This daily serviced apartment is very spacious with open planned lounge, dining and kitchen area. There is a large flat screen digital TV in the lounge which opens onto a long covered balcony with a small table and chairs for two. The kitchen is fully equipped with oven, cook-top, microwave, fridge, crockery, cutlery, dishwasher, etc. and has plenty of cupboard space. The laundry facility, consisting of a washing machine, dryer and trough is located in the large bathroom. Iron and ironing board are also provided. The two bedrooms are adequately furnished with wardrobe and bedside table in each. There is an undercover garage for guests’ cars which is locked up after 7:00 pm. and need the supplied key to gain access. The lift for getting to the higher floors is a bit slow, but it is not a tall building and the 3rd floor is the top.

When we checked in, the fluorescent light in the kitchen was flickering, but on notifying reception it was fixed within the hour. We would not hesitate to stay here again, being in a quiet neighborhood and yet so close to tourists attractions, entertainment, government offices and businesses for quite a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCCB2604, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear Tengak,

The team at Medina Classic Canberra are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Medina Classic Canberra and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Classic Canberra in the near future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Abrahams
Hotel Manager
Medina Classic Canberra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at the Medina for 7 months as I was working in Canberra on secondment from the UK. The staff were incredibly friendly; from the first day when we arrived early and they checked us in long before check-in time until our last day when they stored our luggage whilst we holidayed in New Zealand. Some of the reviews suggest that the apartments are outdated and tired but this isn't the case. Recently replaced work surfaces, a new dining room suite and a flat screen TV make for a great environment. Yes, the carpets are a bit worn and the bedding is a bit dated but we found our two bedroom apartment was very homely and comfortable and we would definitely recommend this to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eves154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCCB2604, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Dear Eves154,

The team at Medina Classic Canberra are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Medina Classic Canberra and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Classic Canberra in the near future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Abrahams
Hotel Manager
Medina Classic Canberra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 59 in Canberra
1,820 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 59 in Canberra
1,948 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 59 in Canberra
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
3 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston

Address: 11 Giles Street, Canberra ACT 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $121 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing