We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

After reading the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about staying here, it seemed a love it or hate it experience and we loved it. It's in a great location, within a beautiful walk of all the things we wanted to see. It is next door to a great cinema complex as well so we managed to see a film too. The bed was very comfortable, I even liked the pillows. The room was very well appointed. Last night we had room service pizza and a delicious salad. The pizza was excellent, fed 2 and was reasonably priced (I thought). The room was very quiet, the sound proofing excellent. The staff were helpful. Top job, top marks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teepee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear tepee4,

So happy to read your comments in regards to your recent stay here at Diamant Hotel Canberra. September is a great time to visit Canberra and it sounds like you have really had a great visit. So good to see that the new Palace Cinema complex is becoming a popular option for our guests who choose to stay here in the New Acton precinct. Glad you had a relaxing stay. I do hope you get the chance to visit us again.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    560
    264
    88
    30
See reviews for
176
615
132
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this lovely boutique hotel as part of a package to see the "Turner from the Tate" Exhibition. We walked to the NGA along Lake Burley Griffin and took a taxi to return. Hotel has a lovely vibe, beautifully renovated and close to many cafes etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Caroline O,

Thank you for your lovely comments in regards to your recent visit to Canberra and stay at the Diamant Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit the National Gallery of Australia. The 'Turner from the Tate' has been another successful exhibition for Canberra. We are looking forward to the next major exhibition at the end of the year being 'Gold and the Incas: Lost Worlds of Peru'. I do hope you have the chance to visit Canberra again. All the best.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My seemingly never-ending search for a hip hotel in Canberra has ended :) As a heritage architect, I have tried numerous hotels in Canberra, looking for something with character and modern amenities and service. Found it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for your comments. The hotel is a unique offering in Canberra. I'm glad you had the opportunity to stay with us. Having an interest in architecture and design I'm sure you are wowed by the precinct and the aesthetics of the buildings and development around us.

Linda B, I do look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights. The apartment was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. Bed was really comfortable. Nice size verandah as well. Well equipped kitchen and good bathroom. This hotel is located in an excellent position. It is right at the on-ramp to the bike track around the lake which was perfect for us as we are keen cyclists. Some good cafes at your door as well. The staff were so helpful and friendly- faultless. There was some noise in the early hours from late night revellers but I guess that can't be helped. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mira G,

Thank you so much for your comments in regards to your recent stay in one of our apartments in the New Acton precinct at Diamant Hotel Canberra. So glad to hear that the apartment met your requirements and the location on Lake Burley Griffin was to your liking. The precinct here is becoming a unique cultural destination for those visiting Canberra and the different restaurants and cafes a highlight. I do hope you have the chance to visit us again.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is an old hotel on the outskirts of the city area, about 25 brisk walk into the central CBD. The reception area is the obvious refurbished area and the room have had a make-over and reasonably comfortable. The fridge is fully stocked with mini bar product and there is no room to leave any supplies you may wish to store. If you remove items from the fridge you would automatically incur a fee. Very annoying. If you don't mind the walk - the location is OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Kel_au,

Thanks again for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay in New Acton and the Diamant Hotel Canberra. We do value your feedback and respect that some people will and some people may not enjoy the comforts of our hotel. Respectfully, whilst our hotel is located in a heritage building with a rich history, contemporary yes...old certainly not. The New Acton area is on the doorstep of Canberra's key cultural and entertainment facilities and a brief 15 minute walk to the CBD. Kel_au if you do get the chance to visit us again, please do let our team know you would like more space in your mini-bar fridge and we will be happy to empty this for you. Most importantly thanks again for your feedback and choosing to stay with us. I do hope we get the opportunity to take care of you on your next visit to Canberra.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying at this lovely hip boutique hotel (rooms and apartments available). The hotel is modern, clean and gloriously non-smoking. Here I'm not over whelmed by the smell horrible in-house body products - thankfully these supplied items have a subtle pleasant aroma - what a delightful change. The hotel room is smallish but acceptable and all the fixtures are in working order. The bed is super comfy and I love the wall paper on the ceiling. Without exception the staff have been friendly and helpful. The hotel is storing my bike in a locked room near reception so getting access is a breeze. I asked to change rooms after my first night due to disturbing noises (I think the noise was the air conditioning system outside the building but it sounded like washing machines going all night). My request was granted and my room change was seamless - staff took great care to allocate a super quiet room in another section of the hotel (Thank you Alison). When travelling alone I dislike eating in noisy hotel restaurants and the staff allowed me to sit in the bar area and quietly eat a salad - the waitress also heated my wheat bag in the microwave for my poor aching back! My only complaints are minor; too few power points in the room - suggest bringing a power-board, and, the $15 overnight parking fee because the street parking is not free during the day. I would definitely stay at the Diamant again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TokraDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear TokraDOG,

Is a pleasure to receive your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Diamant Hotel Canberra. We are blessed to have a very inviting hotel product in what is becoming a very popular destination in the New Acton precinct. Glad you thought our beds were super comfy...we will be introducing a new bed concept early next year which is even better! As you have noted the hotel does provide secured undercover parking for the nominal fee of $15. There are also many other parking options available to our guests.
TokraDOG, thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Canberra again.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange NSW
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We found hotels in Canberra to be expensive so we booked this by a wotif mystery hotel. It's modern and stylish. We had problems with the mini bar, the fridge was locked so we were not able to put our own wine in the fridge, after a couple of calls to reception this was corrected. A down side is the parking, you can park on the street for free (if there are parks available, I didn't see a free space the whole time we were there) or pay $15 for undercover parking. The fee is reasonable as far as hotels go but it's a bit of a walk away. A pain when you have bags.
The hotel is in a great location to central Canberra, a fifteen minute walk or a $10 taxi ride. I wouldn't walk with small children, the roads are very busy and the crossings are not fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyOrangeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CBR, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear LucyOrangeNSW,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent visit to Canberra and stay at the Diamant Hotel Canberra.

As you have noted there are several parking solutions for our hotel guests, the main one being secured undercover parking in the building next to the hotel for the nominal daily charge of $15. Whilst hotel guests can consider street parking as a free option, this is a public street and the hotel as no control of allocations here.

I'm very glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel. The New Acton precinct is becoming a cultural destination for those who visit Canberra with the many restaurants and cafes available and the recent opening of Palace Cinemas.

LucyOrangeNSW, I trust you get the opportunity to visit us again. The team and I do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 57 in Canberra
1,305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#7 of 57 in Canberra
634 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Gallery Hotel

Property: Peppers Gallery Hotel
Address: 15 Edinburgh Ave, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Canberra)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#8 Family Hotel in Canberra
#9 Business Hotel in Canberra
#13 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Gallery Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra combines a unique CBD location with Peppers signature boutique features, designer ambience and service experience. The Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra building is heritage registered, with original features that blend effortlessly with a modern Peppers setting. Every detail has been well thought out - with Bang & Olufsen technology, marble features in boutique rooms and apartments. All Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra rooms have rain showers, luxury bedding, smart technology and original artwork. Choose from Hotel Room, Deluxe and Premier Rooms, and Suites. Unwind in your fully self-contained apartment with one, two or three bedrooms and a balcony. Located within the original Hotel Acton building, this historic and heritage listed site has been transformed into the NewActon Pavilion - Canberra's first true urban village, where Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra has taken up residence as the city's first luxury boutique hotel. Featuring the renowned Bicicletta Restaurant and Library Bar, guests can enjoy true Italian cuisine. Bicicletta specialises in homemade pasta and produce from different regions of Italy and Australia, catering to all occasions including formal sit-down meals. Relax at Soma Day Spa or explore the New Acton precinct, close to the iconic Lake Burley Griffin and within walking distance of Canberra's many high-end attractions. The where Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra provides complimentary WiFi in all rooms as well as public areas. Australia's Capital Territory is home to some great attractions, many within walking distance from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra which is located ten minutes from the city centre, near Canberra's many cafes, bars, shops and restaurants. The National Zoo & Aquarium and National Arboretum Canberra is a short drive away, as are the Botanical Gardens and Telstra viewing tower. Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra is located just 7.5Km from Canberra International and is on the doorstep of Canberra's key cultural, entertainment, sport and commercial facilities, making it the perfect choice for your next Canberra stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Canberra - By 8 Canberra
Hotel Diamant Boutique
Diamant Boutique Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing