We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just fab” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just fab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here as part of the Turner package. The package was great value and the staff and hotel are very pleasant, not only tastefully decorated but heavenly beds and the breakfast pastries, made onsite, are just to die for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay at Diamant Hotel Canberra. Very much appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your stay and the Turner from the Tate package for the National Gallery of Australia. I do hope you have the chance to visit us again and in particular the new 'Gold and the Incas: Lost Worlds of Peru' exhibition starting at the end of the year.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    405
    198
    67
    19
See reviews for
109
451
107
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Diamont. Reception and restaurant staff are friendly and welcoming and an upgrade was a nice surprise. Check in was 3pm but we were able to access the room earlier and checkout is 11am. The room was large with an awesome King bed, so comfortable with lovely sheets and pillows. A large couch and desk plus good sized bathroom with nice rain shower were great. Tiles were cold but complimentary slippers solved this problem. Room was ground floor at the front but very quiet and heavy block out curtains were great. Room service was good and cleaning staff were unobtrusive if a little tardy in replenishing the tea and sugar. I really liked the staff and that makes a huge difference plus the hotel is stylish and comfortable. A loose power point and running water on one of the dual flushes on the toilet need attention but didn't detract from the experience. I'm sure they will be attended to. 5 mins walk to free city loop bus and a little more to the city centre which is ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

After reading the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about staying here, it seemed a love it or hate it experience and we loved it. It's in a great location, within a beautiful walk of all the things we wanted to see. It is next door to a great cinema complex as well so we managed to see a film too. The bed was very comfortable, I even liked the pillows. The room was very well appointed. Last night we had room service pizza and a delicious salad. The pizza was excellent, fed 2 and was reasonably priced (I thought). The room was very quiet, the sound proofing excellent. The staff were helpful. Top job, top marks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teepee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear tepee4,

So happy to read your comments in regards to your recent stay here at Diamant Hotel Canberra. September is a great time to visit Canberra and it sounds like you have really had a great visit. So good to see that the new Palace Cinema complex is becoming a popular option for our guests who choose to stay here in the New Acton precinct. Glad you had a relaxing stay. I do hope you get the chance to visit us again.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this lovely boutique hotel as part of a package to see the "Turner from the Tate" Exhibition. We walked to the NGA along Lake Burley Griffin and took a taxi to return. Hotel has a lovely vibe, beautifully renovated and close to many cafes etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Caroline O,

Thank you for your lovely comments in regards to your recent visit to Canberra and stay at the Diamant Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit the National Gallery of Australia. The 'Turner from the Tate' has been another successful exhibition for Canberra. We are looking forward to the next major exhibition at the end of the year being 'Gold and the Incas: Lost Worlds of Peru'. I do hope you have the chance to visit Canberra again. All the best.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My seemingly never-ending search for a hip hotel in Canberra has ended :) As a heritage architect, I have tried numerous hotels in Canberra, looking for something with character and modern amenities and service. Found it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for your comments. The hotel is a unique offering in Canberra. I'm glad you had the opportunity to stay with us. Having an interest in architecture and design I'm sure you are wowed by the precinct and the aesthetics of the buildings and development around us.

Linda B, I do look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights. The apartment was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. Bed was really comfortable. Nice size verandah as well. Well equipped kitchen and good bathroom. This hotel is located in an excellent position. It is right at the on-ramp to the bike track around the lake which was perfect for us as we are keen cyclists. Some good cafes at your door as well. The staff were so helpful and friendly- faultless. There was some noise in the early hours from late night revellers but I guess that can't be helped. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mira G,

Thank you so much for your comments in regards to your recent stay in one of our apartments in the New Acton precinct at Diamant Hotel Canberra. So glad to hear that the apartment met your requirements and the location on Lake Burley Griffin was to your liking. The precinct here is becoming a unique cultural destination for those visiting Canberra and the different restaurants and cafes a highlight. I do hope you have the chance to visit us again.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is an old hotel on the outskirts of the city area, about 25 brisk walk into the central CBD. The reception area is the obvious refurbished area and the room have had a make-over and reasonably comfortable. The fridge is fully stocked with mini bar product and there is no room to leave any supplies you may wish to store. If you remove items from the fridge you would automatically incur a fee. Very annoying. If you don't mind the walk - the location is OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Kel_au,

Thanks again for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay in New Acton and the Diamant Hotel Canberra. We do value your feedback and respect that some people will and some people may not enjoy the comforts of our hotel. Respectfully, whilst our hotel is located in a heritage building with a rich history, contemporary yes...old certainly not. The New Acton area is on the doorstep of Canberra's key cultural and entertainment facilities and a brief 15 minute walk to the CBD. Kel_au if you do get the chance to visit us again, please do let our team know you would like more space in your mini-bar fridge and we will be happy to empty this for you. Most importantly thanks again for your feedback and choosing to stay with us. I do hope we get the opportunity to take care of you on your next visit to Canberra.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#15 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Gallery Hotel

Property: Peppers Gallery Hotel
Address: 15 Edinburgh Ave, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Canberra)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#8 Family Hotel in Canberra
#9 Business Hotel in Canberra
#13 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Gallery Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra combines a unique CBD location with Peppers signature boutique features, designer ambience and service experience. The Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra building is heritage registered, with original features that blend effortlessly with a modern Peppers setting. Every detail has been well thought out - with Bang & Olufsen technology, marble features in boutique rooms and apartments. All Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra rooms have rain showers, luxury bedding, smart technology and original artwork. Choose from Hotel Room, Deluxe and Premier Rooms, and Suites. Unwind in your fully self-contained apartment with one, two or three bedrooms and a balcony. Located within the original Hotel Acton building, this historic and heritage listed site has been transformed into the NewActon Pavilion - Canberra's first true urban village, where Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra has taken up residence as the city's first luxury boutique hotel. Featuring the renowned Bicicletta Restaurant and Library Bar, guests can enjoy true Italian cuisine. Bicicletta specialises in homemade pasta and produce from different regions of Italy and Australia, catering to all occasions including formal sit-down meals. Relax at Soma Day Spa or explore the New Acton precinct, close to the iconic Lake Burley Griffin and within walking distance of Canberra's many high-end attractions. The where Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra provides complimentary WiFi in all rooms as well as public areas. Australia's Capital Territory is home to some great attractions, many within walking distance from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra which is located ten minutes from the city centre, near Canberra's many cafes, bars, shops and restaurants. The National Zoo & Aquarium and National Arboretum Canberra is a short drive away, as are the Botanical Gardens and Telstra viewing tower. Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra is located just 7.5Km from Canberra International and is on the doorstep of Canberra's key cultural, entertainment, sport and commercial facilities, making it the perfect choice for your next Canberra stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Peppers Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Canberra - By 8 Canberra
Hotel Diamant Boutique
Diamant Boutique Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing