We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banana Leaf in Canberra - Perfect”
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
Ranked #23 of 1,389 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Banana Leaf in Canberra - Perfect”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lovely restaurant in the middle of Canberra - for a fussy eater (me!) it has a great variety of food from spicy to non-spicy. My favorite is the Barramundi with Sweet Potato Mash. They also make the best dessert - Bread and Butter Pudding. Hubby and I have a standing date there every 2 weeks for dinner. The staff are all extremely friendly and very helpful. I highly recommend this restaurant,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rykerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    106
    18
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sri Lankan curry”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A nice surprise to find this great food in the Canberra bcd. The staff were attentive and the food delicious. I had the special - spicy prawn curry. It was spicy and quite rich, but delicious. Nice and clean too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank socwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice restaurant, located in CBD Canberra, friendly staff, good service, staff looked after us and offer good suggestions about food, very relaxed atmosphere, food very well presented and tasty, nice wine, only strange is the a/c, it went from going a bit chilled to warm it made us think the thermostat may require some adjustment, other than that excellent restaurant highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cabrerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacktown, NSW
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Excellent Staff”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I ate here three years ago and so we were curious as to how it had aged. The results are great. The staff are knowledgeable and professional, the lighting is dimmed but not dark.. The servings size are genorous without being huge and you are able to have two or three courses in comfort. I had the pork as my main and it was delicious, my husband had lamb and both were melt in the mouth. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Canberra it is located outside the Canberra Central shopping precinct area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dreamalegria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Glad we found it”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Whilst on a short stop-over in Canberra we had gone for a walk during the evening and were looking forward to having a choice of restaurants for our meal. Sadly, by about 8pm, everything had shut and the streets were almost empty as we wandered around becoming increasingly desperate for some food. The only restaurant we found that was open was the Banana Leaf so I can't really say that we went there by choice but, luckily, we had stumbled on an open restaurant that was also a restaurant serving very nice food. We had a most enjoyable meal and would be happy to recommend it and its friendly staff. I must say the toilets out in the back alley area was a bit odd but they were clean and serviceable so this is merely a comment, not a complaint. We thank the staff for actually being open when we wanted to eat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestSaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing