We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pod Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pod Food

Pod Food
Reserve with
Pod Food is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 1,348 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $26
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nestled in a unique position amongst the beautiful established gardens of Pialligo plant farm, the quaint character filled, fully restored 1930's cottage offers a unique dining location close to the Canberra CBD. The venue is only minutes from Canberra International Airport as well as the boutique shopping precincts of Kingston and Manuka and has ample parking. Owner and chef John Leverink leads a dynamic, creative kitchen and restaurant team to create a memorable dining experience for all occasions. Creative culinary fine food without the formality, local sourced produce and an award winning wine list come together to make Pod Food one of Canberra's hidden culinary gems.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pod Food”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Amidst a bunch of nurseries, a vineyard and an apple-orchard, is Pod Food. It's pretty as is set in a garden, and the service was good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank claire-away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    66
    24
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over-Priced & Portion Sizes Varied”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Had lunch today with work mates today, three ordered the lamb, two the salmon. One salmon portion was nearly twice as big as the other......the lamb portions small considering the cost of $34 and although there were small dobs of vegies on the plate, I left hungry. Not sure about the others, but I could hardly cut my lamb with the knife provided and it was very fatty and chewy. Definately won't go back or recommend to friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I dined at Pod food for lunch one tuesday, I had heard how great it was and boy did it live up to that expectation. I was so full after leaving but I felt very satisfied. The atmosphere of the surrounding gardens is 5 star. The staff were very attentive and friendly. 100% recommend trying out this wonderful restaurant!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank f00dl0ver22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food - should re-open on Sundays”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

It is a pity that this excellent restaurant is only open four days a week (Wed to Sat), EX-cluding Sundays! The location is great, it lies within Pialligo Plant Farm. Both indoors and outdoors are a lovely relaxing environment, especially when the place not so busy.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LotusC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Owner at Pod Food, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for the great review!

We are so glad you have enjoyed your experiences at Pod Food!

I think somewhere there has been a miscommunication, apologies. We are open on Sundays!

Our hours are;

Breakfast; Sat - Sun
Lunch; Tues - Sun
Dinner; Thurs - Sat

Regards, John Leverink.
Owner/Chef Pod Food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Outstanding - and exceptional vegetarian dishes too”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Outstanding meal at Pod Food to celebrate a 40th birthday. The restaurant were accommodating of several vegetarian & even a vegan guest and provided an excellent supplementary menu. Every single dish was superb. You won't have a bad meal here!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vegetarian_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pod Food also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Pod Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing